Restoration Progress of Soichiro Honda's Gem, 1965 Honda S600

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
As I await the arrival of my Crank bearing shaft from Canada, here is a book I bought from Kinokuniya Book store in Petronas Twin Towers, KLCC. Cost RM110, about 2000 yen as according to the magazine cover. Pretty hard and rare to find S car related books and literature in the country, especially by known car magazine, Nostalgic Hero, in this Extra Edition. Lots of pages about the S600, S800, L700, P800 and N360, interesting!

g

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
lol so i guess need a flora car bath then, haha

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
anyways, my crankshaft as arrived from canada. look at the amount of stamps, used to beat the customs from taxing me! lol

also some pictures of the metal based number plate, giving it a retro feel to the car! notice how i cramp all 5 characters in 1 line!

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
honda s600 crankshaft taken out from the box and sent to JC racing for piston bore and fit :D

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
window latch came back from the chrome shop

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
It's an imperfection that I have to live with, rust bubbles are the cause of the crater on the parts, gotta live win it or pay super expensive to manufacture from scratch

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
actualy u could sand it down till its level then send it for chroming again...chroming really magnifies any surface imperfections...

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
the sifu has done his very best not to harm the integrity and strength of the said metal hinge. hence this is the best he done, for both purposes

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
understood. lemme ask around n see if there r anything that can be done bout this...maybe some sort of plating to thicken the metal again so u can sand it down again for the chroming...

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
you could actually add more brass to the thing , but more heat is just gonna undo thebonding and strength of the said metal. even my freind's mercedes 170 cant be free of that problem

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
i was thinking more of electroplating it with a layer of copper maybe...then only chroming on top of that. i was at a metal finishing factory over the weekends trying to get them to anodize my cam cover but couldnt do it successfully since the cam cover was forged alum n not machined...but while i was there i saw them electroplating some metal parts...just thinking out loud here hehehhe

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
oh yeah, but its worth the money for the right buyer, lol

collected my chromed parts today, desurfaced the honda badge for painting and also saw a local legend in my area, the toyota levin ae86!

So my dad was driving in Batu Gajah town and some idiot decided to side-swipe my dad's SUV and left some damage marks on the car. It was painful to see such the paint on the vehicle being damaged by a passer by idiot and not even stopped by to apologize.

A zerotohundred.com frequent visitor, Josh a.k.a. St1l has offered to help me remove the nasty side-swipe marks...