Black smoke when warming up the car

Creative

Apr 19, 2005
Hi there, my engine 4g92p have some problem recently, when the engine is cold, i start the car and the engine start to vibrate and black smoke comes out from the exhaust, after 30 seconds or 1 minute the engine back to normal and no more smoke, but then sometimes while driving at lower rpm it jerks abit, if i stop the engine and start again when the engine is warm it starts fine, i've sent to few mechanics and they also having hard time to find the problem, i've changed spark plug, tried to change the spark plug cable and distributor, changed the fuel injector and the problem still there, hope someone can help me thank you.

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
either the cold start valve is out, or its need to be retuned sir

---------- Post added at 07:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:28 PM ----------

ohh, and is the thermostat still in? how is it?

Creative

Apr 19, 2005
i guess the thermostat is still in there. guess it is fine, just that when i start .. it feels like 1 spark plug not working..

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
please check dat and report back sir..

although i dont think so, as the engine performs well when it has warmed up

Creative

Apr 19, 2005
It performs well but it still consume alot of petrol

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
hmm, does it warms up fast tak in the morning? we may be looking at multiple problems ni..

Creative

Apr 19, 2005
yeah it does warm up fast.. temp will go to normal in about 2 minutes

check tps position at throttle body?over adjusted maybe?

Creative

Apr 19, 2005
ok i've checked it with the tool.. it shows airflow sensor and throttle body problem.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
black smoke = too much petrol..

u need more air..

change/clean ur air filter..

:biggrin:

how about your MAF???

visual inspection???look clean or blackie dirty???

Creative

Apr 19, 2005
The errors are

12. VAF CIRCUIT
55. IAC VALVE POSITION SENSOR
25. BARO CIRCUIT

So most probably my MAF gone? do i need to change it or can just service it?

Wanna know how long can a MF battery last? and pls recommend me a good MF battery. If MF battery cannot last for long, then I'm going for the refill type. Please recommend both MF and refill battery. Thanks.