ZTH MINI Club!

• Thread starter skyline86
  • Start date
  • Replies 3K
  • Views 266K
fastclubman,
I have managed to get all 4 cylinders to fire. however, i havent solved the idling problem. it still misfires. i'm using a single HS4 on an A+1275. could i be using the wrong carb? the HT leads are okay. I tried swapping them with other leads and the problem persists. the needle is okay too (i think, guessing from the notes i read on mini forums elsewhere).

my friend's mini is overheating. he has got the radiator cleaned, the hoses changed and added coolant. next, he wants to change the radiator cap. is there anything else he could do, minus adding an electronic fan?

Tq for your help.

hahah tohsan n jin came to sibuk here...
lol yea sure can come see my car... n me..
today ill be at club7
hahahaa...

anyone using 1.3 fuel injection or know someone using the engine? asked a few mechanics and so far none recommended... any advice?

Pow

Its a good engine especially the 1275 with high ratios and I am sure there are quite a few people using fuel injected engines, the only problem is that there don't seem to have mechanics that i know of that has got the equipment to check the ECU once if it give problem and than they will change it to carburettor. Like the saying goes, once there is no problem with the fuel injecxtion don't touch it.

I just sold my fuel injection 1275 black engine and already tranfered in a clubman but the paint work etc.... needs to be done (unfinished project) to a friend.No time to finish it.

Twistedangel

New paint work done on your car? What's the colour and no plate, next time if so happen to see it on the road will give a horn ok.

Ah Yoh Moderator Skyline86 where are you? There are Jinel2en & Tohsan also in this forum Mini kakis???
Cheers

twisted angel: how long have u been using the engine, any problem so far?

Pow, injection engine is a good running engine, but if it doesnt bring any problem, really dont go and touch anything on it, i also dont know anyone mechanic in this stuff... is that the engine u bought together from richard's car ??
just curious to know how is your MINI life now?

minicooper, im very busy with study stuff now, i need to settle all my study stuff in Nottingham, my final exam also coming, when i finish the exam, will find a mechanic to start back my MINI and sure join the TT for 2005, currently need to stop MINI life for a period of time, i also dont know who is Jinel2en & Tohsan.. anyway, welcome!

minicooper only did the top..repainted the white top..damn need to polish it still havent gotten it done...mini is orangy....no plate is D7431

pow...been using it ever since a year plus almost 2 already...no problems what so ever the gearbox gave more problems...before i got the right auto gearbox n one that works right..

touch wood nuttin is givin problem currently..

minicooper.
tq for the phone call earlier today. let me know when you think you can come down.

twistedangel,
nice plate! single letter, aye? what year would that be from? i know single M was circa 1940s. what about single D? must be thereabout too, right?
i assume the reg was transferred to your mini from an earlier car somewhere in 1960s. if this was the case, do you happen to know what the earlier car was?

ok, i know. i ask too many questions!

Hi guys. while i'm into british retro cars (or scottish, in my case) and stuff, i'm not really a fan of the mini
1. REVOLUTION (the real mc'coy) wheel center caps, the one with the 2 flags, does anybody have any lying around they'd like to sell el-cheapo? I'm using 8x13 rear and 7x13 front on the road car while 9x13 rear and 8x13front are fitted on the rallye version. Oh by the way, they're four spoke REVOs and i think the cap sizes are the same.

2. ALLEYCAT wheel center caps (if they exsist :unsure: ) needed also for bike engined project car. 10x13 rear and 9x13 front.

3. Period lucas starter motors. Who here is good at servicing them (carbon brushes and stuff)? I know the later series minis have changed to a newer type, but i just love the original cranking sound of an old lucas...don't u? ;)

4. I noticed a few deep dished minilite (or are they 'supalite' copies?) wheels on some minis here, how much for a set of 7x13's u reckon? a friend of mine wants to 'fatten' his kelisa B)

5. Tho' i've recently put aside the carb balancer, jets, emulsion tubes, venturis,
chokes etc.. and joined the high-end ECU revolution, i still have a bunch of DCOE's, DHLAs, DCNF and a huge IDA lying around my store at home along with some japanese 1 1/2" SU's , STROMBERGs and a SOLEX. So, if i were to set aside time to service these carbs for old time sake, would the gaskets and seals be available for purchase here? :huh:

6. Anybody have an SU out of a metro turbo for sale? or to exchange with one (or two) of my DCOEs perhaps?

It's obvious by now that yours truly is a 'hands on' person, so avoid recommending workshops to me pls. Thanks in advance. :)

heyya somfella...whoa a who lot of questions muahahaa...

sureshn...its frm kelantan..dont really knoe where the plate number came from the previous owner used the car to race thats as much of the info ive got..hahaha when my dad bought the mini it was in running condition ...hmm well the resti guess is history? as they say... :D

Goodmorning everybody,

Was a bit busy over the weekend and yday as well! So here it goes.

minicooper,

thinking about it, maybe its time to create the fastmanclub, however if we can get ben johnson, carl lewis, maureen green and such to join the club it will make more sense ? hehehe :D

About the mini you have, sounds interesting, but currently NO budget for racing! hehehe, just want to get my car out first. Once its all up and going then lets see how, but thanks for the offer. I would really like to do it but real life constraints are putting a stop to it currently.

sureshn,

have the sumpguard sitting in the boot of my car, need to take a pic and put it up. Hang in there k! Sorry have been very busy.

you say it wasnt idling nicely, what is the actual problem? it doesnt idle at all or it idles for a while and goes on three cylinders or just doesnt rev cleanly from idle? on the first two cases just look out for mixture levels. If i am not mistaken the HS4 has a mixture adjusting screw maybe this needs a lil tweaking. Off my head its (looking at the carb, thermostat housing on the right) clockwise to lean the mixture and counterclockwise to make it rich. From fully close it think its 2 and a half turns open for a suggested starting point. Its been a while since I played with HS4, so i might be wrong!

twistedangel,

nice no! u joining the white top look too eh. Havent seen ur car before. Do you have stripes as well? or planning to put one?

somefella,

welcome to the club. Sounds like you are into escorts!

1. Nope. Suggest order directly from UK
2. As above
3. As above
4. Kelisa best of with 14's as they are easier to find. Check out the for sale section and a guy has a set of 14's for sale. I think its around 500 and they like to use the term banana rims! Also they are very popular with drifters esp the AE86 as they run 14s. Although not called superlite or minilite or ultralite or minilife, they have their own type such as Enkei and RS Watanabe!
5. Gaskets best of to get direct from the UK. Its hard to get any type of jets, emulsion tubes, venturis or even chokes locally. You can sometimes get lucky with this chap called Ramli in Kg. Medan, PJ area. He has some jets and chokes for DCOE's and DCNF's. What IDA do you have at your store? Sounds interesting. Mind posting up more details of it?
6. Again hard to find item but i have seen one or two around. Maybe you can try Rosli at Subang. A turboed mini with DCOE is what we need here. I believe for forced induction the code is then DCOE-SP as they come with seals around the butterfly.

pow,

as mentioned by minicooper if it aint broke dont fix it! Injections are more complicated as they require more sensors and wirings and alos an ecu. A diagnostic tool is required to read the info stored in the ECU. Any faults will then be shown which can then be traced to the correct sensors or fault areas. Not many ppl have the diagnostic tool here (maybe none) thus rendering things more difficult. The blacktop (with minicooper) engines are suprisingly very responsive and powerful with a 3.1 final drive.

I have a complete 1.3 injection manual wiring loom/harness up for sale. Excellent condition. The engine only did 30,000km when i bought it. I am using a custom wiring loom thus this is for sale.

Was driving on the NS highway back from Penang on Sunday, saw a small convoy of three minis all done up nicely heading the opp direction doing i reckon around 120-130 kmh. Looked and sound very nice. I think i saw them somewhere at Bidor or Tapah. Anyone knows who they are? Sorry no num plates as it was in the opp lane.

fastclubman

fastclubman,
no worries on the sump front.
yup. i hv been trying the nut at the back of the HS4. maybe im not patient enough and turn it too fast. im working on it again today n will let you know of my progress (or the lack of it).
the 3 minis u saw - i saw them on saturday at about 12 noon, on the NS highway near Bangi. i thought they were heading for Sunday's Gohtong Jaya mini club gathering. obviously not, now. but seeing 3 minis going fast, overtaking everyone else, reminded me, and made me smile, of the Italian Job movie.

fastclubman: i am looking for an auto, else would have considered urs. well, what if i installed the fuel injection engine and it broke - does that mean i cant get it repaired locally? thanks

sureshn,

it was a good sight! loved the minis travelling fast. Makes u happy somehow.

pow,

of course you can get it fixed but specialist mechanics are what you require with the right equipment. And this takes time to find and also will cost you a lil more. As for where u can find this mechanic, i will leave it to the forumers, as i dont have much experience running injected minis.

fastclubman

sureshn,

it was a good sight! loved the minis travelling fast. Makes u happy somehow.

pow,

of course you can get it fixed but specialist mechanics are what you require with the right equipment. And this takes time to find and also will cost you a lil more. As for where u can find this mechanic, i will leave it to the forumers, as i dont have much experience running injected minis.

fastclubman

fastclubman: so what engine r u using now? is it plugnplay or involve change of mounting? i m newbie in the engine department, seeking advice from sifus here :)

i am using a mini engine, to be exact a 1275 A+. This is the same engine as to your rover 1.3 except that its a manual, and urs is an auto. Everything is original mini. Only thing is that it has been modified. As in change in piston size, cams , valves and so on. No change of mounting is required , however at this level strengthing of componenets and extra mountings is mandatory!