4AGE 9000RPM

TireSmoke

Feb 4, 2004
anyone have any comments on increasing the rev limit to 9000rpm. my engine is kitted with 272 intake and 264 exhaust cams but std valve springs. high comp pistons and quad throttles. just wondering if i might blow the engine if i don't upgrade the valve springs. any experiences anyone?

AE80TypeD

Nov 24, 2003
Puchong
experiences, no.

but there are 9000/9200RPM rated valve springs already in the market. 16V need to order i think. zul sifu told me 1 :D its a safe bet putting those in first :)

oversea sifu Bill Sherwood stated that the stock valve springs are good to about 9000RPM (generally 4AGs) but not for long. < durability

TireSmoke

Feb 4, 2004
cool, thanks for the info. just wanted to find out cause the toda valvetrain kit cost 2500. so before i go out and spend the money, i thought i'd find out first.

that's what i thought. with std valve spring it should be ok, but it would wear the camlobes faster.

GT20v

well i do think it cant hold for long..what the lift btw???

emm why dont u try ted's component???cheaper and high quality too.......they have a stock of 4age FA head...............or at least can do like thatlah.......hehehheheh

GT20v

Originally posted by MK84@Jan 13 2005, 20:25
Djan, where'd u get the pistons?
K,
SS auto still got the 4age 16v piston there heheheehe go ler ..........jgn malu2 heheheehe

GT20v

Originally posted by KeonG@Jan 13 2005, 20:50
Djan = TireSmoke??
;)
errr why ler ask???

of coz tiresmoke is Djan...

MK84

Nov 16, 2003
www.mk84.com
Originally posted by GT20v+Jan 13 2005, 22:03 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (GT20v @ Jan 13 2005, 22:03 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-MK84@Jan 13 2005, 20:25
Djan, where'd u get the pistons?
K,
SS auto still got the 4age 16v piston there heheheehe go ler ..........jgn malu2 heheheehe [/b][/quote]
Oo ok... will check it when I go pick up my rims...hehehe

ae92levin

Oct 19, 2004
Originally posted by TireSmoke@Jan 13 2005, 19:24
cool, thanks for the info. just wanted to find out cause the toda valvetrain kit cost 2500. so before i go out and spend the money, i thought i'd find out first.

that's what i thought. with std valve spring it should be ok, but it would wear the camlobes faster.
i would be more worried about valve float, screwing up ur valve and shims. not so much about the cam lobe.

TireSmoke

Feb 4, 2004
i can't remeber what the lift is, got the spec some where. i think 2.5mm higher than std. something like that.

i was thinking about it, rev is increased only by 1000rpm. logically, it shouldn't have such a great effect since it's only 1k above std cut. should be ok if i don't bouunce it on the limiter all the time. comments? rev cut is actually 9500 but limiting to 9k with my foot so i don't have to bounce it off the limiter all the time

TRD16v

Feb 9, 2004
Tokyo, Japan.
atually i always wanted to ask sifooo around here on dis question.. wats de difference when u set de cam in dis term such as....

(1) 272 in / 264 ext

(2) 272 in / 272 ext

wats de different on dis 2 setup above? seriously i duno la so hope someone could tell me.. dun tembak me ok if not i tembak u back.. hahahahahaha.. :D :lol:

Regards,
Mike

Acoustic

Nov 24, 2003
Hong Kong
www.my-acoustic.com
Originally posted by ae92levin+Jan 14 2005, 04:11 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (ae92levin @ Jan 14 2005, 04:11 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-TireSmoke@Jan 13 2005, 19:24

i would be more worried about valve float, screwing up ur valve and shims. not so much about the cam lobe. [/b][/quote]
well, regarding the valve float issue, I just noticed JUN's performance cam for MIVEC only had clearances of

0.1 mm for intake and 0.2 mm for exhaust

while our 20v stock has

0.2 for intake and 0.4 for exhaust (all on the thinest side)

So, I think if we up the cams duration, together with lift and valve springs, may be should reduce the clearance also.

for the reference, I think need to refer to formula atlantic built process. But I don't recall seeing valve clearance specifications.

can some one confirm?

Since I did my valve clearance and have 2 lower than spec and there's no problem, and still more compared to JUN's performance cam, so I've been thinking to reduce all exhaust from 0.4 to 0.3 :) hahahha I wonder got any REAL difference or not?

hhahahaha, greedy chin :)

TireSmoke

Feb 4, 2004
well, correct me if i'm wrong, for NA engines, if you use 272 on both ports, back pressure will be very low which then reduces the suction of air/fuel on the intake. but for turbo engines no problem because you force the air into the combustion chamber. with a 272/264 setup, it creates higher back pressure which helps the suction on the intake.

just my 2 cents

hi everyone,

i hv upgraded my braking system, front 1.8 and rear mivec disk brake for quite some time.
recently. when i do hard braking at 80km/h, my car will turn 90 degrees to the right
wats the prob?
plz help, thanz

-Fred-