Your Preference Engine Choice for TE71 Coupe

nvm la...
learn the Initial D AE86 to drift and win lor...
haha... joking la....

Experiance with FR is important (when in track)

I go for C,good enough balance for drift and track.Yes i agree in stock form the 16v have better low end torque,but i think i dont see any drifter drift with the needle at 3k - 4k rpm most of the time.If we see,most drift machines use high cams,which transfers the torque band high up the rpm range.And for track,for sure high rpm power is important.Blacktop is revvy,sure no problem,summore 4 throttle sound damn loud,hehe

bore 7a block and stroke to 2 ltr ,b/top head , custom intake plenum ,turbo upward position , management and off u go heheehe

no lah...just go for silvertop...blueprint the engine....CNC balance crankshaft..itb trumpets, ...management. For the aftermarkets cams ,flywheel etc are optional according to your budget as u go along

by the way, what is the kerb weight of the TE71 & TE72??just wondering coz i wanna calculate the pwr to weight ratio....sorry off topic

My choice will be C.
But If your intention is to build a high tune engine I would go for A. but not usin the 86 block cause its the weakest among all the 4age, Any way when u start moddin the 16V with itb and cams i think your low end will suffer also. If you one to keep the engine sreetable and yet be able to drift and the ocassional drfiting I think BT will be enough.
I'm also having a scenario just like u with 16v rwd and i chose BT.. hehehe..
cause its the cheapest if you take into account of all the stuff i have to mod.

GSRTurbo said:
My choice will be C.
But If your intention is to build a high tune engine I would go for A. but not usin the 86 block cause its the weakest among all the 4age, Any way when u start moddin the 16V with itb and cams i think your low end will suffer also. If you one to keep the engine sreetable and yet be able to drift and the ocassional drfiting I think BT will be enough.
I'm also having a scenario just like u with 16v rwd and i chose BT.. hehehe..
cause its the cheapest if you take into account of all the stuff i have to mod.

I know definately u'll go for C. Your car still go through blacktop transplant at AC place. Very nice car.

Yeah still waitin for andrew's car to come out. :regular_smile: :regular_smile:

It would be easy if there was a switch to select Drift or Track mode. hahaha. Either the 20V or 16 is a good choice. But chu since you are already familiar with 20V, might as well just go for 20V. With 16V, i think you gotta relearn how to tune it again, unless you are going to experiment. With 20V, you might be saving more time to match hardware.

But nowdays 7A poison. Makes 20V looks somewhat like an old engine. I think 7A for FR platform even more hardware matching than 20V in FR. My vote would be 20V too since you are a track kaki. hehehe.

Actually I used to tune 16V engine with standalone ECU. I just use stock 20V ECU on my blacktop 20V.

Actually I've decided on my engine choice yesterday and proceed with the project. It's mixture of Option A and Option C.

Oh ya ka? Play with 16V before hehehe. But i still say 20V cause of your car usage characteristics. Based on many input 20V better for track. 16v can be out of breath quite fast. Wait!!! Last minute entry... F20C!!! .............:mouth_closed: Cabut!!

netmatrix said:
Oh ya ka? Play with 16V before hehehe. But i still say 20V cause of your car usage characteristics. Based on many input 20V better for track. 16v can be out of breath quite fast. Wait!!! Last minute entry... F20C!!! .............:mouth_closed: Cabut!!

F20C...great great..THE BEST!!!!

eg9,

16v block (ae92),16v head, 101 internal (block), 272 cams, 101 or 111 ITB, stand alone ecu, ae86 gb, crown rear axle.

EG9,

Option A + Option C = Use 16v head but take away the throttle body, add in BT four throttle, take away 16v conrod and use BT conrod. 16v high cam, SAE.......