A32 Rough Idle

ash123

Sep 29, 2009
Hi All
Just found and joined the club, and in need of assistance immediately. Recently had to top overhauled my cefiro A32 due to overheating and leaky gasket. Now, after spending about 6k, the idling is rough and stuttering especially when in gear although runs well while driving. My normal mech have checked sp plugs, ignition coil, sensors and electrical wiring, but still no positive result. Appreciate any other thoughts. Also, appreciate the contact number for cefiro specialist to get 2nd opinion before I spend more.
Thanks in advance.

XTEC

Dec 2, 2007
bro how high is ur rpm when idling? water pump chg??

dream.tent

Apr 22, 2005
www.cardomain.com
Check throttle body..maybe dirty..
Also checks the O2 sensor! (read lambda ratio from exhaust can tell)

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
Hi All
Just found and joined the club, and in need of assistance immediately. Recently had to top overhauled my cefiro A32 due to overheating and leaky gasket. Now, after spending about 6k, the idling is rough and stuttering especially when in gear although runs well while driving. My normal mech have checked sp plugs, ignition coil, sensors and electrical wiring, but still no positive result. Appreciate any other thoughts. Also, appreciate the contact number for cefiro specialist to get 2nd opinion before I spend more.
Thanks in advance.
Hmmm, thats a tough one but its a cefiro classic problem . If you search the thread , I think you might have some suggested solutions.

Your problem may start from some leaky valves(compression already check?), upper and lower manifold gasket leaks , intake & vacuum hoses leak, injectors stuck open/closed,TPS, MAF,AAC valve dirty,etc.

It might be a very simple problem or it could be a very frustrating problem to solve. What u can do is to get a Nissan specialist which will agree to charge for only the faulty component replaced and not changing ALL the parts to look for the problem. It very expensive and time consuming. It could just be the TPS out calibration but you have already changed parts which could break your bank balance. So be careful.

Just my 2 cents.

SB3.

---------- Post added at 11:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:58 PM ----------

Try this link
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/the-cefiro-club-malaysia/211281-help-for-a32-2.html

ash123

Sep 29, 2009
xtec, rpm is abt 700-800 and it stutters down when in gear. Yes, water pump has been replaced in addition to many wear and tear parts such as hoses and pipes except for the wire harness which looks dry and can break at any time. My mechanic feels it is an electrical, so, he has checked the plugs and replaced a few of the plug coils. Seems to have reduced the rough idling but not completely. Will try to replace all plug coils this saturday and observe the effect.

You are right sb3, I hope to not have to spend more $ after the big job. Expect to have a great and smooth ride soon (the engine a bit more noisy though, after the overhaul - maybe teppet).

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
xtec, rpm is abt 700-800 and it stutters down when in gear. Yes, water pump has been replaced in addition to many wear and tear parts such as hoses and pipes except for the wire harness which looks dry and can break at any time. My mechanic feels it is an electrical, so, he has checked the plugs and replaced a few of the plug coils. Seems to have reduced the rough idling but not completely. Will try to replace all plug coils this saturday and observe the effect.

You are right sb3, I hope to not have to spend more $ after the big job. Expect to have a great and smooth ride soon (the engine a bit more noisy though, after the overhaul - maybe teppet).
the overheat may have damage more internal parts that causing the engine to run rough. Did you also change the knock sensor? usually this is the one thing you need to change after overheat in fatty. Cause the sensor may have die after such heat in the engine.

Chain tensioner may also cause the engine to sound rough cause the chain is not too loose. I may want to change the timing chain and tensioner when the engine is out.

PS, I find many people "found" this forum when they have problem. I do see many are mia after the car is fix/sold :biggrin:

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
the overheat may have damage more internal parts that causing the engine to run rough. Did you also change the knock sensor? usually this is the one thing you need to change after overheat in fatty. Cause the sensor may have die after such heat in the engine.

Chain tensioner may also cause the engine to sound rough cause the chain is not too loose. I may want to change the timing chain and tensioner when the engine is out.

PS, I find many people "found" this forum when they have problem. I do see many are mia after the car is fix/sold :biggrin:
Weikee , i totally agree with you on your last statement "
PS, I find many people "found" this forum when they have problem. I do see many are mia after the car is fix/sold :biggrin:[/QUOTE]" . Its like touch and go thing card, hehehe...

SB3.

XTEC

Dec 2, 2007
me too agree, previous post i do post "mana itu orang pergi" lepas tu hilang :banghead:

if u change water pump, then ur engine rough sound maybe came from timing chain.
after overhaul engine, do advise go back to TC to cucuk to set back the idling time..

outside u can cucuk, but trust me better go back TC to set back.if not mistaken rm75.

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
me too agree, previous post i do post "mana itu orang pergi" lepas tu hilang :banghead:

if u change water pump, then ur engine rough sound maybe came from timing chain.
after overhaul engine, do advise go back to TC to cucuk to set back the idling time..

outside u can cucuk, but trust me better go back TC to set back.if not mistaken rm75.
Last time at TC , they cucuk free of charge cos they already cut my throat on the 'knock sensor ' ( a piece of useless metal ).

XTEC

Dec 2, 2007
ya i never go to TC except for the cucuk thing coz there is the best, from what i heard from my mech..the rest mesti kena potong kao kao

dream.tent

Apr 22, 2005
www.cardomain.com
=sb3;3901250]Weikee , i totally agree with you on your last statement "
PS, I find many people "found" this forum when they have problem. I do see many are mia after the car is fix/sold :biggrin: . Its like touch and go thing card, hehehe...

SB3.
It's ok..as long as there is someone here willing to help, the ball will keep rolling..

ash123

Sep 29, 2009
weikee, water pump and knock sensor was changed during overhaul. Still hopeful that the plug coil is my main problem. Will find out tomorrow. The noisy sound may just be the radiator fan, but need to confirm.

Thanks for all the input. Will update situation after my visit to the mechanic on saturday.

ash123

Sep 29, 2009
weikee, no I did not replace the chain and tensioner. The rough idling seems to have gone away after I replaced the plug coils (1 major rosak, another 5 not efficient enough). Apparently, the enhanced compression and/or the earlier overheating may have caused them to go bad. However, now I got some gear issues which hopefully just require some adjustment (Gear seem to slip from "D" to neutral when I stopped at the toll plaza, and the change from 2nd to 3rd gear had a long lag with rpm going to 3k++). The clickaty clackity noice may be from the hydraulic valve which will require a few days in the shop to fix. The headache continues.

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
weikee, no I did not replace the chain and tensioner. The rough idling seems to have gone away after I replaced the plug coils (1 major rosak, another 5 not efficient enough). Apparently, the enhanced compression and/or the earlier overheating may have caused them to go bad. However, now I got some gear issues which hopefully just require some adjustment (Gear seem to slip from "D" to neutral when I stopped at the toll plaza, and the change from 2nd to 3rd gear had a long lag with rpm going to 3k++). The clickaty clackity noice may be from the hydraulic valve which will require a few days in the shop to fix. The headache continues.
For your info, the hydraulic valve lifters cannot be adjusted.

ash123

Sep 29, 2009
Hey All, the stuttering idle is gone after the plug coil change, the gear issues went away for awhile after servicing the gear selector thingy, but it came back. Had some ignition (starter) issue at the same time. Since yesterday, the engine is shaking/vibrating violently. I think I am back to where it all started, the engine and top overhaul issue. Will take the car back to the mechanic for another checkup tomorrow and keep you guys updated.

---------- Post added at 02:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:06 PM ----------

Hey All, the stuttering idle went away after the plug coil change, and the gear issues went away for a while after servicing the gear selector thingy, but it is back. Also had some issues with ignition (starting). As of yesterday, the engine started shaking/vibrating badly. I think I am back to my initial problem, the engine top overhaul work done. Will take the car back to the mechanic tomorrow for another check-up and will keep you guys updated.

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
Hey All, the stuttering idle is gone after the plug coil change, the gear issues went away for awhile after servicing the gear selector thingy, but it came back. Had some ignition (starter) issue at the same time. Since yesterday, the engine is shaking/vibrating violently. I think I am back to where it all started, the engine and top overhaul issue. Will take the car back to the mechanic for another checkup tomorrow and keep you guys updated.

---------- Post added at 02:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:06 PM ----------

Hey All, the stuttering idle went away after the plug coil change, and the gear issues went away for a while after servicing the gear selector thingy, but it is back. Also had some issues with ignition (starting). As of yesterday, the engine started shaking/vibrating badly. I think I am back to my initial problem, the engine top overhaul work done. Will take the car back to the mechanic tomorrow for another check-up and will keep you guys updated.

Ash123, Like I said earlier this idling problem will haunt you for a while. Happens to me b4 and trying to fix it almost breaks my bank balance . It could be just the leaky gasket or valve not close or seated properly. Since there r many gaskets in our ceffie ranging from manifold gaskets (there r 3 i think.), the twin head gaskets since u did the top overhaul, leaking injector/s , o-ring , TPS sensor (Did ur mech dismantle the tb and sensor?) , vacuum hoses, intake hoses ( especially near the joints), etc .. Best is to ask your mech to look at the spark plugs and do a compression test on each cylinder to detect any leakage. Spark plugs will tell the health of your engine. There r many more, but pls do check the basics first before you jump to more expensive items.

SB3.

Bros, what is the average h/p for our campro engine(N/A). I just dyno last few weeks. Just want to compare with other. Is that any different. mind to share?

View attachment 110900