dohc VTEC.. DIY spray!

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
good job...!!

btw.. i think paint remover is not acidic... if it is acidic.. it will react with ur cam cover... not only the paint drop off... it will corrode the metal as well....

SimonsayZ

Dec 27, 2004
Puchong
Wait...I thought cam cover is made of aluminium? :retarded: Correct me if Im wrong...

killgerms

Dec 7, 2004
guys, how to remove cam cover aaa? what things is needed? can u guys teach me on how to remove and install it back?

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
mr bear can tell me anot ? weather the spray can withstand the heat ..... tell the effect thinking of doing it on mine ......

mrbear

Nov 16, 2005
killgerms said:
guys, how to remove cam cover aaa? what things is needed? can u guys teach me on how to remove and install it back?

* as my H22A head. nuts. im using T-Wrench .. SIZE 10.

* gasket gum. (looks like toothpaste)

mrbear

Nov 16, 2005
edwin_lcw said:
mr bear can tell me anot ? weather the spray can withstand the heat ..... tell the effect thinking of doing it on mine ......
* hmm to tell the honest i dont really know. because its actually depends on how you spray it.

* b4 spray also im looking for HEAT Resistant SPray. but unable to get other colors except for Black & Silver. only 2 are available. no other colors.

* as i know. because of heat,the spray color will "chip off". but actually it depends on ur spray,on how thick or spray is. n most important thing is technique.

* make sure ur cover is "free from dust,moisture,water,oil," etc etc.

hope if helps. anyone wanna add some infos/ideas?

killgerms

Dec 7, 2004
mrbear said:
* as my H22A head. nuts. im using T-Wrench .. SIZE 10.

* gasket gum. (looks like toothpaste)

mrbear, are using back ur old cam cover gasket? or just applied gum gasket only? me dont know lah, never open the cam cover...

mrbear

Nov 16, 2005
killgerms said:
mrbear, are using back ur old cam cover gasket? or just applied gum gasket only? me dont know lah, never open the cam cover...

* im using original stock. rubber gasket. for my cam cover. the original ones is the best. .. after opening it. u need to clean the rubber (gasket). then after spraying,bla bla bla n everything. till the time u wanna fix the cover. u need to applied the gasket gum. to avoid any leakage. clean ur head./metal. n etc2.

szekeiemme

Feb 14, 2004
bro.. for de VTEC word rite.. u shud try use autosol to polish it!!! definately guarentteee u will smile!!

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
mrbear said:
* as i know. because of heat,the spray color will "chip off". but actually it depends on ur spray,on how thick or spray is. n most important thing is technique.
bro....mean the color canot spray too thick izzit? u use one can or two can of spray?

FoarGeez

Jun 20, 2005
Koala Loompour
nice work la abg... thought i wanna diy my 4G93 head too.. but dont dare to take it off.. nanti tak ble pasang balik habis... n need to cover the engine from anything anot or juz leave it open like dat while we diy..

n really curious bout the heat resistant la.. wanna find a blue metallic, not those 2k type ones, but abit matt.. semi gloss.. never manage to found any yet.. mostly are matt black n silver..

n hope u post the updates for the paint job after constant driving n heat endurance.. thx brother bear..

SimonsayZ

Dec 27, 2004
Puchong
Mine also DIY like Mr.Bear, after sometime the paint does chip off. It's like getting spots on the paint. I did apply heat resistant paint(silver) before spraying the red.