Tire Price list Zth

Mr.JY

May 3, 2011
I'm currently using 195/55/16, and due to be change. Am planning to upgrade to 205/xx/16.

Question is should I remain as 45 or 55. Suggestion? What brand should I opt for, and how much roughly?

If 195/55R16 then use 205/50R16 or 205/55R16. 45 series is too low.
205/50 is 1.52% smaller and 205/55 is 1.73% bigger
I think 205/50 will be better, unless car have additional juice for bigger tyres.
What priorities in your tyres. 205/50 should have quite a few choices.
GY F1D5, Michelin PS3, Nexen N6000, Corsa 2233, Kumho KU31, Federal 595Evo.
Prices from RM260 to 460

Mr.JY

May 3, 2011
A balance between handling and comfort. The tyre shop which I've been going for years said that the tyre which I'm running on is an odd size, and reckon that I changed it to 205. It's fine with me since I always wanted a better handling.

For 205/50, what would be the best bang for buck? Review? RM400+ region a bit off for me.

Nazman

Feb 8, 2010
East Coast
Falken ZE912 thread wear is quite high...mine use about 1year only, need to change
soon adi...but the thing I like about it is ya quite grippy and it has this marker
where they call it fish eye if not wrong. The shape of the marker will change gradually,
and each changes tells u that is time to do alignment. :top:
Bro, what size u r wearing for Falken ZE912? and how long it last in mileage for that 1year?

A balance between handling and comfort. The tyre shop which I've been going for years said that the tyre which I'm running on is an odd size, and reckon that I changed it to 205. It's fine with me since I always wanted a better handling.

For 205/50, what would be the best bang for buck? Review? RM400+ region a bit off for me.
Kumho (270) and Corsa (260) are cheap but not sure of the quality.
Best bang should be Nexen N6000 (290).
F1 D5 (390) 595Evo (400) Elsewhere maybe can find slightly cheaper, PS3 (460)

avaultz

Apr 7, 2006
Have not check the prices of these tyres as most use for tracks, as these considered extreme tyres and are very, very good in the dry, especially when warmed up. In damp condition still okay but not in the rain as posted by some.
But then depends on the drivers, because they love the dry handling so they drive like snail in the wet.
There are also some using semi slicks as daily use.....
i see.. in that case any semi slicks tyres that gd in both wet n dry conditions?

Heard the BS RE-11 is good, but better for wet and dry go for Max performance tyres, like Michelin PSS, PS3, GY Asy 2, Falken FK452, Toyo T1-Sports...etc.
But if track kaki then go extreme...

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
just checked the price for yoko a drive r1 205/45/r16. it is still rm280 from the same shop. anyone else knows if the price is right? i heard the same yoko but r15 is rm295 in seremban.

yepikaiye

Jul 13, 2010
what is the price for TOYO T1 sport 205/45/16?

is it a good performance tyre in malaysia weather?
considering it not directional pattern,must be grippy :driver:

Mr.JY

May 3, 2011
Kumho (270) and Corsa (260) are cheap but not sure of the quality.
Best bang should be Nexen N6000 (290).
F1 D5 (390) 595Evo (400) Elsewhere maybe can find slightly cheaper, PS3 (460)
I'm considering Yokahama Drive R1 now. The review seems to be quite good. The only cons they mentioned is that it's a soft tyre.

What does soft and hard tyre have in difference anyway? :hmmmm:

---------- Post added at 08:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:53 PM ----------

just checked the price for yoko a drive r1 205/45/r16. it is still rm280 from the same shop. anyone else knows if the price is right? i heard the same yoko but r15 is rm295 in seremban.
I'll check the price for you. I've been a frequent customer of this shop which only sell Yokohama. Might be able to get us some discount. But have to depends when I'm going. Soon..

I'm considering Yokahama Drive R1 now. The review seems to be quite good. The only cons they mentioned is that it's a soft tyre.

What does soft and hard tyre have in difference anyway? :hmmmm:
There is a difference between soft compound tyres and soft sidewall tyres. Many think since the sidewall is soft and get good comfy ride means soft tyres. No, is wrong.
Soft compound are the UHP tyres or Max performance tyres that grips well in both wet and dry, or even extreme semi slick tyres that are very good in the dry. The soft compound grips well but wears fast too. Soft compound tyres normally have no sipes (lines) cut into them. They will have straight line pattern or block pattern.
Soft sidewall tyres may have hard compound and most of the times have sipes (lines) cut into the pattern to soften the compound. Entry level and some mid level tyres are some of the tyres with soft sidewall but hard compound including Yoko A-Drive R1. This tyre is consider economy performance something in between.....

avaultz

Apr 7, 2006
Heard the BS RE-11 is good, but better for wet and dry go for Max performance tyres, like Michelin PSS, PS3, GY Asy 2, Falken FK452, Toyo T1-Sports...etc.
But if track kaki then go extreme...
thx for the advise. do u own a tyres shop bro? haha might drop by have some chit chat =)

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
thx for the advise. do u own a tyres shop bro? haha might drop by have some chit chat =)
I dun think he owns a shop but he's expert in tires..hehe

vr2turbo: any idea how much is GY GSD5 for 205/45/17 and 215/40/17?..Thx

Yup, I don't own a tyre shop. It was sort of a hobby, and have been gathering information through the years, so with the knowledge, I rather help others who wants my help...
Want to chit chat no problem, just arrange a tt around PJ and I will attend if timing is correct.
I have met up with Autoworld members many many times already. We even arrange tt at the tyre shop so can have rims and tyres viewing also....

---------- Post added at 08:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:33 PM ----------

I dun think he owns a shop but he's expert in tires..hehe

vr2turbo: any idea how much is GY GSD5 for 205/45/17 and 215/40/17?..Thx
So happen it was listed....

205/45R17
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM405.00 Quicksave USJ (Sep'11)
Hankook Ventus V12 Evo - RM 350 Tek Ming Sunway (Oct'11)
Michelin PS3 - RM465 Jooi Seng, Klang (Mar 11)
Toyo T1R - RM435 Teoh Brothers Bayu Perdana,Klang (May 11)

215/40R17
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM436.00 Quicksave USJ (Sep'11)

hi, bro,
im newbie here,
but just want to inform all the members,my just got smashed at bangsar last two days.They just managed to take out my apex boostmeter and the rsm in the early morning around 5 am.Beware of this guy in bangsar area they just looking for the meters on the dash.in the incident they smashed the drivers window.
Beware of this mother f**king buggers