ZTH MINI Club!

• Thread starter skyline86
  • Start date
  • Replies 3K
  • Views 265K
hey there steve......ure the guy who messaged me at friendster right??...HAHA :D

i too have an automatic..... and it also suffers from the same gearbox problem..... i was adviced that the automatic gearbox of new age minis are just prompt to this problem..... guess we're better off with manuals..... my next engine will be a MANUAL.....sick of this same auto gearbox problem.......

Originally posted by Steve-Linpeh@Nov 18 2004, 14:30
Hello! I am new here. I own a 1976 Mini Rover Automatic. Only problem that I am facing is the temperature goes up often. I have converted the wiper water tank to a spare tank for the carburator, to avoid the water from boiling out. However, when the day is hot, the temperature still goes up. Any tips from you tai kors out there?

The other problem I faced is the changing of the gear, from the 3rd to the 4th. It always stay on the 3rd for too long until it kicks back to the 2nd again. What I have to do is to let go of the accelerator, and then step on in again, and it will be on 4th gear. This problem happens once in a while. I have asked my mechanic about it, but he says that the gearbox is going to hell soon, that's why it is happening and there is no cure for it. So, he ask me to wait for the gearbox to screw up, then I should change the whole gearbox. Is this necessary?

Anyway, thank you for time. Cheers!

P/s

Does anybody know that there is a gathering in gotong jaya on the 19th Dec?
:lol: for the temp issue,i think u need 2 install another fan for ur tank & about the gear....it goin to kong soon..

auto gearbox got prob...u guys should go to arrifin in klg..
he did mine..though he take damn long ..but its quite worth it..
my gearbox has be pretty smooth..n havent given me pproblems..
*touch wood*

Originally posted by twistedangel@Nov 20 2004, 05:14
tt guys...
when when???
when??? lol ... :P
:lol: for twistedangel, i got a set of new wiper but price abit hi.
for dinesh_hardcore, red carpet is 1.3 limited eddition one very hard to find lah..

Originally posted by Steve-Linpeh@Nov 18 2004, 14:30
Hello! I am new here. I own a 1976 Mini Rover Automatic. Only problem that I am facing is the temperature goes up often. I have converted the wiper water tank to a spare tank for the carburator, to avoid the water from boiling out. However, when the day is hot, the temperature still goes up. Any tips from you tai kors out there?

The other problem I faced is the changing of the gear, from the 3rd to the 4th. It always stay on the 3rd for too long until it kicks back to the 2nd again. What I have to do is to let go of the accelerator, and then step on in again, and it will be on 4th gear. This problem happens once in a while. I have asked my mechanic about it, but he says that the gearbox is going to hell soon, that's why it is happening and there is no cure for it. So, he ask me to wait for the gearbox to screw up, then I should change the whole gearbox. Is this necessary?

Anyway, thank you for time. Cheers!

P/s

Does anybody know that there is a gathering in gotong jaya on the 19th Dec?
heya and welcome. Goh Tong Jaya on Dec 19. yes i know about it. How did you find out abt that? As for me I was invited la by someone i know who is a member with the 2DC - 2 Door Coupe, Convertable Club. Yes there will be an event but currently heard is by invitation only. Or atleast thats the impression i was given la.

About the overheating. Yea add an additional electric fan. make sure its a strong one. Make sure the Relay is covered properly and easily accessible if not very "mah fan" to change la. If you got the fan and additional water tank - radiator , you shouldnt have a problem. As for gear box. i suggest keeping aside some $$ as these Mini gear box - auto tend to give this prob after some time. Manual is your best bet la. But manual gear level/bush tends to give way fast if prone to improper shifting or daily usage. Thank God we can still get gear levers at rather low prices. hehehehe...

Abt Goh Tong Jaya. I wont be going as i dont trust my Mini to climb hills. Go to malacca or so on ok la.. but not up or dowh hill.

Cheers..

PS: Have attatched a pic of my Mini below. Its about time rite? hehehe.. Minicooper thats my Mini - Black Beauty. Not fussy abt hiding my number plate la. After all In subang people can easily find out who i am or where i am at. LOL

Ciao

Ash

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this forum. I have a 1979 Clubman and would need to have an aircond and new paint by the end of this year.

Any suggestion on where is a good palce to get these?

Hi pad2340

Welcome in to this mini post.
I hope you don't mind telling us where are you from?
You can also look in the post at page 18, ther you will find some workshops that may be able to help you.

Cheers

price is high..ummm how much is high la?
lol sorry still need to survey..hehe not exactly keen on blowing off all my allowance.. ;)

hey pad2340..nice to meet ya.. :)

ummkay..mini cooper..when can have tt? when r all of u gusy free? wanna see the cars...lol..plus can get suggestion on my car too..then.. :)

Originally posted by pad2340@Nov 22 2004, 11:37
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this forum. I have a 1979 Clubman and would need to have an aircond and new paint by the end of this year.

Any suggestion on where is a good palce to get these?
heya Pad. Welcome to the forum.
oooo a Clubman. Well aircond and paintwork. Lets see. Im gonna get my mini re-wired AGAIN. This guy is an aircond specialist too. Will ask him how much he wants to charge. As for painting. If just minor bodywork and not complete restoration, ive got a good guy in SS 19 Subang Jaya. Do get back to me on where you are from though. If you're like from JB then sorry but im no help.hehehe. message me if anything la. im sure Minicooper too will have good advice abt ur car and location to do the stuff you wanna get done.

Cheers.

Ash :D

Im from KL. I got my Clubman for more than a year now. I need a complete paint and body restoration. Do you guys know how much does this cost?

paint ..totally depends on what u decide on spraying..
of course the more expensive paints will cost more..
got a good plc to spray ...n its pretty cheap ..could pass ya the contact so u can survey ur self which plc has a better price n decide for urself..

:)

I am thinking of a 2K paint. Do they strip down my interior and engine for this?

it totally depends..but engine i dont think so..
interior..im not sure....but u can ask..
anyway will post the contact here soon..
:)

I looked at the workshop list on page 18 and saw Jasmie Workshop which is the closest. Can any of you guys give me the exact location of this workshop. Need some serious restoration.

Hi pad2340
Since you r near Jasmie juruauto, I know how to get there but the address i don't know.
AWAN_MINI(HEY WHERE ARE YOU AWAN?lOST IN ACTION?) If u cannot get in touch with Awan(he is always there member mah) than PM me and let me know your contact no and i can call u and roughly guide you there.

Moderator Skyline 86,
everybody calling for TT for the mini group, can u all arrange or start the TT post here? Hows that TWISTEDANGLE?
Cheers

has anybody ever ordered mini parts from UK? or is there any other shop than STB in KL? appreciate some advice. thanks.

Yes ! Yes ! Yes !
Think it is time to have a tt session for all the mini lovers here, since our member here are getting more and more and there is also alots of active members here, if organise a tt session, i guess u guys must able to attend right??

As i know, VW volksvagen have a group of people every saturday night they must gather at "Projet" Petrol station in Kelana Jaya, half year ago i met them there, and i was thinking there is so many mini enthusiast, why there got no gathering for mini?? while almost every gathering is organise by SMOC....

come on guys.... how about we have a tt session at next next saturday night (11 Dec 2004)? give a longer period so that everyone can see it here...