4E-FE 1.3L to 4A-GE 1.6L transplant still legal?

andy1708

Nov 1, 2006
Hi all,

I just bought a yr 99 SEG AE111, but its 1.3L, is there any major problem with the JPJ / Puspakom inspection as i heard from a friend the upgrade is more than the permitted range.

Pls advice.

TQ

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
1.3 --> 1.6 = 1000 % no problem... As long as you have rear disc brake.

Jun 28, 2006
certainly no problem at all...

horned_ripper

Dec 6, 2007
Subang
should not be a problem.... my LE was previously using the std 2A 1.3l engine... now i'm using 4age svt... without rear disc brakes... :p still with the std LE drums....

andy1708

Nov 1, 2006
Noted with thanks...will the AE111 Levin dashboard fit in my SEG?

anuar_fadzli

May 10, 2005
there is a problem, but not with puspakom but with ure right foot. hehehehehhehe

andy1708

Nov 1, 2006
there is a problem, but not with puspakom but with ure right foot. hehehehehhehe

haha...ur right...too addicted..i've sold my 16v few yrs ago...now got a little spare money to get another SEG...the addiction is back

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
haha...ur right...too addicted..i've sold my 16v few yrs ago...now got a little spare money to get another SEG...the addiction is back

haha... once u enter the Modification world, you will hardly turn out from it.

andy1708

Nov 1, 2006
haha... once u enter the Modification world, you will hardly turn out from it.
true enuff...hope i can control myself from over-spent..but i think it'll be a tough thing to do...happy modding to all

scottwrx

Nov 18, 2007
when u join zth toyota forum... i can assure u one thing..

u confirm will get poison kau kau one... see lah.. if got time i start poison bit by bit... hehehe...

Mouse

Jul 29, 2007
Kelantan
should not be a problem.... my LE was previously using the std 2A 1.3l engine... now i'm using 4age svt... without rear disc brakes... :p still with the std LE drums....

Halfcut comes without rear disc brakes? Dangerous when you're speeding man...

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
Halfcut comes without rear disc brakes? Dangerous when you're speeding man...
I think to have poll of disc brake vs drum brake topic already. I believe drum brake perform better than disc brake.:hmmmm:

horned_ripper

Dec 6, 2007
Subang
I think to have poll of disc brake vs drum brake topic already. I believe drum brake perform better than disc brake.:hmmmm:
I'm not sure about the poll... but tried braking test with Proton Persona... looks like my drum brakes works better....

anyways, surface area for drum brakes are very much bigger then disc brakes.... so their braking capacity should be better...

Care and Feeding of the Porsche Clutch
by Paul Lighthill

A recent call inquired about severe clutch chatter in a Carrera 2 that had only 30,000 miles on the odometer. It has been my experience during forty years of dealing with things mechanical that the operator is the single most important factor in determining a machines longevity and reliability. Perhaps nowhere is this more apparent than in the clutches and transmissions of our favorite cars, where PIO, or...