Why did you get an RX

The question is.......Why did you get an RX ?

1. The engine revs all the way to the moon.......

2. Spits out flames out the exhaust during upshifts and downshifts....hehehe....makes me feel like im flying a Jet with afterburners.

3. The bodywork of the Rx7 FC/FD is a work of art...... A Porsche 944 (FC3S), A Dodge Viper RT-10 (FD3S)..... The RX8 SE3P is for all the ppl who wish they had Cyclops powers sooo that they could blow away all those blardy road-hogs.....Hahahaha

4. The RE sound.

5. Cheap Road-Tax

And the list goes on...........

Right now im into my second RX....... its an 8........ In all honesty, i would say that my previous Rx7 FD was a much better all rounder (with respect to performance and handling) than the Rx8 that i have now......

The only area that my current Rx8 trumps my previous 7 is in the area of built quality (better interior fitting, plastics etc etc)........

Diablo:
FC3S. I probably have the biggest horror stories any rotary owner will ever hear. Any time Ah Choy sees me, he just turns, shakes his head and walks away... lol.

effie:
Yeah, build quality of the 8 is better all round. I also find that the chasis is very stiff and handling is responsive - more so than FC with more grip on corners but maybe coz of better rubbers.

Can somebody tell me why I see so many RX8's at Ah Choy's place at any one time having rebuilds? Is the new Renesis weaker or something? Most arent even turbocharged.

i own a Charade aura..but i do drive a RX-8 on weekends okay!

RX-8's arent to be compared with RX-7 to say the very least..its a different car all together and shouldnt be compared head on.

Do remember that Mazda's flagship model is the RX-7.a good reason why the RX-8 is not the new RX-7.Figure that part out then you'll get why the 8' doesnt trump the old brother.

U were prolly refering to me rite........ Comparing both cars would be inevitable for me! Why? Simply coz i owned both...... I didn't say that the 8 was a replacement to the 7.......... I even compared the car that made me sell my 7 for which was an ORI Evo5........ Guess what...... the Rx7 wins hands down!!! I got sick of my Evo5 within 6 months where-as the Rx7 kept me HAPPY for 4 wonderfull years.....!!!! I still maintain till this day that any idiot could drive an Evo (and all 4WD cars) BUT u need a certain degree of skill to drive an Rx7 (and most RWD cars).........

Either way, i didn't expect to get a somewhat semi "hostile" remark from this forum......... (spend most of my free time at RX8club.com)

What i said is my own opinion and does not reflect veiws of other ppl........ If and when Mazda launches the Rx7 replacement, i'll be queing up like all the other RE fanatics to purchase it.........

I still love my Rx8 despite some short commings...... No car is perfect......not even the FD....... But, in my book of cars that ive owned (16 and counting)....... My FD is number 1 followed closely by my current Rx8..........

My appologies if i have offended anyone......

i own a Charade aura..but i do drive a RX-8 on weekends okay!

RX-8's arent to be compared with RX-7 to say the very least..its a different car all together and shouldnt be compared head on.

Do remember that Mazda's flagship model is the RX-7.a good reason why the RX-8 is not the new RX-7.Figure that part out then you'll get why the 8' doesnt trump the old brother.

Errr... of course you could compare the two. I hold the 8 favourably to the 7 (FD). There is greater evolution in terms of design. Of course, one can say that the 8 is very confused - too many doors, or that it isnt a pure-bred sportscar on the level of the FD - not enough power.

Yeah whatever. So long as the owner is happy, end story.

It seems less RX7 being sold these days, any sifu knows what's the price of a FD ('92 or later model)??

Effie, dude, chill. It was not hostile. You misread Diablo.

Im chillin bro.....im chillin........ Just took my 8 out for a spin.....Still have a grin plastered on my face....hahahaha............

heheh i didnt mean to offend you effie nor your vast experience in whatever ride that you have driven.

Sorry if you felt somehow itchy after reading my reply but i'm those who state my opinion boldly and i still think that comparing the 8 and the 7 head on to the term of stating which car is better overall is somewhat wrong in my books.

Trust me effie,if you know me long enough.If i thought you was wrong..I would have said it myself :D

My take on this particular matter has always been clear that Mazda meant the 8' to be different from the previous 7' to experiment some new grounds.

Hehehe but then bottomline is owner happy end of story.

I do have experience with the FD3S for my dad own it for around a year or so.thats how i make up my own opinion.Unlike everybody here who own his own rotary.I've only been lucky enough to have parents who own both FD3S and the SE3P before.Thats how i make my own opinion,not by reading magazines and playing Gran Turismo.

Dude.....no worries bro.........

Anywayz, hahahaha.......at least ur dad likes the Rx7 & Rx8......
When i bought my FD3S (special order from MUTIARA MOTORS) i was 22 back then in 1996.....my dad wasn't at all pleased.... Hahahahah........
My dad did like my Evo5 though. Only bought the Evo after i went with his advice on getting an Accord (year 2000 model CF9)....... Sold it 4 months later coz i felt like an "OLD FART".......Hahahahaha.......Replaced it with an EVO5 purchased from MOFAZ........ He didn't complain mainly coz it still had 4 doors.........

Fast Forward 10 years later, after couple of other cars and am 32 years old now......i went back to rotaries...... This time an Rx8 !!! Can't say he's very pleased......Heheheheh........ No doubt he likes the looks of both cars, but.......he often hints that i should've bought an Accord instead....... Thing is, the Rx8 works fine for me......My 2 baby daughters aren't complaining.......they love the back seats...... Anywayz, i have a second family car and the Rx8 is mostly used when im out alone...........

effie nonone is disagrreing with you. we wlcome your post as you give us valuable insight of owning the 7 and 8.

wow interesting post........

let me tell u guys.... as most of us has been thinking what's the replacement of RX7.... all of us don't know leh....

but i heard from some guys around the forum... it'll be 15B... NA.... things that got cross my mind.... does NA give those big G force as turbo.... i mean.. not to talk about F1 or A1 cars.... they have very high horse power.... and high torque... somehow.. i've sat in one SE3P before 255 horse... it doesn't have the big G force...
so....if the 15B is a turbo... everyone will be having a big big big big grind on their face everytime they drive and come back... :)

will 15B NA replace 13BTT ? big question

I got a rotary because they sound like a swarm of angry wasps in a tin can.

They rev like there's no tomorrow

They are achingly beautiful

I'm small enough to fit in one

cx7 is a 4 wheel drive. the new rx7 i assume will be called the rx7 4th gen.

FE3S perhaps?

15B? an entirely new engine..If im not mistaken the new RX-7 is going to be a Renesis Turbo.

Any new lead guys?

(abang dev,were you in midvalley last weekend coz i think i saw you..or someone who looks just like you..haha)

d reason why I didnt get an RX is... i can barely fit into one.. hehehe

sigh

oh yeah bryan.... tell me about it :) me and dev partially got stuck already... people like eugene.... no issues :) bwahahahhah
if i get a full bucket.. my ass will be stucked in it....need to unbolt the steering to get out.

Write your reply...