Custom Intake Manifold for SN CPS?!

FISHL

Nov 12, 2011
Hi there,

Early this year .... i done all the basic plug and play item in my CPS.
Haven done anything internal yet...

Thought will stop the mod ever since, but recently the feeling kick back and craving for more torque and power...So i went to WORKS looking for billet camshaft but the stock will only arrive early next month... For now im thinking to change the aluminum intake manifold thn the camshaft.

Wonder anyone using aluminum custom intake? :confused:
Feedback for the thing?

neohadri

Jul 5, 2008
once u use custom made manifold, ur VIM system will gone also

FISHL

Nov 12, 2011
Yupe it will gone ...just got the info from the specialist said that ... the aluminum intake manifold will totally lower down ur performance so better not to touch the intake system! VIM is one hell valuable item u can find in CPS! Next mod ? still thinking

nyantong

Jul 26, 2008
I heard someone installed Works cam by a reputable shop but did not gain a single HP. So I'm skeptical about Works cams at the moment. But do let me know how yours goes. As for the manifold, of course low end gonna lose power. But the whole point of modifying it in the first place is to increase your engine's power, right? Its always a give and take situation when it comes to small engines. Just have to adjust your driving style to suit the engine's new powerband is all.

FISHL

Nov 12, 2011
works cam?is it good?
Im not sure whether is good or bad, just knw the specification which stated on the paper.
I dont like regrind cam so i think works is the only best option i got today.

---------- Post added at 02:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:50 PM ----------

:listen: turbocharged it..
Nope, i wont turbo my car. Cause i always go back penang, i scare someday some one will toll my car due to engine failure. N/A suit me the most!

AvanT

Custom fabricator & CNC machining
Mar 20, 2009
Im not sure whether is good or bad, just knw the specification which stated on the paper.

---------- Post added at 02:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:50 PM ----------

Nope, i wont turbo my car. Cause i always go back penang, i scare someday some one will toll my car due to engine failure. N/A suit me the most!
I hate to "pour cold water" over your plans.
But the Proton campro engine, whether CPS or not, is not a natural performer in terms of horsepower & torque. Dun waste your time and $$$ hoping to gain HP and TQ, U'll be lucky if the figures doesn't fall after doing all that mods.
A friend of mine did pretty much all he can, even change to standalone ECU, with stock internals, in the end still lose out to a standard Neo on the highway :banghead: sold his car after that...heheee

crazykatak

Mar 1, 2006
Subang Jaya
I hate to "pour cold water" over your plans.
But the Proton campro engine, whether CPS or not, is not a natural performer in terms of horsepower & torque. Dun waste your time and $$$ hoping to gain HP and TQ, U'll be lucky if the figures doesn't fall after doing all that mods.
A friend of mine did pretty much all he can, even change to standalone ECU, with stock internals, in the end still lose out to a standard Neo on the highway :banghead: sold his car after that...heheee
i believe that the hardware and software must complement each other..and not only one way..

AvanT

Mar 20, 2009
i believe that the hardware and software must complement each other..and not only one way..
Sadly, my friend did most of the external "hardware" or "bolt-on" most Neo owners commonly do; 4-2-1 exhaust, custom aluminum intake manifold, open pod air filter, adjustable cam-pulley. Still not satisfied, that's when he went for standalone ECU to fine tune. But in the end, gave up coz spend so much $$$ & time, but HP and TQ gain bits.

So, dun bother modding a Campro, the stock engine is good & reliable enough :)

---------- Post added at 05:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:15 PM ----------

Ehh...what other performance "hardware" is available for this engine?...hehee

---------- Post added at 10:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:15 PM ----------

Dun have to re-invent the wheel. Proton has the Campro CFE low pressure turbo mill up & running, U can use that as a reference & mod your current Campro N/A from there.

crazykatak

Mar 1, 2006
Subang Jaya
what about piston rings, crankshaft oil running clearance, reducing heat, timing of camshaft, cylinder head porting design, intake manifold design, fueling...etc..

dun expect the best out from items off the shelf IF the application is not right. yes, no doubt the stuff on the shelf could make ur life easier.
sometimes, a little bit of ingenuity pays alot bros :)

AvanT

Mar 20, 2009
what about piston rings, crankshaft oil running clearance, reducing heat, timing of camshaft, cylinder head porting design, intake manifold design, fueling...etc..

dun expect the best out from items off the shelf IF the application is not right. yes, no doubt the stuff on the shelf could make ur life easier.
sometimes, a little bit of ingenuity pays alot bros :)
True in some ways, BUT not the case for this Campro engine. How much $$$ U estimate all the above U suggested will cost? Roughly how much HP & TQ gain is possible from what U mentioned? For the amount of money & time invest in it, the return is just not worth it, just a friendly advise ok :)

FISHL

Nov 12, 2011
Sorry work is not available for Neo CPs
Thor-my there is works cam laa....
:banghead::banghead::banghead:

---------- Post added at 12:11 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:04 AM ----------

True in some ways, BUT not the case for this Campro engine. How much $$$ U estimate all the above U suggested will cost? Roughly how much HP & TQ gain is possible from what U mentioned? For the amount of money & time invest in it, the return is just not worth it, just a friendly advise ok :)
Why dun you think in this way... Im modding my car not because wanted it to turn out like GTR monster or some mitsu car running around the highway .... But which is the passion you put in the car... see how far the car can go how thing can turn out!

Im not trying to mod a CAMPRO CPS into some nismo performance and also it wont be happen for real man ....
Is just that we're young or i should say this is the chemical reaction when man+engine?

I believe theres always potential in every engine itself.... And your friend might dun have the gut to throttle the whole thing ?Since it lost to a stock car?

Cheer~

ecal echal

Nov 25, 2011
hi there.
quick q...when regrind can beat billet cams and proven, which should be chosen?
when billet proven to make ur car suffer more,should we even choose that billet cams to begin with? :)
l do agree when some say this campro has potential for NA performance and also i agree when some other say this campro is a weak engine,bla bla bla...
but why dont we get over the differences and give TS some beneficial advice in modding his Campro to his satisfaction?
laju ka tak laju ka in the end of the day, he's the one driving his car...
i bet all of sifus and bros here have a lot of useful exp. and knwledge we can learn from...thanks :)

AhLun

May 8, 2005

My CPS is stock. But this year my car sitted 4 times on the toll car. Sensor spoild 4 times, coil 1 time.. No need mod already can sit on the toll car

SubaruFTW

Nov 27, 2012
Miri
My CPS is stock. But this year my car sitted 4 times on the toll car. Sensor spoild 4 times, coil 1 time.. No need mod already can sit on the toll car
I never had that problem before. how it happen till 4 time? that is a lot. if 1 time is ok.

hey guys, im new here. i need some help for my wira's lip. actually im just 17 this year. i would like to ask all of u abt ur opinion. what kind of rear,side and front lip shud i buy to make my wira looks cool and nice. and by the way, what's the cheapest price for those lips?

thx ur for ur help..