6-speed trans issue

louischia

bros,
im having a 6-speed trans in my ae101.
i felt that the finaldrive need too high revs to hit my speed when im on highways...
i still have my 5-speed trans.
5-speed finaldrive ratio is 4.3
6-speed finaldrive ratio is 4.7
can i swap the finaldrive from my 5-speed trans to my 6-speed trans?
are they interchangeable?
will two trans still work?
please advice.

Brother I also using the 6 speed manual...
But for me it's ok coz normally I will hit untill 150km then chnage to the 6 gear then easy hit to 180km...

ya but how high is ur rpm at 6th speed, 180km?
i didn change to 4a-ge.
4a-fe cant rev high high... so plan to swap finaldrive...

any inputs frm sifus here?
can fit?

6sp final is only 4.5XX.........same as VVTLi 6sp.......by right size is diff.....if can i sure do it already.........cheaper that way than buying trd final drive

sifu danny sifu, what's the final drive of my toyota....? can i swap my gearbox like yours....?

some say that 5 speed gearbox is more pickup than 6speed. is't right?? any pros n contras??

Besides the final drive issue, there are also the between gear ratio / number of gears.

6 speed top gear (6) revs at ~2.9K for 100km/h.
6 speed fifth(5) gear revs at ~3.6K for 100km/h
5 speed top gear (5) revs at ~3.1K or ~3.2 K for 100km/h
But there are a case where it the 5 spd revs at 3.6K suggesting a closer ratio.

Those figures are based on real cars and not 'facts on tech numbers'. And it is all based on 4age. It may differ from different cars, installation and setup but i thought i should share. There are many versions of gb too. try to look it up. Good luck!

Besides the final drive issue, there are also the between gear ratio / number of gears.

6 speed top gear (6) revs at ~2.9K for 100km/h.
6 speed fifth(5) gear revs at ~3.6K for 100km/h
5 speed top gear (5) revs at ~3.1K or ~3.2 K for 100km/h
But there are a case where it the 5 spd revs at 3.6K suggesting a closer ratio.

Those figures are based on real cars and not 'facts on tech numbers'. And it is all based on 4age. It may differ from different cars, installation and setup but i thought i should share. There are many versions of gb too. try to look it up. Good luck!

Dude mine is 5 spd gb 5th gear rev at 3.5~3.6k for 100km/h ler... does this mean mine is a close ratio gb? i bought this at the chopshop and it is complete with trd lsd. i m not sure whether this gb gear ratio has been mod by the japs o not coz didnt dismantle the whole thing and check.

George yours are same like mine lor... hahhaa.. C56... felt kindya pulling and dragging my gear all the time on each gears... unless if u are using C52 which is much more less pick up but longer and easier top end speeds plus it is more comfort... C56 is sort of like...hahha!! *I just won't have gears enoughs for top speeds*... change gear also blardy fast if slowly cruise... chi ma kan gearbox ones...hahaha!! :P

It is true mate. pick up is damn fast lah but not good for high speed (travel at highway). the fc is like crazy ler when going long distance.

But i got a question and idea ler, dunno whether it works and cost effective o not lah. what if i get 1 6 spd gb and put all my current 5 spd gb's gears into 6spd gb and then remain the 6th gear in the 6spd gb rite, will that be possible? If it is possible, then i do not have to use 5th gear to drag like crazy when high speed. The fc oso will be lower lah.

Need some opinion from u guys man...

hahha chi ma kan GB...

well I will go for c52 for confort riding sensation lo... hahah with or without lsd also can lo..

hmm.. so is it C52 3.1K@100km/h and C56 3.6K@100km/h? Now oni i know.

C52 got that low meh? ^_^ hahaha... i think should be a bit higher than 3.1k... not sure la.. last night was driving dent car... but his clutch+steering too damn keras until i got no mood to watch the meter panel... but i also not that sure de..

but mine one is definetily 3.0k rpm is just 80kmph... so if i wanna hit 100kmph, i remember that it was running close to 4.0krpm... worst part... hitting 160 is easy... but hitting beyond it... that is something hard... engine roars like wanna explode.. gezz...haha!! but dun care la.. as long as the pickup is awesome...

george,
want to sell the gearbox with TRD? im interested.... hahahhahaha

and summore, please state 80km/h at what gear. sure different rpm with different gears la weiiiii!!!!! kakakkakak

It is true mate. pick up is damn fast lah but not good for high speed (travel at highway). the fc is like crazy ler when going long distance.

But i got a question and idea ler, dunno whether it works and cost effective o not lah. what if i get 1 6 spd gb and put all my current 5 spd gb's gears into 6spd gb and then remain the 6th gear in the 6spd gb rite, will that be possible? If it is possible, then i do not have to use 5th gear to drag like crazy when high speed. The fc oso will be lower lah.

Need some opinion from u guys man...

so..can i make conclusion like this? :
C52 = less pickup than C56 but C52 is easier to get top speed (btw, what its tops speed?)
C56 = very good pickup / bad FC
C160 (BZR 6 speed isn't it?) = good FC / what about pickup n top speed?
i dont have enogh info but really want to know. it help me to make decision.

so..can i make conclusion like this? :
C52 = less pickup than C56 but C52 is easier to get top speed (btw, what its tops speed?)
C56 = very good pickup / bad FC
C160 (BZR 6 speed isn't it?) = good FC / what about pickup n top speed?
i dont have enogh info but really want to know. it help me to make decision.

any comment??

Guys correct me if I'm wrong. Base on 195/55 15" tyre, ratio for 5th gear C52 and C56 is 0.815, if both final drive also 4.312,then both gearbox should be running ~3100 rpm for 100km/h. From the gear ratio spec for C52 andC56, only 3rd and 4th ratio a bit different.

bro geogre8724 and sbridz..

i using 5 spd LSD gearbox which has same rev with urs... 3.6k rpm at 100KM/H... FC is bad and easy to up till 160km/h... Pick up ok onli.... tat means using c56 gb lo... but this gb is from SVT ...i thot c56 is only from BT ...