Project Kancil Moderno with EJ1000 TD04L

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
bro. search in youtube, theres many kancil monster dragster win for open kategory. Even with Vtec turbo, Evos and skyline. Power to weight ratio.

150 hp is a small amount bro, most of the dragster has 200 above and 1 that i saw in JB has 420hp! Please don't underestimate a small car like kancil. Already proven on track.

For brakes i will using All 4 disc brakes from L5. Tyres either Falken or Yokohama. Same as absorber wi be upgrade too.
i would recommend to get a semi slick.. such as Achilles ATR-K or AD08r

FzL2sHybrid

Oct 16, 2018
Nice... Hp sounds about right which is about what your 3 injectors can support at duty cycle below 80%. With 150hp on a 650kg car, its going to be very quick. For comparison sake, the new swift sport turbo is only 140hp on 970kg with a sub 7s 0-100 timing. Will easily cucuk the 2.0L to 2.4L family sedans.

Wonder how much torque will it be pushing and how will the dyno graph look like? with the td04 housing and a 660cc engine, i am guessing turbo will hit full boost upwards of 4k? Will you be doing it on a inertia or load dyno? Interested to look at your dyno chart once done.
Yes. I agree with you. Some of my friends with a same spec but auto transmission, they win a drag between Honda b16a vtec at pasir gudang drag race and mivec 1.8 as well. Mine is manual so would be more advantage. Correction for your statement, EJ cc is 1000 not 660. most of 660T drag car use EJ block and big piston to achieve full power.

FzL2sHybrid

Oct 16, 2018
Nice... Hp sounds about right which is about what your 3 injectors can support at duty cycle below 80%. With 150hp on a 650kg car, its going to be very quick. For comparison sake, the new swift sport turbo is only 140hp on 970kg with a sub 7s 0-100 timing. Will easily cucuk the 2.0L to 2.4L family sedans.

Wonder how much torque will it be pushing and how will the dyno graph look like? with the td04 housing and a 660cc engine, i am guessing turbo will hit full boost upwards of 4k? Will you be doing it on a inertia or load dyno? Interested to look at your dyno chart once done.
It will be a load dyno. I'm targeting boost upwards 3500k. I will update the dyno chart once done.

Reactions: ^pomen_GTR^

YellowFlash

Sep 28, 2009
Jb
Yes. I agree with you. Some of my friends with a same spec but auto transmission, they win a drag between Honda b16a vtec at pasir gudang drag race and mivec 1.8 as well. Mine is manual so would be more advantage. Correction for your statement, EJ cc is 1000 not 660. most of 660T drag car use EJ block and big piston to achieve full power.
Ah.. yes I think you mentioned before, I forgot that it’s a 1000cc block then it would definitely spool the td04 better than the smaller 660 engine however td04 is probably the larger size turbo for the 1000cc to maintain drivability. Any larger turbine housing will really be just for peak power and drag and will be tough for daily driving.

It will be a load dyno. I'm targeting boost upwards 3500k. I will update the dyno chart once done.
What compression ratio is your engine running? tuning on ron 97? using any meth?

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
Nothing a little seam welding and chassis strengthening can't handle!
Hope TS did that.

I read abt a guy ripping the chassis of a Merc W124 after transplanting a 5.0 V8 into the engine bay within 1 week. At first i tot its because the chassis is old as w124 do comes with 5.0 V8 in overseas market so it can handle a V8...closer look on the engine he transplanted makes me understand why....its a modern merc V8 so its producing more twisting force..i dont recall if its an AMG V8 which makes more sense as chassis is torn within a week.

Hope TS did that.

I read abt a guy ripping the chassis of a Merc W124 after transplanting a 5.0 V8 into the engine bay within 1 week. At first i tot its because the chassis is old as w124 do comes with 5.0 V8 in overseas market so it can handle a V8...closer look on the engine he transplanted makes me understand why....its a modern merc V8 so its producing more twisting force..i dont recall if its an AMG V8 which makes more sense as chassis is torn within a week.
But remember reading some where or was it some one mentioned welding of the chassis makes it illegal?

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
Interesting.. kancil chassis so good? I heard of some cars tearing the engine mounting right off the chassis due to the upgraded power.
tear off chasis is mainly due to corroded body and hard solid mounting.. and aalot of those tear off chasis are those crazy power dragster..