1982 Datsun 120y engine select

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
Thanks bro.. after yesterday going through those engines.. there are a few come in mind.. 4AGE, CA18DET and F20C but F20C halfcut is RM13k.. wtf... :thefinger:

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Yes, F20C will cost that much because I've read somewhere which claim that engine produce highest HP for 4 cylinder engine in 2000 cc class. Even K20AR cost higher than RM13K.

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
Yes, F20C will cost that much because I've read somewhere which claim that engine produce highest HP for 4 cylinder engine in 2000 cc class. Even K20AR cost higher than RM13K.
Yup.. but K20A i dunno whether can fix for RWD setup or not.. i think it's time for me to enjoy some RAW NA power for this ride.. hehe..

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
Yup.. but K20A i dunno whether can fix for RWD setup or not.. i think it's time for me to enjoy some RAW NA power for this ride.. hehe..
There are a few in the world, none in Malaysia as far as I know :rolleyes:.

---------- Post added at 02:03 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:00 AM ----------

But SR20DET can endorse ke?

Ic, the car's floor pan still ok did not rust badly.. so no need to change floor pan.. wonder if honda S2000's engine F20C can fit in or not?

Hmm good suggestion.. as i was discussing with my mechanic, the 4A-GE was also quite a good option as i told him that i might not want this car to be another turbocharged car as maintaining 2 turbocharged car would be a hassle.. so he asked me to go NA.. like i mentioned, not sure whether F20C can fit too or not? But seems like CA18DET halfcut price also quite affordable..lol.. gabra already..
F20c you'd probably have to cut the firewall, its a very hard to fit engine thats why you dont see it commonly swapped over...

I'd get the supercharged 4AGZE for the torque, plus everyone wants NA 4AGE's the price also quite expensive nowadays haha :biggrin:.

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
There are a few in the world, none in Malaysia as far as I know :rolleyes:.

---------- Post added at 02:03 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:00 AM ----------

F20c you'd probably have to cut the firewall, its a very hard to fit engine thats why you dont see it commonly swapped over...

I'd get the supercharged 4AGZE for the torque, plus everyone wants NA 4AGE's the price also quite expensive nowadays haha :biggrin:.
Yalor, many looking for 4AGE nowadays pushing the price higher than 4AGZE.. just worry later supercharge another headache maintenance as i've already have one 4G63T to maintain.. hmm shall see bout that then..:smokin:

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
Yalor, many looking for 4AGE nowadays pushing the price higher than 4AGZE.. just worry later supercharge another headache maintenance as i've already have one 4G63T to maintain.. hmm shall see bout that then..:smokin:
Hmm but if you dont kacau kacau the 4AGZE shouldnt be too bad right? Im guessing your 4G63T is far from standard heheh :biggrin: .

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
Hmm but if you dont kacau kacau the 4AGZE shouldnt be too bad right? Im guessing your 4G63T is far from standard heheh :biggrin: .
hmm hope so.. my 4G63T still vy virgin ler... but thinking to add some power in it.. but cannot too high hp because it's auto trans.. and i want it to be auto.. haha..

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
hmm hope so.. my 4G63T still vy virgin ler... but thinking to add some power in it.. but cannot too high hp because it's auto trans.. and i want it to be auto.. haha..
Oh okay, RVR engine right bro?

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004

hamtaro00

Sep 26, 2011
yo, hows the 120y build so far? myself just revived the old sun. thinking of ori engine rebuild with some head works on it, but not sure if the result is justifiable. meanwhile scouting for ca18det and discussing whether starlet turbo able to mod into it.

Nats autoparts

Oct 18, 2007
understand the car before transplanting any engine
and ask yourself what you want?
street daily or abuse?
track or drag?
n/a or force induction?

I got all my lights changed to white LED. Even my low beam is white LED. But the high beam unfortunately is 90/120W Hella yellow.... I want white lights.... I am very much aware that HID of any candlelight watt is illegal. So moving on to Halogen bulbs. But what about white "halogen" bulbs? Raybrig? PIAA? Philips? Are they legal from JPJ? I asked THREE shops already... All answered the same thing.. Either not sure or JPJ will tahan but they check if HID or not and will let go if halogen...