May 22, 2004
Anyone here turbocharge it before?

How much is the cost? What's needed?
The reliability?
Any recommendation on who to do it?

hartage

Nov 6, 2004
my friend's eg did it cost RM26k++ using TD-04 turbine, trust intercooler, stainless steel piping(intake), 'banana' header, trust injector controller, boost meter,exhaust temp + installation......

soulfly

Jan 25, 2004
Miri
fakhrain.blogdrive.com
both are B16A, but different spec...

big V
- 170ps
- on valve cover, VTEC word is bigger than DOHC
- running on OBD-1
- hydraulic tranny (but some older model still use clutch cable)
- from Integra DA6/DA8(1991-1992), CR-X EF8(1992, rare), CR-X del Sol EG2, Civic EG6/EG9/EK4

small V
- 160ps
- on valve cover, DOHC word is bigger than VTEC
- running on OBD-0
- cable clutch tranny
- from Integra DA6/DA8(1989-1990), Civic EF9 and CR-X EF8

soulfly

Jan 25, 2004
Miri
fakhrain.blogdrive.com
Originally posted by Moosestyle@Jan 10 2005, 19:11

The reliability?
junkyard turbo kit also can, the most important thing is that you tune it properly

- turbocharger
- intercooler
- turbo manifold
- turbo and intercooler piping
- bigger injectors
- V-AFC, boost controller (standalone ECU recommended)
- thicker head gasket recommended
- block guard
- better radiator recommended

robokopf

Apr 9, 2004
Originally posted by soulfly+Jan 14 2005, 12:39 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (soulfly @ Jan 14 2005, 12:39 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-Moosestyle@Jan 10 2005, 19:11

The reliability?
junkyard turbo kit also can, the most important thing is that you tune it properly

- turbocharger
- intercooler
- turbo manifold
- turbo and intercooler piping
- bigger injectors
- V-AFC, boost controller (standalone ECU recommended)
- thicker head gasket recommended
- block guard
- better radiator recommended [/b][/quote]
soulfly: those items that you listed up there is the minimum requirement for a simple B16 turbo setup right?

flamefox850

Pasir Mas
www.geocities.com
ok...noob question

what is the timing for 400m drag for this engine ? (dun care la in EF ka in EG ka EK ka) ---->> STOCK ENGINE with maybe air filter and exhaust only. minimal mod

1) b16a1 (small v)

2)b16a2 (big v)

3)b16b (type r)

cannot get accurate timing also can becos it might vary from car A with car B, driver A and driver B bla bla

kelisa187

Mar 30, 2004
as factory claims 400 meter

Stock evo8 : 14.5sec
K20a in dc5 or ep2: 15.5sec

so for stock b16 from big v to small v and type r should be from middle 16 to late 16.(i only guest lehh) :(

correct me....... :)

L2TurboFool

Oct 8, 2004
Exhaust Manifold

-Turbular
-Matterial
-Flange
-Cast
Stainless steel, Inconel, Mild, etc.
T25, T3, T4 etc..

When choosing a turbo exhaust manifold,take into consideration flange size (T3, T4 etc..)

Another option is either an internal wastegate or an external wategate, which will require a flange to be on the manifold

Turbocharger

-T25
-T3
-T4
-Ball bearing
-Conventional Sleeve
-Standard (Oil) cooled
-Water cooled
-IHI
-Mitsubishi
-KKK
-Trim Size
-Wheel size
-Exhaust Flange
-3, 4, 5 Bolt or V-band

There are several different aspects of a turbocharger itself. Depending on the goal of the turbocharger, these options are a vital part to ur system. Deciding the correct trim sizes and flange sizes are a task of their own.

Wastegate

-Internal
-External
-SIze..35,28,44,45,60mm...etc....

when using an external wastegate, a flange must be placed on the exhaust manifold.

Downpipe[/QUOTE]

-Exhaust Flange
-size
-materials

Another consideration with a downpipe besides diameter and glanfes are the addition of a flex-pipe. a flexpipe will help to reduce stress on the xhaust systems and xhaust manifold by allowing movement.

donchichi

Subang Jaya
Basically you know the stuff you need. But how does one calculate... what he wants.. eg...

If a B16a 2nd gen 170hp.. is looking at around 200hp +/- 20... but higher torque output. What would the correct turbine be that can flow decently even at higher revs? Then match it to an intercooler, piping etc... + tunable ecu/piggy back.

I don't think it would cost that much. Unless you're looking at some high hp figures which would cost a bomb.

Would B18 injectors be enough? how would you calculate your piping sizes and turbine efficiency (able to flow from down low to up high RPM). What size intercooler you would need and safety measures.

But one thing... high compression engines and turbo in a hot climate... hmmmm...

FOCAL POINT would like to wish all ZTH members and motoring enthusiasts a Happy and Prosperous New Year. May this New Year bring you lots of luck and cheer to you and loved ones. Thank you for the usual big support on Tufoil for which we are extremely grateful. Cheers!