BMWEngine UpgradesNewsTurbo

BMW Switching To Turbocharged “M” Cars

bmw-engine

After two decades of normally-aspirated high-revving engines shoehorned under the hoods of its M cars, BMW is changing direction and will begin to offer direct-injection turbocharged powerplants in its future high-performance flagships. The German automaker is blaming tough environmental emission standards and the soaring manufacturing costs of the specialty-built V8 and V10 engines found in today’s M3, M5, and M6 models for its decision. We also suspect the fact that both Audi and Mercedes-Benz have successfully offered torque-laden forced-induction powerplants for years on their performance models may have something to do with it (also keep in mind that an aftermarket-tuned version of BMW’s own twin-turbo 3.0-liter inline-6 can easily match the power output of the M3’s normally-aspirated 4.0-liter V8). The first new M model to carry the turbocharged honor will be the X6 xDrive M, with a twin-turbo 4.4-liter V8 reportedly making 500 hp and 516 lb-ft of torque. That same engine is reportedly going into the next F10-chassis M5 due in late 2010.

Source: AutoBlog

H
  • H
    hondavtec
  • Nov 28, 2008
Sigh, was hoping this wouldn't happen.

Another legend and specialist in the NA engine world, changing over to forced-induced engines. sighhhhhhhh.
C
  • C
    Crazy Biscut
  • Nov 28, 2008
Well its not gonna be those dumb turbos of old(yes a 1.8 GSR turbo is old now, get over it...) probably like that Nissan GTR Turbo with less lag.
H
  • H
    hondavtec
  • Nov 28, 2008
Yeala bro, but anyone can do turbo. Look at nissan GTR, did a turbo which can beat a Porsche. But NA engines are much different. Come on, who wouldn't love the sounds of V8's or V10's. They sound so awesome and orgasmic especially during high-revs. And who can ever forget the sexy rumble a V10 engine make under low-revs? Each time i hear a turbo engine, i was just like, oh its a turbo, an L4 or L6, nothing much spectacular. But when my neighbour's M5 passes me, its totally different, I would think in my head, a V10 at work, damn.

Cars are just like chicks man, would you guys like a natural beauty (NA), looks awesome without much make up or you guys prefer a girl with heavy thick make-up or even plastic surgery (force-induced)?
N
  • N
    nksc
  • Nov 29, 2008
yeah i agree with hondavtec.

In my opinion,bmw changes track into turbo bcoz they reached their limit on NA..5 liter v10 with 510 hp..if they continue with NA they need to build much more bigger cc,maybe 6.5 or 7.0 liter to get more hp and torque..with turbo they can build smaller cc with one,two or even four turbos..
Sometimes i do think if all supercar reach 1000 hp..would they go one until 1500 or 2000 hp??

i hope honda will continue make their supercars or performance cars only from NA..peace!
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Nov 29, 2008
and i agree with nksc. it does make sense and good explaination.
E
  • E
    ephique
  • Nov 29, 2008
Noo~! Just let the BMW Performance do the turbo stuff~!!
Why don't they inject some of the Formula One stuff on the cars? Should be bloody fun! Imagine the noise....
C
  • C
    Crazy Biscut
  • Nov 29, 2008
Yeah even i miss the M5 v10(next probably V8 turbo) but wat u gonna do? with the worsening economy and BMW shifting all its efforts to X6 and shit. But like i said this aint no old turbo, they have no blow off sounds.
Y
  • Y
    yoyo
  • Nov 29, 2008
wah Crazy Biscut,

what makes you say that old turbos have blow off sound and new ones dont? Do you even know what a blow off is? Please do some research before you say such thing
C
  • C
    Crazy Biscut
  • Nov 29, 2008
Ok i maybe shooting wind but my point is that New Turbos arent like turbos of the A31s and the GSRs , there more reliable then the old turbos Like the Porche Variable Vane Turbos or the Nissan GTR Twin Turbo with less lag and the Twin Scroll turbo that i think is in the Evo X. Wat im saying that people shouldnt fret with BMW M division put Turbos on it.It probably just run Smooth as an NA...

P/s: oh and i dont know how a blow off works,Help MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEe
H
  • H
    hondavtec
  • Nov 30, 2008
Bro ephique, F1 is NA la. how you gona do F1 sounds with turbo???

The bloody F1 sounds is because of their high revving engines (18-19k rpm) and im sure their engine can go more then 18k easily la, but spoil their engine la. i think they limit their revs to 18k is because they wana take care of the engine and not blow it so quickly.
H
  • H
    hangerboy
  • Nov 30, 2008
yep agreed with hondavtec....neway..high revving na engines are like xxx..lol

cannot thn lor the sound.. =P
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Nov 30, 2008
It doesn't matter if the engine is turbo or n/a. Just look at how the new golf is using the 1.4L TFSI super & turbo charge. Look at the power, look at the torque. That is what forced induction can do. With N/A you have to be very imaginative with mechanicals like VTEC, VVT, VANOS, blah blah. to make higher power per litre.

The future is not all about engine sounds anymore. Its all about fuel economy, power and design. In fact you can see many tuner exhaust pipes are much more silent now. Next time even more stricter regulation for vehicle noise. (Not much can be done about Mat Rempits though). And probably the only time to hear engine sounds is on track not on streets anymore.

Anyway i do like it the idea on how i could sneak up silently on a loud car only to blow them away later... silently.... no drama. hehehe.
L
  • L
    lapsap25
  • Dec 1, 2008
Great..finally this moment has come~
E
  • E
    ephique
  • Dec 1, 2008
sorry to cunfuse u bro honda vtec. I mean instead of putting in a turbo, they should apply all of their F1 knowledge on the engine. That should still make the engine powerful without the turbos. High revs makes me go crazy!!! XD

p/s: F1 cars did have turbo's back then, but little Bernie said it was too powerful. So it had a short lifespan.
bmw must meet european and american requirements of clean emissions and low fuel consumption. it is the law.
S