15" or 17"?

if waja turbo surely no problem to use 17inch rims...

the only problem is to buy proper tyre when using 17inch rim... :biggrin:

atleast when u compare with similar tyre spec. from 15inch definately the one on 17inch rim will have better grip...

if waja turbo surely no problem to use 17inch rims...

the only problem is to buy proper tyre when using 17inch rim... :biggrin:

atleast when u compare with similar tyre spec. from 15inch definately the one on 17inch rim will have better grip...
Yup, in 15" higher aspect ratio category change to 17", sure will be in ultra low profile, therefore mostly are UHP tyres....

Penghanyut

Jul 19, 2005

Happy CNY!

Gotta dig up this old thread.
Has anyone tried fitting in 235/45/17 onto a Wira?
What is the required offset to fit in a 17x8JJ rims onto a Wira?
Couldn't get traction still even with 195/55/15 R888.
Going for 17" now and hoping to get some ideas from sifus here if 235/45/17 will fit onto a Wira.
Many thanks! :)

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

Happy CNY!

Gotta dig up this old thread.
Has anyone tried fitting in 235/45/17 onto a Wira?
What is the required offset to fit in a 17x8JJ rims onto a Wira?
Couldn't get traction still even with 195/55/15 R888.
Going for 17" now and hoping to get some ideas from sifus here if 235/45/17 will fit onto a Wira.
Many thanks! :)
It's too big. Total diameter becomes 64.33cm vs your current one of 59.55cm which means an increase of 4.78cm or almost 7.5%! Then there's the width which I think is also too wide. Wira has small fenders. Even if somehow you can put it in, your car will be much slower, fuel consumption will be noticeably worse, and braking will be much longer too. If you want to go 17, probably max can use 17x7.5 with 215/40 tire which will only increase diameter by 0.8cm, BUT your ride quality will suffer a lot cuz the tire side wall is already super thin (only 8.6cm!).

Penghanyut

Jul 19, 2005
Hi 6UE5t,

The diameter increment is okay with me, what is important is traction :(
Fuel consumption is not an issue cause this is not my daily ride.
About braking, will look into upgrades for that later on.
Right now just using mitsu twin pot brakes which I personally think is sufficient enough.
I believe for the front, 235/45/17 won't be an issue for Wira.
What I worry most is the rear. I have never seen a Wira running on 235/45/17 hence would really like to get some info here if its possible to be done without excessive mods.
My ideal setup would be 235/40/17 but I hardly see anyone using this size. Mostly are 235/45/17.
Forget comfort cos I'm trying to setup this car mainly for some fun on the track.

Thanks for the fast response! :)

Hi 6UE5t,

Right now just using mitsu twin pot brakes which I personally think is sufficient enough.
What I worry most is the rear. I have never seen a Wira running on 235/45/17 hence would really like to get some info here if its possible to be done without excessive mods.
My ideal setup would be 235/40/17 but I hardly see anyone using this size. Mostly are 235/45/17.
Forget comfort cos I'm trying to setup this car mainly for some fun on the track.

Your front may clear the fender but what about your turning circle. Full turn may hit your inner fender and what about suspension clearance? There is 40mm extra width.

Penghanyut

Jul 19, 2005
Hi vr2turbo,

I'm looking for rims spec around 17x8JJ +30 to +35 range and the car is running on adjustables (no more big bulky spring seat like the stock). Yeah another thing to consider is the inner fender. Never really came across my mind :) Thanks for reminding.
Btw, you're running on VR4 as well right? Mind if I ask hows the traction like running on 17"? Whats your tyres spec and what tyres are you using?

Hi vr2turbo,

I'm looking for rims spec around 17x8JJ +30 to +35 range and the car is running on adjustables (no more big bulky spring seat like the stock). Yeah another thing to consider is the inner fender. Never really came across my mind :) Thanks for reminding.
Btw, you're running on VR4 as well right? Mind if I ask hows the traction like running on 17"? Whats your tyres spec and what tyres are you using?
Normal 17" are +42 offset and most comes in at 7 to 7.5J only. 8" got to scout around, especially +30 offset. Try asking those bigger tyre shops.
Yup, have to check inner fender as you have gone 40mm wider.
My stock Super Saloon last time was 185/70R14, then I tried 205/50R16 because at that time 17" was very expensive. After a few years, 17" came in cheaper and 16" have less choice then only I switch. The tyre size I am using is 215/45R17, and have kept to this size because is the correct conversion, the size is the most common, plenty of tyre choices and cheaper the 225/45 and 235/45R17. Some VR4 club mates are running 235/45R17, of course looks better but will take up some pick up power and will aquaplane more easy. Traction is good enough for me as I use as every day drive. Of course different tyres gives different performance. I have used the likes of Falken ST115, Yoko ES100, Falken FK452, Yoko S-Drive, GY GS-D3, Toyo T1-R, GY Asy, Blue Streak Stiletto, GY Asy2 and GT Radial Champiro HPY. All give different feedback, be it better in wet, dry, aquaplaning resistance, handling, ride comfort and so on...

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Hi 6UE5t,

Well generally it's not recommended to go over 3% larger than the std diameter and you certainly will go way over than that if using this setup. But anyway, the only thing to you need to do to clear your doubts is to try fit one before buying.
I think 235/40 is also available though for some brands and should be slightly easier to fit in.

Well generally it's not recommended to go over 3% larger than the std diameter and you certainly will go way over than that if using this setup. But anyway, the only thing to you need to do to clear your doubts is to try fit one before buying.
I think 235/40 is also available though for some brands and should be slightly easier to fit in.
The tyres will be pretty expensive too. Only way to fit 235 size probably can offset the tyres out of the wheel arch....:biggrin:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
The tyres will be pretty expensive too. Only way to fit 235 size probably can offset the tyres out of the wheel arch....:biggrin:
Yes, that's what I think as well. But again if don't care about the looks and just got to have that much rubber on the road, then I guess still be ok. :biggrin:

Penghanyut

Jul 19, 2005
vr2turbo,

8JJ is hard to come by especially when I'm running on 4x100 PCD. Don't want any hassle to convert my knuckle into 5x114.3 though this will definitely widen my choices of rims. Found a set of CE28 replica with +32 and 8JJ spec. Hopefully that will fit in.
Front tyres are expected to be slightly out of the fender. As long as I can make U-turns without much hassle then its okay with me :)
I've been reading some topics on this forum and got to know that you're the person most people refer to when it comes to tyres :)
I'm considering Kumho KU36 to go along with the rims. Any idea on the pricing for 235/45/17 (or if they have 235/40/17?)? R888 is out of budget for the moment :(

6UE5t,

Trying to fit it in is definitely the best method but unfortunately, my car is not drivable now.
Hoping to gain more info before going to the tyre shop so that I can narrow down my choices of wheel specs.
As for looks, as long as the wheel can fit in with minor modifications then I'm happy already.
Car needs a new paint job really bad but for now I'm trying to make the car go faster first.
Wouldn't want to be called "All show but no go" car :(

vr2turbo,

8JJ is hard to come by especially when I'm running on 4x100 PCD. Don't want any hassle to convert my knuckle into 5x114.3 though this will definitely widen my choices of rims. Found a set of CE28 replica with +32 and 8JJ spec. Hopefully that will fit in.
Front tyres are expected to be slightly out of the fender. As long as I can make U-turns without much hassle then its okay with me :)
I've been reading some topics on this forum and got to know that you're the person most people refer to when it comes to tyres :)
I'm considering Kumho KU36 to go along with the rims. Any idea on the pricing for 235/45/17 (or if they have 235/40/17?)? R888 is out of budget for the moment :(

6UE5t,

Trying to fit it in is definitely the best method but unfortunately, my car is not drivable now.
Hoping to gain more info before going to the tyre shop so that I can narrow down my choices of wheel specs.
As for looks, as long as the wheel can fit in with minor modifications then I'm happy already.
Car needs a new paint job really bad but for now I'm trying to make the car go faster first.
Wouldn't want to be called "All show but no go" car :(
Nope I don't think they have 235/40R17 size. Not too sure of the price too as the shops I know do not stock this tyre.
Try looking at GT Radial Champiro SX2, they have this size too....

Yup, the front will be further out as FWD front track is wider. With the rims further out and the heavier weight I am also worried about your wheel bearings....

nowadays got plenty of 15" rims with 7jj or 8jj hence even 9jj....quite cheap also..taiwan quality with copying original rim manufacturer design....

but sourcing tyre 205/50-15 a bit hard la...

Penghanyut

Jul 19, 2005
Just checked some websites and found out there are 225/50/15 R888. Will it fit well onto my current 15x7JJ wheels?
Any idea which shop carries the size and price wise? Thanks!

Hi all ,

Currently i am driving a Proton Saga BLM. Year make 2010 , Automatic.

But one day i decided to change the transmission from Auto to Manual.

So my question is , will i able to sell my car to dealer? I am planning to change car. Do i have to change back the transmission from Manual back to Auto ? since my car Geran is Auto ..

Please advice.

Thank you all.