another detailing hands on session with KC (advance level paint correction)

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
thedetailers.blogspot.com
what happen in Kuching?
Detailing hands on TT -

the candidate

this

hahahaha

hmm

or this

this

this

this

this

this

giving the most express wash in the world - ONR no rinse wash with 3 microfibers

stains below the hood

engine before

we started out TT very late & only have 2 hours plus

so what we cover

Basic car wash _ the most important of car detailing - begin with a humble wash

Proceed to clay (ONR 2 ounce dilutes in 500ml water) as lubrications the least aggressive but most effective (cost saving & good ROI) - it also prolong yr clay life spent , as most shampoo degrades & break it...

Moving on engine - spot cleaning - (optimum power cleaner) the far most better cleaner i ever use - so strong that can use as degreaser but so gentle can be diluted & safe for car paint & leather (safe for clear coat) i like to dilute 1:5 for engines & 1:8 for interior & leather cleaning

Paint correction - product comparison (between OTC & professional range)
Started with consumer product - OTC
proceed to Polish - Optimum hyper spray polish & M205
proceed to compound - Megs 105

*part 2 (advance level)
Wet sanding - levelling paint coat

ending with - LSP (protection)
10 minutes optiseal ( a prefect bonding & protection )5 minutes car wax by OCWax

ended past midnight

after Optimum power clean - dilution 1:5 parts water ( we are only going to do a spot cleaning test)

after opc wash & onr rinse

before

after

before

after

before - this is a spot cleaning test

after side

before

ta da - no more tears - johnson baby shampoo - aka no more stains

the owner actualy own all the above car, except for the first 2 shot at my stay in Hilton sarawak

initially
he say - do what you want - as i have order a Carbon fiber hood - but after correction - he change his mind
lets read on to find out why?

moving on to paint correction

did you notic e some thing strange of the paint
go in & zoom in

Pigmentation - most common cause - the root problem- where when the ride is repainted - there was no proper putty & sanded down carefully ( what happen when you ask for a rush job, where the putty is not 100% cured - pigment of such resurface once it is cured
another Paint defect

3 areas set for 3 range of product to be tried on

look closer

at your right side polish by OTC product - pigmentation still visible

before

a 50/50% test review - after compounding by wool & megs105

better but very slight significant

moving to advance level - paint correction & levelling

sanded with 1500 grits onr as lube & continue with 2000 grit

a well sanded level

before & after sanded - close up

well sanded

another shots

now can you see the different pads & wool can do

lower is compounded with LC polishing pads - visible wet sanded marks visible

after compound & before

upper is compounded with wool - more aggressive & finishing well

ta da

Now comparison results reveal
after consumer

after professional range

moving on to left side paint levelling by wet sanding

hands on begins

the next participant

should i tell you a secret? this is a secret agent ride - James Bond

before

ta da

remember before

after

before

after

our artillery for the day

just before we call it a night

His other german ride came home (do u remember - the most common issue of german cars in malaysia)
rubber melting - de-rubberised

before

close up before

before

ta da - just with Optimum power clean

ta da Optimum power clean

after now after Optimum power clean

it time to called it a night

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

2nd night - the restoration journey of a wounded soul

another neglected abuse ride -

close up - this ride has not been washed for a long time & constantly thrashed & whacked by the road side car wash

begins with ONR wash - 50/50% comparison

look at the amount of swirls & Rids on this ride

after

before pic

tad a a 50/50% swirls surface out

day 2 hands on begins - as they have been trained & now the practical test

Contaminations picked up clay -

paint issue - damages on this coat - pay attention - hunt for swirls & rids & hologram

now the test continue, I am standing back to let him decide what contestant no 1 choose - applying wax with rotary (1500 rpm)??????Sound like road side detailer

BTW so far i have not seen any wax back label that recommended to use rotary at 1500 rpm, but why so many still allows the road side car polish whacked their ride

before pics

waxing polish in progress

4 area set bottom right - wax with rotary
top right - polish by consumer products
top left - compound by cutting pad
bottom left - compound by wool, cutting pad & polishing pad

the wax part - not bad - depth is good, but scratches is still visible (buy 1 free 1) now holograms just inflicted

polish by polish pad OTC - good depth but deep scratches is still visible _ swirls not remove
http://lh6.ggpht.com/_LW0SC8XIpiA/TTm7vbNHFjI/AAAAAAAAA-w/znXgHCyWZnA/s800/DSCF2154.JPG[/img]

cutting pad with compound - most swirls decreased but micro marring inflicted - visible

and we finally finish with
compound with wool then with cutting pad then polish pad then finish with finishing pad

ta da

before

now3

remember before

now

ta da

some closing pics

thanks to my buddy who arrange this wonderful place for us to have this 2 night of detailing
thanks to all of you who came & although i had the most tiring night in my life - certainly this memories with linger for life time

cheers to you all from Cat city, Borneo island

the 3rd night - we just sit down for TT & chat, EVO, SLK & Neo came, thanks for the time buddy

i hope you would enjoy as much as i enjoyed bringing you close to what we went thru, documenting it properly

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
:love: kc ur work is just awsome!
im josh that fella that called u the other day and had a long talk. when will u be able to arrange another class in KL? After CNY perhaps or before? im ready to learn from the sifu! :burnout:

hope to hear from u soon

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
:love: kc ur work is just awsome!
im josh that fella that called u the other day and had a long talk. when will u be able to arrange another class in KL? After CNY perhaps or before? im ready to learn from the sifu! :burnout:

hope to hear from u soon
Hi Buddy

happy to know that & glad u find yr interest finally

good to know you....currently i am not in KL will only know by next week when i am back

keep in touch

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
sure thing kc, ive already got ready the rotory, just bought it yesterday! awaiting the lesson :biggrin: cant wait to start to learn the proper way :proud:

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
bro, any recomended item to be used in detailing.. for interior and engine..
the one & only ultimate cleaner OPTIMUM Power clean...the far most superb

sure thing kc, ive already got ready the rotory, just bought it yesterday! awaiting the lesson :biggrin: cant wait to start to learn the proper way :proud:
Yupp buddy

see u back in KL

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
kc,
could u pm me a time and date that you would be available? or should i call u?

cheers.

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
thanks kc, u the man:proud:

Subject : KE70 DX stuffs. Yes, I have a new set of these stuff. But where is the fun part of having an oldschool machine if I didn't try to restore it?

Dirty lenses ready to be polished.

The first step is cleaning up the lenses to remove dust...