Achilles ATR Sport

markblurberry

Jun 24, 2010
Yup, with larger grooves to channel away water, aquaplaning resistance is good, but some mentioned the wet grip a little lacking.....[/QUOTE]

HI Bro - yeah, heard about the grip lacking too..in fact my regular tyre shop warn me not to try Achilles...but hey i think he got hidden agenda..he wanted me to take Mayrun tyres (China) at slightly cheaper price...he said ATR cannot stop on time if emergency brake esp on wet road...touch touch wood i never experience...and dont want to experience it...unless i try emergenc braking when there is no car:idea:

well, since its budgetted...and i assume if i use this tyre for the next 2 years...the grip should still be okok...that's value for money..@ 250 per piece/24 months...suey suey use 1 year + also untung edi...becos the price is really good...and with new tyre i suppose the grip should be ok before it gradually degrade....just my thought..but if got Vit RM in pocket, sure go for proven brands like GY, Potenza or even Falken Azenis...since i have good impression of the Ziex

m@ttz

May 7, 2006
klang
wahh.. never think this tyre quite gud,actually i'm headache on searching for a set of 205/45/16 but budget was very tight,below 250/pc only,hehe..

today went around shops in klang & done some survey..
Hankook V12 (rm285/pc) - used before 195/55/15,bought new (recommended by vr2turbo,hehe..) done a good job & sold together with rims,thinking to get it again but the price for 16 inch :banghead:
Nexen N8000 (rm280/pc) - out of budget..
Falken 912 (rm270/pc) - used before 205/50/16,bought used (90% left) but used only 2-3 weeks,sold it after it hit my inner mudguard when cornering
Falken 522 (rm220/pc) - seems most people giving many bad review,so better forget it
Silverstone M5 (rm220/pc) - this one also got many bad review
Firenza ST-05 (rm190/pc) - don't have any review on this donut,got fren use it on his 400hp+ wira but most of time his car only collecting dust at home,hehe..
Federal 595SS (rm250/pc) - used before 205/45/16,bought used (80% left),very noisy!!
Achilles ATR (rm185/pc) - used before 195/50/16,bought used (80% left) on my previous car n sold my car after dat,can't remember how it feel.. :biggrin:

So after read several review on Achilles,I think better go for it right? Can save much my money lol.. :listen:
Or anyone got experience on Firenza? How about Kumho? Or got any other options? I'm not driving very fast on highway coz my car only 1500cc (mostly 120kmh-140kmh & rarely goes up to 160kmh) but love to take cornering,hehe.. As long its not noisy & can give gud control,should be ok..

Also got 1 shop offering new brand tyre for only rm160/pc,forgot the brand,he told me it was produced by same factory as Nankang,but I never believe in China's tyre coz saw many this 'fella' exploded!!

like this one (left side)?

this is wrong, right?

They are correct.....pointing front....

---------- Post added at 07:24 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:20 AM ----------

HI Bro - yeah, heard about the grip lacking too..in fact my regular tyre shop warn me not to try Achilles...but hey i think he got hidden agenda..he wanted me to take Mayrun tyres (China) at slightly cheaper price...he said ATR cannot stop on time if emergency brake esp on wet road...touch touch wood i never experience...and dont want to experience it...unless i try emergenc braking when there is no car:idea:

well, since its budgetted...and i assume if i use this tyre for the next 2 years...the grip should still be okok...that's value for money..@ 250 per piece/24 months...suey suey use 1 year + also untung edi...becos the price is really good...and with new tyre i suppose the grip should be ok before it gradually degrade....just my thought..but if got Vit RM in pocket, sure go for proven brands like GY, Potenza or even Falken Azenis...since i have good impression of the Ziex
You made the right choice, at least they are still better then China tyres. The one you mentioned "Mayrun" I have not heard before. Even top China tyres brands like Linglong, Wanli have not got good review, imagine unknown China brands will be worse.

---------- Post added at 07:44 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:24 AM ----------

wahh.. never think this tyre quite gud,actually i'm headache on searching for a set of 205/45/16 but budget was very tight,below 250/pc only,hehe..

today went around shops in klang & done some survey..
Hankook V12 (rm285/pc) - used before 195/55/15,bought new (recommended by vr2turbo,hehe..) done a good job & sold together with rims,thinking to get it again but the price for 16 inch :banghead:
Nexen N8000 (rm280/pc) - out of budget..
Falken 912 (rm270/pc) - used before 205/50/16,bought used (90% left) but used only 2-3 weeks,sold it after it hit my inner mudguard when cornering
Falken 522 (rm220/pc) - seems most people giving many bad review,so better forget it
Silverstone M5 (rm220/pc) - this one also got many bad review
Firenza ST-05 (rm190/pc) - don't have any review on this donut,got fren use it on his 400hp+ wira but most of time his car only collecting dust at home,hehe..
Federal 595SS (rm250/pc) - used before 205/45/16,bought used (80% left),very noisy!!
Achilles ATR (rm185/pc) - used before 195/50/16,bought used (80% left) on my previous car n sold my car after dat,can't remember how it feel.. :biggrin:

So after read several review on Achilles,I think better go for it right? Can save much my money lol.. :listen:
Or anyone got experience on Firenza? How about Kumho? Or got any other options? I'm not driving very fast on highway coz my car only 1500cc (mostly 120kmh-140kmh & rarely goes up to 160kmh) but love to take cornering,hehe.. As long its not noisy & can give gud control,should be ok..

Also got 1 shop offering new brand tyre for only rm160/pc,forgot the brand,he told me it was produced by same factory as Nankang,but I never believe in China's tyre coz saw many this 'fella' exploded!!
Nankang are slightly better they are Taiwanese not China.
Firenza tyres as far as I know copy other tyres thread pattern. ST-08 a cross of Falken ST115 and a bit of S-Drive pattern. The ST-05 you mentioned I find 2 to 3 patterns. The one in Stamford tyres website is direct copy of the Falken ZE-522, so I think better give that a miss.
Coming back to ATR, some mentioned pretty noisy. This I think will happen if the tyre pattern wears uneven, especially for large groove block pattern and directional.

m@ttz

May 7, 2006
klang
Nankang are slightly better they are Taiwanese not China.
Firenza tyres as far as I know copy other tyres thread pattern. ST-08 a cross of Falken ST115 and a bit of S-Drive pattern. The ST-05 you mentioned I find 2 to 3 patterns. The one in Stamford tyres website is direct copy of the Falken ZE-522, so I think better give that a miss.
Coming back to ATR, some mentioned pretty noisy. This I think will happen if the tyre pattern wears uneven, especially for large groove block pattern and directional.
Agreed wit u,my previous Federal 595SS 'singing' along the road :rofl:.. So,should I go for ATR? Anyone use 205/45/16?

Yup, Federal 595SS is also noisy. You could try the 595Evo but may be over budget, as ATR are way cheaper....

m@ttz

May 7, 2006
klang
ya lorr,wat to do.. :smokin:

btw,achilles & accelera was same company or not? both from indon also..

ya lorr,wat to do.. :smokin:

btw,achilles & accelera was same company or not? both from indon also..
No brother, different company.
Archilles Made by PT Multistrada Arah Sarana Tbk
Accelera Made by PT. Elangperdana Tyre Industry

markblurberry

Jun 24, 2010
Have you check whether have ATR Sports 2 already?.....
Bro i think the availability is subject to whether local distributor can clear stock for ATR Sports, which i think wont be too long...ATR Sports 2....hmmmm..i like the previous tyre tread...the new one not as garang....more like premium comfort type...but if it's more comfortable, i suppose is a good thing for the brand, as the prev is more noisy...maybe not as comfort...but garang lar...

Yup, the looks, ATR is garang. Same as when GY launched their Asy. Look so sissy against the GS-D3, but after using they know it beats the hell out of the directional tyres....ha! ha!
ATR 2 as it is named, should have improvement. Closing the gaps, probably more quiet already.

1. Nak tanya pakar2 ni..Bolehkah proton waja menggunakan enjin 4A-GE (AE111)?
2. kalau boleh...berapakah upah pemasangan?
3. Mitsubishi FTO 6A12 V6 Mivec-boleh senang dapat tak spare part untuk enjin ni?