Widest tyre to fit a rim size

Aspect ratio also plays a part. The lower the aspect ratio the wider the rims too....

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
215/45 shud be ok, 215/40 as u sed is too small edi for wider wheels

Actually, when I meant too small is for application. From 215/45 to 215/40, overall diameter is more than 3% smaller.
For fitment actually 215/40 fit 8JJ better then 215/45.....

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
ok im confused here haha

erm...ok...let's say with the 215/40, wudnt there be lesser sidewall to stretch over the 8jjs? with lesser sidewall wont there be more slant?

like those old skoolers, they can only use high aspect ratio tires to stretch over the super wide old skool rims

nikolaiski

Nov 4, 2005
HAHA! I'm using Goodyear RS-Sport 215/45 R17 with a Taiwanese 7.5JJ rim to be exact :)

Maybe next time I try the Dunlop SP sport maxx or the DZ101 lor..they look wider with the rim protector on the side walls..any other "wider" tyre brands you can recommend?

Ok lah, i'll try to take a picture to give you guys an idea...at the moment the rims and tyre are about the same, maybe the rims coming out a little bit....but yeah i'm going to go for 8jj rims the next time to see what happens :P Maybe less sidewall flex = better cornering? lol

I remember those drift cars..crazy rim width and offsets and the tyres all narrower than the rims in front (for obvious reasons)

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
215/45 tyres are widely used on 17x8 rims. Nothing to worry about. Anytime anywhere any condition.

ok im confused here haha

erm...ok...let's say with the 215/40, wudnt there be lesser sidewall to stretch over the 8jjs? with lesser sidewall wont there be more slant?

like those old skoolers, they can only use high aspect ratio tires to stretch over the super wide old skool rims
The higher the sidewall the smaller the rim width. 215/45 recommend 7 to 8 inch rims,
215/40 recommends 7 to 8.5 inch rims.
Actually it is not over, 215 converted to inches is 8.46 inch, so it is just nice.

For those super wide rims, most are using 18 to 20 inch rims and those rims are really wide, maybe tyres not wide enough

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
actually what i referred to were those like 13 inch old skool 8jjs, that sort, where they are able to put on 185 width tires, as long as the profiles were large, like 185/60 to 185/70 so they have more sidewall to stretch, hipari styyyyyle

of course this is not recommended for track work la hehe

TS, uve got chop sirim from 2jzbosskhoyos already, so it shud be ok haha

actually what i referred to were those like 13 inch old skool 8jjs, that sort, where they are able to put on 185 width tires, as long as the profiles were large, like 185/60 to 185/70 so they have more sidewall to stretch, hipari styyyyyle

of course this is not recommended for track work la hehe

TS, uve got chop sirim from 2jzbosskhoyos already, so it shud be ok haha
Oh! those I call Ah Beng style already....:biggrin:
Actually those days, before the larger sizes were out, there were wider 13" tyres. I remember getting for a friend 205/60R13. This will fit those 8JJ nicely, but not 185/60 & 185/70....

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
that wud be neat, u have the option of using smaller diameter, wider, more -ve offset wheels/tires without having to change to larger, generally heavier wheels to get the same track width

But cannot get nowadays since rims and tyres have evolve to larger sizes with lower aspect ratio. Anyway, with 60 series you can't do much in corners against the likes of 40 series and even lower....

Some 15" rims comes in 7JJ with 38 offset. For Kenari sure to hit wheel arch.
15x6.5 is okay with 175 width....

gothculture

Apr 18, 2008
OK guys, after reading all the explanation im still confused lol pardon me.

How about:

Im currently using Toyo T1R 205/40/r17 on 17x7jj and my question is, will 225/40/r17 fit? Wouldn't the tires be stretched off the rims - meaning the tire is too wide?

I can't rmb if the offset is +35 or +42

OK guys, after reading all the explanation im still confused lol pardon me.

How about:

Im currently using Toyo T1R 205/40/r17 on 17x7jj and my question is, will 225/40/r17 fit? Wouldn't the tires be stretched off the rims - meaning the tire is too wide?

I can't rmb if the offset is +35 or +42
There are 2 things you have to look out for.
1) As per topic, what size tyres fit what size rims. 205/40/R17 minimum is 7J, Max is 8J.
Going to 225/40/R17 then minimum is 7.5J, Max is 9J, therefore 225 will not be stretched but gets squeezed on 7J rims.
2) When playing with tyre width, remember the section height. With 205 width sidewall height is 3.22", and with 225 width it is 3.54". Depending on your wheel clearance whether it can fit in or not. Having wider tyres, also check your steering full turn, whether it touches the car body on the inside.

Normally 17" rims comes in +42 offset. Of course there are special rims with other offset like +35 and so on.

gothculture

Apr 18, 2008
Thanks vr2turbo!

1) If that's the case, what are the cons of having 225 width squeezed on 7J? Rationally speaking (from my understanding perhaps), that would be pretty pointless to fit 225 on 7J and I should just get a brand new pair of rims, wider.

2) Well currently, with steering full turn, my 205s on 7J do not touch the inside. I'm just wondering if 225s can fit 7J since my tires are bald already and need to change em.

Btw, your prolly right with the +42 offset since mine are merely replicas.

1) The thread pattern will not be in full contact with the road surface. As it is being squeezed, then the outer shoulder will curve up.
2) With wider tyres, you will tent to aquaplane easier.
3) Tyre more expensive
4) Tyre diameter bigger by 2.62%, Car less pick up and FC may be heavier

If you still want to upgrade to wider tyres, got for 215/40/R17. Min is 7J rims.....

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
i run a staggered setup front is 215/45 on 7.5j wheel while the rear is 215/45 on 9j wheel. Not for tracking, but its a nice moderate stretch. Using the same tire as vr2, Champiro HPY. on the 7.5j wheel I felt the sidewall is soft as i recalled while tracking during rd.3 TTA 2012 But after stretching on the 9j wheel its soo hard! Might have over-stretched to safely track. Either I change to an 8j all round or join stance.

Bro. PocRoc, 215 on 9J?....wow!

hi, can anyone help me, i need to adjust the tappets on my proton compact 1.3, their so loud now and its getting out of hand, does anyone know how?
Cheers