A33 & A32 engine(vq20de), are they the same?

myride

Aug 13, 2006

I need some advice frm sifu out there, I need to swap engine on my A33 (2.0), and i want it the same engine as b4. I manage to find a vq20de engine but it is for A32. My question is, are there any difference between both engine? FYI, my existing engine is almost useless. Oil pump fail, affectting crankshaft, bearing, conrod, pistn ring, etc... So upset, pls help, tq.

tms97

Jul 11, 2005
There are "almost" identical but if not mistaken the 2.0 in a32 has loawer torque and horsepower than the 2.0 in a33

myride

Aug 13, 2006
Thanks guys, but what should I do? Anybody knows where to find A33(vq20) engine? tried few chop shop, only a32 engine available.

tms97

Jul 11, 2005
I havent seen myself but a mechanic told me around batu caves area got a lot of half cut a33

myride

Aug 13, 2006
I found a33 vq20 engine, but all neo, the guy at the chopshop said it can be use but without neo(valve lifting function). Anybody know about vq20 neo engine? Without neo function, is the engine still have enough power?

seizai

Jul 27, 2005
I found a33 vq20 engine, but all neo, the guy at the chopshop said it can be use but without neo(valve lifting function). Anybody know about vq20 neo engine? Without neo function, is the engine still have enough power?
ppl put neo for power, u dun want neo, thats funny :hmmmm:

onionbay

Jun 29, 2005
try chop shop around Segambut. I've seens a few A33 front portion around.

myride

Aug 13, 2006
Its not that I don want neo, to put neo, I might need to buy half cut, I just wanna a simple swap (block&head only...looking for enjin lantai). Also budget is limited. But all chopshop only have vq20neo. They said all imported vq20 engine from Japan is Neo.

wah

Nov 15, 2005
Jalan Kapar got alot of vq20 without neo mar. try lepak lepak n c for urself.

seizai

Jul 27, 2005
Its not that I don want neo, to put neo, I might need to buy half cut, I just wanna a simple swap (block&head only...looking for enjin lantai). Also budget is limited. But all chopshop only have vq20neo. They said all imported vq20 engine from Japan is Neo.
u need get a very very very exp guy to swap those parts

otherwise...

u will facing leaking nightmare

alloy part is a lot diff from steel part like mitsu one

wah

Nov 15, 2005
Even VQ20 for A32 have different cabling set, I found it when I replace my previous VQ20, end up I need to put in a half cut ratter than just an engine kosong, different socket and cable, even ECU connector. Current manual it just missing the auto controller other just same.

Cheer.

Drag machines are serious speed demons, living their lives packing thousands of horsepower under the hood to make under 10-second passes at the quarter mile mark. It may sound pretty simple to do so as it only involves driving in a straight line, but there are a lot that have to be taken into account to ensure a successful pass is made. And when you have cramped up every bit of power you could scrounge on...