AudiNews

Audi Gets Greenlight For Traffic Light Detection System

audi-travolutionAudi’s traffic-light (or stoplight if you’re so inclined) detection system, called Travolution could just end up being a revolution, somewhere along the line of air-bags and seat belts. But where those systems saved lives, the Travolution would save time and environment.

What it does is it establishes a connection between a red light and a vehicle, so that as a specially equipped car moves toward a red light at a intersection, the red light fitted with the communication modules lets the car know when the light will turn green. As soon as that information is processed, the information then travels to the instrument panel to let the driver know what speed he should maintain in order to pass through the intersection without having to brake for the light and then accelerate again.

The systems strongest point is in streamlining traffic flow, increasing fuel mileage and reducing emissions. At Audi HQ, an additional 20 A5 and A6 models are being added to the fleet of cars with the technology and fifty more stop lights will be fitted with the modules. So if you happen to be in Ingolstadt and want to save time and money on your commute, follow the Audis.

Source: Audi via AutoBlog

D
  • D
    DLegend
  • Sep 25, 2008
Like that ar, our 'pigs' hiding in the bushes and behind pillars no more chance to minum kopi already.... no more running the red light :)
D
  • D
    doppelganger
  • Sep 25, 2008
Dunno lar, audi go for yellow light, car behind red light.... later 'pigs' chase in blue light..lol
B
  • B
    Black_Satria_Neo
  • Sep 25, 2008
DLegend, mind your words okay if you want to give a comment. Don't just simply say. "pig" to people.
X
  • X
    xenith
  • Sep 26, 2008
PIG=Police Inspector General
D
  • D
    DLegend
  • Sep 26, 2008
Black Satria Neo, you a copper? ... thanks for the explanation, xenith :)
T
  • T
    tim
  • Sep 26, 2008
xenith: hahaha.. =)
L
  • L
    lonely driver
  • Sep 28, 2008
i thought dog but now pig pulak... lol :)
L