Owning a Subaru101

Silverstein

Oct 27, 2009
Hi Guys,

Im quite serious on buying a rexxie. I would like to have your inputs on this.

What is the typical maintenance on this beauty? I have read, that you guys advise to check the Seatbelt if it matches the year it said to be?

Any other, known defects/issues that you guys know about?

basically, anything that can help me choose the a reasonable working rexxie.

Im asking for your humble input, as I have walked in to a 2nd hand car dealer, and err.. lets just say.. I was not even bothered to be serviced. Not even to open the door to have a look at the interior!

I dont mind the GC version as well.

jester

Jul 8, 2005
typical maintenance is obviously more than your average car given its turbo nature. even the labour cost during service and repairs tend to be more than than the evo because the boxer layout of the engine makes reaching certain parts of the engine e.g. the spark plug not a straight forward affair. and we don't need to talk about the petrol consumption here :D

parts for subarus are aplenty especially for the GD models. when inspecting a unit, check the engine for noise from the conrod bearing (subaru's archilles heel), leaking hydraulics/lubs/fluids and whinning rear diff (rare).

if you can look beyond all those, you'll enjoy every single moment the turbo reaches full boost

AsianBookie

Jul 11, 2005
j.b johor
Hi all sifus,
I have some concern.
When buying a rex, i heard from my frens is better to buy those fully stock.
Okie how can i check whether is fully stocked before no those demod one.
How the fc like? i heard is ard 350km
What the maintenace like?
I test drive 4 rexs(mon-sti) yesterday, i noticed the rpm shoot to 6k veri fast.
but first and 2nd gear like no power lei.

scooby88

Feb 24, 2009
Hi rookies...

If u interested u can contact Andy @ LMY Auto = 012 386 1990 (Sunway)... He is a friendly Subaru Specialist, Tuner and Mechanics... And he have resources to unregistered and used Subaru Cars... :driver:

He will inform u whether is a good buy or not and check for u before purchase....

Last month he recommended a good ver8 sti for sale.... My friend very happy with it....

Lately he have a Version 9 Sti RAR i think....

Good luck guys...

hye all, im just looking to share some infos on this car. huhu

anyway, this is my sister's car, and she always complains about it not having pick ups. any ideas sifus?