Any fuelsaver device recomended for D15b Sohc vtech?

ahbong81

Jun 2, 2006
Hi to all honda drivers,

My current D15B sohc has quite a high fc. Rm10 can reach about 45km only. Is there any recomended fuel device that can save some fc that you guys have used before? pls recomend and advice to me. Thanks

"I'm not a racer.. but sometime i overtake cars..."

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Don't drive.. save fuel..

Seriously.. those fuel saver don't really work..

Try installing one and then rev the shit out of your engine.. sure will see INCREASE of FUEL consumption than decrease.

If you want to save fuel.. drive below 3K rpm, and don't press more than 10% of the throttle... the car will have lousy pickup, but you'd definitely save fuel.

nksc

Mar 21, 2006
yea..wanna save fc must change ur driving style la..dun press pedal hard..heheh

semutapi

Feb 19, 2005
Yeah agree,
Fuel saver device are suck......
try tunning your car first for optimum air fuel mix.

Mar 17, 2006
wa...how come ur FC is so damn high? Im usin a D15B as well and 4me RM10 gives me about 70 - 80 km. :regular_smile:

awannz80

Sep 25, 2006
i'm using d15b before, rm60 can go 480 - 500 km, very good in term of fc

amdfaisal

Sep 6, 2004
Bawah jembatan
your D15B in EG8 rite... injection or twin carb? my fren is using a twin carb D15B.. FC is quite bad... even my 2.0 car has better FC. maybe with age... the carbs need some adjustment and all this while the engine is running rich.

if you ahve the budget... you can contact avantech and get a D15B from EK3.. definitely a better engine with the famous 3-stage VTEC... avant hattech... that engine still available or not?

anyway i have website made by an automotive engineer. this website talks a lot about fuel savers... or craps...

http://www.fuelsaving.info/

- J f D -

Jul 10, 2004
shiroitenshi said:
Don't drive.. save fuel..

Seriously.. those fuel saver don't really work..

Try installing one and then rev the shit out of your engine.. sure will see INCREASE of FUEL consumption than decrease.

If you want to save fuel.. drive below 3K rpm, and don't press more than 10% of the throttle... the car will have lousy pickup, but you'd definitely save fuel.
Yeah im with Shiroi. Those are just gimmicks intended to take advantage of the plight we are in because of the high fuel price. To the threadstarter, watch "myth busters" on discovery channel and they guys on the show did several tests on these gimmicks and none of them work at all.

Best is to control your foot, i currently practice the drive below 3krpm and so far its good.

ahbong81

Jun 2, 2006
mine is fuel injection. for your info.. i don't press pedal hard. normally drive alone. is it because kl has more highway, then you can have better mileage? probably kuching here has too many traffic lights. my D15B is in stock condition. now thinking of geting a 1.6cc Soch. no money for a Dohc right now.... what do u guys think?

NeoG

May 30, 2006
Wau! RM 60 can go 480km and RM10 can go 70km????? mine EG 1.6 soch (Auto) injection just can only get 400km for RM75 petrol, how you guys can drive until so save fuel??? i driving in KL-PJ for work and my style of driving is normally below 3000 rpm......is anythink problem with my car?? please advice Sifu.

awannz80

Sep 25, 2006
i'm just a newbie, my d15b is good in fc, but it rosak already, as what shiro said above, dont rev ur rpm above 3k, it save alot, now i'm using b16a stock, rm60 can barely go 400km, but its ok me cos its vtec

J101

Jul 15, 2005
malaysia
buy a el-cheapo vtec controller. put the vtec engagement to 9000. never engage vtec on a d15b engine. settled, now it becomes Si. high cams= more fuel. put another center box and make that 2 boxes on your cat-back system. restrict emission. buy a chip, custom the rev cut to 6000. ha ha ha ha...

skidall

May 9, 2005
Ampang and UK
err...rm10 can go only 40km is very bad. Maybe u need to check ur tuning. coz, even with a b18, i can get 50-60 for rm10.

drewn123

Dec 13, 2005
i'm using stock EK D16Y SOHC VTEC (AUTO) , 17' rims wit original exhaust system. Walao, FC is around RM0.22 per KM..... shit, my mum's SENTRA goes for RM0.19 per KM...

wit tat kind of FC, i'm gonna downgrade me rims, get myself a DOHC VTEC and let it scream kau kau....... at least got kick unlike SOHC..... damn keksim wit performance....

but where to get moolah 4 d conv???

any one got do this before for B11(sunny 130y = sentra 83-86)....

any other model fit?
minor/major modification?
cost??? :lol: