DC2R speedometer stops working!

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
Hello Honda sifus,

My car's speedometer suddenly stops working while I was on my way to work today. By that, I mean the needle is stuck at 0 km/h. Strangely, all the other meters (odometer, trip meter, fuel gauge) works perfectly fine.

I'm planning to inspect the VSS on top of the gbox later today. Anything else should I look for? Any advice?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

spoon civic

Jul 12, 2012
terengganu
Hello Honda sifus,

My car's speedometer suddenly stops working while I was on my way to work today. By that, I mean the needle is stuck at 0 km/h. Strangely, all the other meters (odometer, trip meter, fuel gauge) works perfectly fine.

I'm planning to inspect the VSS on top of the gbox later today. Anything else should I look for? Any advice?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
i think your speed sensor already damage or kong....also check the sensor socket..if the socket ok..so the sensor was the cause..need to change the speed sensor,already face this problem once..changing the sensor...all ok then..:)

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
Thanks for the reply!

How much did it cause to change the sensor? Where did you get it done?

Also, did your CEL light came on when your speedo died?

mADmAN

could u open VTEC? usually if VSS kaput... u no have VTEC.

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
I haven't tried that yet. I'll give it a go after work. Anyway, if VSS is kaput, would the odometer still work?

mADmAN

ive heard of cases where VSS kaput and odometer still working... and ive also heard cases like urs... so not really sure

EGfan

Dec 18, 2003
Not sure if the DC2R VSS is similar to b16, but i bought the vss for sv4 and worked fine. Should cost around RM150-180.

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
Update:

Well, my Vtec definitely works. On my drive after work, the meter suddenly worked again. However, this morning it's back at 0km/h. After a few kilometers of driving, it's alive again...So, I'm guessing a cable or wire loose somewhere..or even the fuse..maybe..

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Has this been solved?

I had the same problem previously. First, the speed sensor was faulty. Had it changed. It was working fine. Not long after that, it was jumping. Like it will show 180km/h when u r probably driving at 70km/h. This time the socket was loose. So, had it changed again. Till now, no more problem.

I would suggest you to check the socket first. Make sure it's not loose. If problem still persists, then I guess it's about time to change the speed sensor.

spoon civic

Jul 12, 2012
terengganu
Thanks for the reply!

How much did it cause to change the sensor? Where did you get it done?

Also, did your CEL light came on when your speedo died?

new sensor around 150-180,spare parts have that item,any worshop can done that...no,CEL not came on....just my rpm cut at 4000 rpm as my car have launch control...huhu...change the socket or sensor..then your problems will solve bro............

Dear Friends,

We all love our cars & like to improve our rides (if u're not, u won't come to ZTH, right?) :biggrin:

I would like to know how do u measure improvement of torque & hp without putting ur car to a dyno machine..?

Especially after u bolt on some simple performance part..

Let me share how i do it 1st.. i'm not a pro.. so, my method is not exactly correct..

IDLE SPEED
the 1st thing i would do is take note what rpm my engine idle before and after i bolt on the...