wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
Guys,
Would appreviate if anyone can help me in my car problem.:hmmmm:
pls watch the video i recorded
(pay attention at 9 seconds and 13 seconds)

[youtube]4qcGetY3k8U[/youtube]

When driving at night with
> headlamp "on",
> air-cond "on" (temperature at center of dial and with fan "2")
and rev smoothly with rpm climbing from 2k to more, if i tap lightly on the brake, the whole dashboard light suddenly dim and the battery indicator and the other icon next to it (refer to pic below) lighted up for like 1/2 seconds then everything back to normal.

It was like at that moment when i tapped the brake, the electric current being drawn away.

-> Car battery was chg to a new one last november.
-> i've also been using a voltage stabilizer and grounding cables since 2 yrs ago.
-> i've checked with mechanic that alternator is working fine.

my car is running BT 4age 20v auto-tranny :biggrin:,
engine stock/no extra mod.:slug:

what could be the problem ?? :hmmmm:

please help ..:adore:. any suggestions.??... :adore::adore: what to check ???

shazmi3

Mar 16, 2005
Damansara
hahaha looks like i have the same problem like u...but my SEG 4AFE when i tapped the brake/switch on wiper/signal only my radio turn off and on...why arr?

any1 can help?

ae101rulez

Sep 2, 2005
erm...
i having problems of that with my LE also...when early morning start, if i on ac, the whole dashboard light gone case..even my rear light n side lamp gone liao..eat electricity issit??irritating if park for long time...solution anybody?

suma_

Jun 3, 2005
DU
Bro,

Electrical problem is closely related with the wiring. In my case, in proper grounding of 'extra' accessory had cost me to replace new ECU. what i did, remove all the 'extra' accessory, back to original state (stock). then get the wiring (original/stock) reference, which can be found at MR2Club website. There are many valuable 4age wiring diagram repository. from there, i had to trace back whether my mech connect the wiring properly using multimeter, especially the wiring to back side of car. halfcut shop dont include all the wiring to the back side, even some case, they forgot to give us the wiring socket.

very important to check the back wiring coz this will connect your tail lamp, park lamp, signal, reverse, fuel pump & etc. if the mech forgot to seal the unused wire, it could give you a short circuit problem. and due to not properly connected to the fuse box, this shorted wire is not properly cut off by using fuse. just to share an advice from my real experience.

and now, i solved the wiring problem, but of course very tedious job.

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
wfhan,i guess gotta check the wiring...when it started having this problem? lately got do any wiring job?
AE82GT,
the prob started a few weeks ago.
everything works fine before this, and i've been using this engine/setup/config for 2 years without any prob. Only recently it gives prob.
I also never did any mod to my car since 1 year.
Never kacau the wiring also since then.
The only thing i changed is the battery (changed last november).
Last weekend, i went my mech to check, he connect digital meter to check voltage when engine off and idling, voltage seems normal

Bro,

Electrical problem is closely related with the wiring. In my case, in proper grounding of 'extra' accessory had cost me to replace new ECU. what i did, remove all the 'extra' accessory, back to original state (stock). then get the wiring (original/stock) reference, which can be found at MR2Club website. There are many valuable 4age wiring diagram repository. from there, i had to trace back whether my mech connect the wiring properly using multimeter, especially the wiring to back side of car. halfcut shop dont include all the wiring to the back side, even some case, they forgot to give us the wiring socket.

very important to check the back wiring coz this will connect your tail lamp, park lamp, signal, reverse, fuel pump & etc. if the mech forgot to seal the unused wire, it could give you a short circuit problem. and due to not properly connected to the fuse box, this shorted wire is not properly cut off by using fuse. just to share an advice from my real experience.

and now, i solved the wiring problem, but of course very tedious job.
mind summarize a bit agak-agak in sequence what did u check at the first place ?

ahh...maybe wiring, touch n not touch, but not to sure!!! pls update if found the prob!!
definitely will update.. but i do hope that i can get more info from any sifu here or anyone that encounter the same prob and managed to fixed.

come come all sifu sifu.. please help .... i dont' want to be havine engine dead in the middle of me pressing the brakes..

sbirdz

Mar 27, 2005
S.Kembangan
sbirdz_jackals.blogs.friendster.com
Bro mike,

hahaha... how frequent does your fuse in your car rosak?

from what i see is, hahaha.. wiring confirm is 100% bt wiring de.. but it might be the case of jumping wire. ^-^ some wire take electric direct from the main cable, while some fkers they just love to jump wiring. Especially on radio side, those assesories buggers love to simply tarik some wire and sambung to aircond wire or ciggrate' lit side there.

which ends up, electrical malfunctions, either fuse bakar or ur wire get hangus. :)

experiences this thing ebfore and spend a small amount of money for wiring specialist to redo everything for me. Now fuse wanna bakar? hahahah!! maybe 1 year sebijik gua. hahahaha!!

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
birdie,
FORGOT TO MENTION..
my car got no audio... no cassete player, no cd player.. no sound system at all.. (since it was stolen 3 years ago, i never mind to install one).

so, what is the suggestion ??
go check the full wiring first ??

Guys,
will plugging the diagnostic computer reveal any error code pertaining to this problem ??

suma_

Jun 3, 2005
DU
mind summarize a bit agak-agak in sequence what did u check at the first place ?
in summary
1. remove all accessory (radio, timer, central lock, amp & etc) and its wiring
2. remove wiring for power windows, central lock (from driver's side door). u can unplug the socket on the driver side (near by fuses block)
3. continue to remove socket for back side wiring (inclusive fuel pump (but don't cut the wire deh))
4. start checking for proper connection (based on the wiring diagram) also follow the wiring color code as close as possible
5. check for any unseal/protected live wire. some time the seal tape will loose. best way use the heat shrink tube to protect any unused +ve terminal.
6. then connect back socket 1 by 1, and repeat step 5 until u satisfy no error in connection.

lastly - check the wiring at your tail lamp. also repeat step 5.

hmm.. i thought i simplified the step... but yeah. i took 2 sleepless night to solve this.

just try.

sbirdz

Mar 27, 2005
S.Kembangan
sbirdz_jackals.blogs.friendster.com
hahaa.. so that means there isn't any fuse failure?

i have one wiring specialist, but at jalan ipoh.. he re-wired my car internal wiring, because engine part wiring has no problems.. only internal till the rear side got kacau, due to the previous owner installed some sohai ice system. :)

u want, msn me la.. hahhaha!! :P

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
what type of icon appeared on meter panel...battery and handbrake ?

happened to me...but can't barely remember was there any red light indicator appeared...

I pull the car by the road side...
pull out the ECU...rearrange the ECU wiring...connect it back...
wallaaa everthing is OK...

it seems that the previous mech didn't do his job very well...

owh might try to check first...the diagnosis code...
if there's no error...then most probably is the wiring connections...
and please do check also if there's a proper grounding were made for all wiring system...especially...ECU...

good luck on the findings...

AE101-Wong

Jul 26, 2006
wah...so dai zai ar?
izzit got somewhere elso broken wire due kena makan buy tikus?
last time my car often burst signal relay..
besides that my horn fuse also patah often..
after that only found my wiring kena makan by lipas or tikus inside the dashboard there...
after i gao dim it then everything go smooth liao...

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
in summary
1. remove all accessory (radio, timer, central lock, amp & etc) and its wiring
2. remove wiring for power windows, central lock (from driver's side door). u can unplug the socket on the driver side (near by fuses block)
3. continue to remove socket for back side wiring (inclusive fuel pump (but don't cut the wire deh))
4. start checking for proper connection (based on the wiring diagram) also follow the wiring color code as close as possible
5. check for any unseal/protected live wire. some time the seal tape will loose. best way use the heat shrink tube to protect any unused +ve terminal.
6. then connect back socket 1 by 1, and repeat step 5 until u satisfy no error in connection.

lastly - check the wiring at your tail lamp. also repeat step 5.

hmm.. i thought i simplified the step... but yeah. i took 2 sleepless night to solve this.

just try.
alamak!... 2 sleepless night to solve that yourself..
thanks for the tips.. will do one by one.

hahaa.. so that means there isn't any fuse failure?

i have one wiring specialist, but at jalan ipoh.. he re-wired my car internal wiring, because engine part wiring has no problems.. only internal till the rear side got kacau, due to the previous owner installed some sohai ice system. :)

u want, msn me la.. hahhaha!! :P
birdie,
first, i'll go ah ngah to ask him do thorough check first.
if can't solve or area not in his expertise, secondly, i will
go to a wiring expert (i got one near my place), if he can't solve
my car prob, thirdly, your hp will ring and i will ask for the contact
of that wiring expert of yours.
thanks dude.

what type of icon appeared on meter panel...battery and handbrake ?

happened to me...but can't barely remember was there any red light indicator appeared...

I pull the car by the road side...
pull out the ECU...rearrange the ECU wiring...connect it back...
wallaaa everthing is OK...

it seems that the previous mech didn't do his job very well...

owh might try to check first...the diagnosis code...
if there's no error...then most probably is the wiring connections...
and please do check also if there's a proper grounding were made for all wiring system...especially...ECU...

good luck on the findings...
the icon being lighted are the BATTERY icon and the one left to the battery icon. donno what's that call.. check the below pic.
(sorry the battery icon being chopped off half)
these are the two that being lighted up (also shown in my video in first page)
* what that icon is called ar ? (look like some heat on top of some piping, does it means overheating indicator?)

wah...so dai zai ar?
izzit got somewhere elso broken wire due kena makan buy tikus?
last time my car often burst signal relay..
besides that my horn fuse also patah often..
after that only found my wiring kena makan by lipas or tikus inside the dashboard there...
after i gao dim it then everything go smooth liao...
ivan,
dont' scared me la.. anyhow, i did saw one lipas in my car 3 months ago, and i did quickly grab a can of shelltox and spray madly in my car cabin and then shut the door, left it overnight.. hope that lipas died. ( cos when i spray, it went behind my center console.. :( )

wilm3

Aug 4, 2005
since its oli happen when u press the brake paddle, then suggest u start tracing all the brake wires against the ground wire. ie, +ve against -ve. usually it's short-circuit lor. may be wire jacket worn, rat gigit since rat year...haha....or wire socket masuk air when heavy rain....good luck...

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
since its oli happen when u press the brake paddle, then suggest u start tracing all the brake wires against the ground wire. ie, +ve against -ve. usually it's short-circuit lor. may be wire jacket worn, rat gigit since rat year...haha....or wire socket masuk air when heavy rain....good luck...
it happen most obvious when the brake paddle is pressed.
however, it also happen sometimes when i perss the powerwindow of the driver side to auto-down (just happen at 1/2 seconds when the window started to wind down)

A Post Every 5 Mins

between 850 internal n 660t

up : 660t crankshaft that help producing hi-rev n good response

below : 850 crankshaft that produce hi-torque

at right : 850 rod longer than 660t rod

L2 carb turbo,same size 68mm L2 injection turbo pistons..option for those who want pump hi-boost...