New Myvi 2016, any some issues?

Hi Jerry, yes I am fully aware of what Member Edi had wrote which kind of made sense with the sensors located at the front of the car. What happened to the Honda driver was unfortunate, as the sensors were located at the back of the car too, hence when another car grazed the back of the Honda, the airbag inflated killing her instantly or the mechanism. Unfortunate is not the word, since it could have been avoided if design was correct!

The difference in the above 2 stories are where the sensors are located. I love asking questions and when I asked the head mechanic he says 4 but when I ask the Sales Advisor its 2 sensor, so which is which?

I only started to learn about airbags less than a month ago, did you know that airbags were already conceptualized like more than 50 years ago but it was not specifically for automobiles at that time. It was later that it was introduced into the car industry in the US as authorities learned that Americans too DO NOT BELT UP, very similar to Malaysians. Although there are claims that advancement of airbags have broken many frontiers but case like the dead Honda woman and the recent child who broke his spinal-cord is hardly the case.

Lets assume I am driving on the highway again and suddenly an accident UNFOLDS immediately in front of me, like I have seen many times. Naturally I will drive evasively to avoid collision at the front, after realizing that hard braking is not going to help prevent me from pilling-up into the crash in front. As luck have it, although a major portion of my car manages to evade the crash but my bloody front corner where the sensor sits grazes the debris and inflates the airbag! Then what do I do with the inflated airbag? Remember I still need to carry-on driving evasively even though I have escaped the collision, which has become impossible with the airbag covering my face.

NCAP will have its day it court, you see, that I guarantee. I have written rather quite extensively to car manufacturer's regarding my problem with airbag and asked many questions about airbags it even the test parameters, were test done under this scenario & that scenario and until today the car manufacturer have continued to remain in absolute silence, as if my Registered Mail have not reached them, even my persistent
emails!

Then I was led to believe that this is airbag is the LAW, although it was clearly stated in this forum its otherwise. Even then if the government is involved either indirectly, I will drag its ass to court if anything awry should happen.

I myself do believe airbags is a GOOD IDEA provided IF the car is CORRECTLY BUILT in the first place and the airbags are designed accordingly that is BEFITTING to that car. Besides I concur that airbags can and will never replace seat belts as the primary restraint systems, no matter how technologically advanced airbags will ever be.

But ISN'T STRANGE, why are airbags continually being promoted as a "SAFETY DEVICE" which is misleading in many sales brochures. EVEN STRANGER, why is it NEVER MENTIONED that children must never be at the front passenger seat in those brochures. Ahh the search of ever higher profits, I almost forgot!

I understand how and why the child's spinal-cord can break during an accident but when I asked the question, were tests done to find out in an event of a petite woman being in front, could the force of an airbag break the petite woman neck, that too was left to one's imagination. You see, I just want to buy a car without airbags that's all and it's not my intentions to prove that what I have claimed is right in the court of law. But if I am forced to, although "nasi sudah jadi bubur", so be it and I understand I will be the only 1 standing against large corporation whom I suspect will be ever ready for an out-of-court settlement. For the record, that will never work with me, now I am wondering at what price will it make me change my mind!

I'm not here to debate. Just try to make some clarification since i see a doubt or misunderstand from your post on airbag itself.

Am not sure where you get the information from regarding on the honda city accident case. From the news, is the honda city rear-ended a Benz.

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/346701

Something I'm disagreed here as you mentioned in the sales brochures should stated the details of safety measurement. As you mentioned earlier, it's a sales brochures, it means to marketing their products and features. You can get this information from owner/car manual. Try to read on it and you will found out even the minimum front seat length against the steering wheel is stated there. Car manufacturer recommend driver do not sit too close to the steering wheel there the airbag might inflat and injure you. Besides, car manufacturer mentioned do not put any object on top of the airbag locator where the individual might get hit by the object after the airbag pop out. No offence here but sometime, we ourselves as a user must take the responsibility and initiative to understand the safety by ourselves, not from third party. Eg. there is a signboard telling us the speed limit is 110km/h in most of the highway in malaysia. If a driver does not follow the speed limit, drive on 160km/h and somehow unfortunately case happened. The car lose control due to road condition or wind condition. The driver dead on the collision and we cannot blame the highway company why they did not put more information such as "110km/h else you will die in an accident!" or blame the car manufacturer why their car can speed up to 180km/h since our highway limit is only 110km/h.

To answer the question on the car you plan to buy without airbag. I believe most of the modern car now equipped with airbag.

I notice the thread title is new myvi. I try to do a research from perodua website, a standard myvi is equipped with airbag. http://www.perodua.com.my/specification/myvi

Hi All...
Please do not always rely on how many Airbags inside the car that you will be safe when driving it..
without proper check up on the airbag also no use..
Please think of the love ones... can say even a super safe and luxury cars also can kills if you drive more that the g provide speed limits.. look back at Tesla case, dont tell me that such advance cars dont provide airbags ya.. turn back to Princess Diana case.. Merc man.. also pass away...

As mentioned, airbags are additional for your safety not a tools or reason for you to speed...

Hi All...
Please do not always rely on how many Airbags inside the car that you will be safe when driving it..
without proper check up on the airbag also no use..
Please think of the love ones... can say even a super safe and luxury cars also can kills if you drive more that the g provide speed limits.. look back at Tesla case, dont tell me that such advance cars dont provide airbags ya.. turn back to Princess Diana case.. Merc man.. also pass away...

As mentioned, airbags are additional for your safety not a tools or reason for you to speed...

Very true. Air bags also tested at lower speed only. If crash at more than 100kph will be different results

Thank you all for your comments. Jerry, I do not consider ourselves debating, but exchanging views in a mature manner in order that we continue to stay alive which I think all of us have to agree.

Thank for your for updates, I am sure I read it another way round but I didn't keep the article as I was not planning to a new car yet. But it still does not changed the fact that a person has died because of an airbag, WHEN IT WAS SUPPOSED TO KEEP PEOPLE SAFE & THAT WAS THE THEORY PART!

But when I followed closely all the accidents in Malaysia after the woman of the Honda died, I do not believe that I have even found a crash victim who survived because of the airbag, although I must add, MUCH MORE DETAILED INFORMATION is required before I can arrive at that conclusion and that was the PRACTICAL PART.

Worldwide 15 people have died to-date directly due to airbags and 4 are Malaysians i.e. is 26%, while there are another 70+ millions of airbags that needs to be changed, not counting those newer airbags that will face wear and tear in the future. What about the statistics of those accidents caused indirectly by airbags?

All the 3 of you were spot on about speed and that was the same question I posed to the auto manufacturer too, which until to-date have not been replied and I am beginning to suspect it NEVER WILL. I strongly believe at this point detailed studies are still required on airbags otherwise there wouldn't be a legal suit now in China against Tesla for marketing the self-drive cars as "safe".

Thanks Jerry for your invaluable input, you see my woman is rather petite, so the driver's seat is going to slide up all the way to the end of the seat rails, if I do intend to buy any car for her and I would be placing her safety in jeopardy, knowing my pessimism about airbags in all the scenarios raised, like what if she misjudged while coming OUT from a side-parking, then what? If the airbag doesn't kill her, then I presume it is going to seriously injure my wife cause it is definitely going to create an even bigger accident!

Call me cocky or stupid for removing those silly airbags, but always want to I know my odds while driving and I ALWAYS PLAN TO INCREASE THEM ODDS, not lower them! I damn kiasu and damn kiasi! :burnout:

My final question to all, my wife continues on insisting on a new Myvi or any other cars (now) like a Jazz, if I remove the all the airbags at the Authorized Service Center, will the car be able to operate and move & drive like an ordinary car?

---------- Post added at 01:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:26 PM ----------

I think its going to be fun exercise, for us all to exchange views on the future of automobiles. This is only the airbag issue now, but what about mirrorless-cars, that is being tested in Japan or the case of the safe self-driving cars that are being promoted without much governments intervention in the US or China. Surely legal suits will start flying soon, that is the worse case scenario. Imagine the future of cars without steering wheels or brake pad, I can see even ZTH have to change its sporty picture at the Top Bar. :driver: Now, where did I keep those articles. :hmmmm:

Ism1991, the devil is always in the details! Too bad my school never taught me that, had to learn the hard way! :banghead:

My final question to all, my wife continues on insisting on a new Myvi or any other cars (now) like a Jazz, if I remove the all the airbags at the Authorized Service Center, will the car be able to operate and move & drive like an ordinary car?

Can drive, I remember reading somewhere this guy complaining that Honda do not have enough air bags to replace his faulty ones and was afraid of driving his car in case the air bags deployed in an accident. Some one recommend he took out the fuse so that the air bag will not work....:driver:

Another was air bag light came on on his dash, meaning air bag faulty buy car still drive-able.....lol

Thank vr2turbo, I was thinking along that line too but removing the fuse will not solve the problem actually. The more I find out I am beginning to suspect the airbag will deploy by itself when "conditions are right" especially those ammonium nitrate based airbags based on the findings that I am reading and that is why Honda is massively recalling cars using that mechanism in an "organized and properly manner." The last thing they want is disorder and loss of GOODWILL! While other car manufacturers are still dragging their feet on these, perhaps waiting to see what will happen to Honda first, before deciding their next course of action or perhaps looking for new shareholders already?

Jerry, you did mention about not placing anything on top where the airbag is located, because these things will act as shrapnel or shard and it will KILL because of the immense force generated by airbags. What do you think about glasses as in spectacles, that many people are wearing not out of style but out of need? Surely then, this too could cause EXTREME DAMAGES EVEN DEATH, if the spectacles manages to pierce into the cerebral matter i.e. brains! What do all of you guys think about this?

Thank you ixeo and mag9556 for replying.

Ixeo words may be short but it has very very deep meanings. :adore: Actually I find difficulty in trying to actually grasp its hidden message accurately.

Mag9556, no I am not mad at Myvi at all! :rofl:

Funny thing is this, I have been asking many car manufacturers (ixeo, this has now gone beyond Myvi) and every lead seems to lead me to it's an regulation or directive or something to with Jalan Pengangkutan Jalan (JPJ).

So like any dumb fellow, I went to JPJ hoping to dig up anything I can find. Absolutely nothing! So feeling rather depressed and was driving around until I was happy to drive up to a road block! I couldn't have felt any happier seeing a road block for the 1st time in my life.

Parked the car and walk straight up to the big gun with so many stars on his shoulders that it almost blinded me in the sun and this is what he had to say to me about airbags when I asked him about it, "Do you really think airbags can save lives?"

Now that he is really talking, I moved it up a notch trying to find is there such a law or regulation from JPJ that all car manufacturers have to install airbags into their cars? I couldn't believe what I heard when he said, "It is not a KEWAJIPAN for them to do so!"

Then I said, "Datuk, then why is everyone claiming that it is a regulation or directive or law or something that has to do with JPJ?" Datuk said, "Somebody is not telling you the truth!" I ended with "Thank you so much, Datuk I really needed to hear that!"

I know all these are just verbally expressed between a high ranking government official and myself and it means nothing at the moment. So the chase begins again ...

~ The above happened today afternoon! ~

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Some excerpts of my communication with a Sales Advisor

Stupido Me: Please tell me exactly how does your airbag work and its mechanism inside?
Sales Advisor: Our airbags not like Honda supplier, so don't have to worry.

Stupido Me: So who is your manufacturer for your airbags?
Sales Advisor: Our airbags is not from Takata, so don't have to worry.

Stupido Me: Please let me know how exactly does your airbags work?
Sales Advisor: You don't have to worry, our airbags supplier is not like Honda's supplier!

Now I am thinking to myself after 3 different questions but given 3 identical replies, either I am dealing with a robot or a deaf person. Here you are trying sell me a over 100 grand car and this is the best you can come up with.

Maybe I thought I have communication issues or my command of English is so bad that others cannot possibly understand what the hell was I saying. So I decided to use the internet instead. This is even more interesting.

After sending my concerns about airbag to a car manufacturer, I really never expected a reply. It DID COME, not bad I thought but the answer given was a dud.

Here is what is surprising, I tried to write to them again a 2ND TIME and this time the SEND function button WOULDN'T WORK! It's as if, my ISP address had been marked and nothing could be sent anymore. I tried a couple of times later and that too didn't work.

Feeling rather shitty, after a couple of days have passed. I decided to give them a call DIRECTLY instead to see what the hell is happening. You will never believe this.

The conversation started very politely and friendly what a great customer service gal I got or so I thought, but as soon as I brought the issue about airbags and the entire scenario changed! Then the gal enquired about my ID number and the moment she verified it, she was such in a hurry to end the conversation! I wondered why and will always keep wondering why!

I know some of you maybe wondering WTF wrong with this idiot about airbags. Then may I suggest to whom who may have thought likewise, trying doing the same thing that I did and try figuring out why are you being treated that way.

"Air tenang jangan sangka tiada buaya" or maybe it should be "Ada udang di sebalik batu!", ohh my BM, if only my teacher was cun like Erra Fazira, surely I would have paid more attention in class! :banghead:

To the repectable ZTH Moderators, if you could change the title of the thread to SRS Airbags, I would be ever grateful. I tried to look for a way but cannot seem to find it. I think its appropriate since like what ixeo wrote what has it to do with Myvi 2016. Thank you so much once again and I apologize for the inconveniences caused.

Here is an article by Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim, Secretary-General of Asean NCAP, which I promised earlier and took awhile to find. Sure will come handy someday.

REDEFINING CONSUMER ROLES IN BUYING SAFER CARS

Global passenger car production in 2014 recorded 67.5 million units and 33% of these vehicles would fail United Nation (UN) crash test standards. Global New Car Assessment Programme (Global NCAP) has released the first results of the Safer Cards for India project in Janary 2014, where all but one of the five models FAILED the regulation test and scored zero star for NCAP evaluation.

Contrary in Malaysia, car safety level has been elevated through regulations and consumer based approach i.e. NCAP. The New Car Assessment Programme for Southeast Asean countries or Asean NCAP, is an automobile safety rating programme jointly established by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) and Global NCAP upon a collaborative MoU signed by both parties during the FIA Annual General Assembly in New Delhi, India on Dec 7, 2011. The focus of the programme is to encourage consumer demands for safer cars; for more positive outcomes to prevail road casualties in the Asean region.

To date, Asean NCAP has published more than 70 ratings and will be increasing to 100 ratings by year end. There is no doubt that Asean NCAP has become a major stimulant for passenger car safety in the region. Nevertheless, a successful intervention depends on changes towards better perspective, hence accurate implementation strategy is vital to encourage more consumers to buy safer cars.

Car manufacturers, in parallel has been working closely with the government and related organizations to offer safer cars than before. Currently, new cars introduced by major manufacturers will not be adequate without 5-star Asean NCAP rating. Some do not declare the 4-star rating their cars get as it might be ridiculed by their competitors. As such, manufacturers are voluntarily offering more safety equipment i.e. blind spot indicator, autonomous emergency braking (AEB) although it is not a requirement to obtain 5-star rating. In a nutshell, this happens because car manufacturers believe that safety can sell.

Looking through local manufacturers perspective, Proton & Perodua have produced mixed results of 5 & 4 stars. Proton Iriz is the most affordable 5-star car in Malaysia, while the most affordable car, the Perodua Axia, is 4-star. Hence, it should be noted that Asean NCAP objective has been right on track so far.

As we all know consumers play a major role in the survival and growth of a business. Consumers have many choices of cars but they must be encouraged to buy safer cars. There are many factors contributing to consumers puchasing decisions of specific cars. Among those are price, brand, safety aspects, fuel economy, maintenance, reliability and even research has been done that shows consumer needs for safer cars is promising in Malaysia.

A decade ago, even to own a car with driver airbag will sound expensive. Most manufacturers do not market safety as one of their unique selling points. According to a study, the market did not promote vehicle safety design changes primarily because the manufacturer's did not believe such changes to be profitable for them, and because the general public has not shown sufficient interest in safety features to make it profitable for manufacturers to attempt to satisfy the demands. But, those days have passed and we believe it will never happen in our country again.

Therefore, to ensure the sustainability of safer cars in the country, the consumer roles need to be enhanced. More consumer demands on safer cars will result in more affordable safe cars in the future.

Nevertheless, it is pertinent for consumers to understand the level of safety for the car they intend to buy. The safety information must be made available and consumers need to be properly informed to make their choice within their available budget, while also encouraging car manufacturers to produce safer cars to increase sales. Safe cars are not an option, it should be compulsory.