white smoke

wfhan

Guys,

I need some advice..
Few days ago, my exhaust emits white smoke while driving for 5 minutes of
maintaining speed at 140km/h~150km/h range.
If the speed is reduced to 120km/h~130km/h range, no more white smoke.
If increase the speed again form 120 to 140~150 range, after another 4~5 minutes,
the white smoke came out again.
(no white smokes during engine starts or city driving of stop&go within city speeds limits)

There's no hard revving involved here, the speeds are gradually increased or decreased.

After that, left the car overnight, and checked the engine oil level the next morning,
engine oil dip-stick shown sufficient oil level..

Could it be the white smokes caused by lower grade engine oil ? :thumpdown: :confused:
I'm using Mobil Super-S PLUS (10W-40):banghead: and just changed and used for around 600~700km
only.

Sifus, please advise...

What engine oil u use b4 switch to this mobil ?

before this also using same one, Mobil Super-S Plus (10W-40) & a bottle of TufOIL.
latest oil change didn't use TufOIL.

Will thicker/thinner engine oil will caused this ?

I believe it is not the engine oil but the additives that you put in. Don't be conned by the advertisement..the additives are not miracle cure or solutions for the engine. It probably do more harm than good....IMHO

grey,
i only use it last time (in my first service) and it didn't give me white smoke.
while this time (latest service), i didn't use it..

How many km have you travel from the last service until u discover the white smoke coming out from muffler ?

as stated in my post
"..just changed and used for around 600~700km.."

oh.. i also just changed to 1.3bar radiator cap..
any effect ?

found from web

White smoke: White smoke is caused by water and or antifreeze entering the cylinder, and the engine trying to burn it with the fuel. The white smoke is steam. There are special gaskets (head gaskets are the primary gaskets) that keep the antifreeze from entering the cylinder area. The cylinder is where the fuel and air mixture are being compressed and burned. Any amount of antifreeze that enters this area will produce a white steam that will be present at the tailpipe area.

If white smoke is present, check to see if the proper amount of antifreeze is inside the radiator and the overflow bottle. Also check to see if antifreeze has contaminated the engine oil. You can look at the engine oil dipstick, or look at the under side of the engine oil filler cap. If the oil is contaminated with antifreeze, it will have the appearance of a chocolate milkshake. Do not start the engine if the oil is contaminated with antifreeze, as serious internal engine damage can result.

How did antifreeze get in the oil or cylinder in the first place? The engine probably overheated and a head gasket failed due to excessive heat, thus allowing antifreeze to enter the cylinder (Where it is not meant to be).

Could be due to worn out valve seals. When they heat up the white smoke problem arises. Go check it out to double confirm. :wavey:

aiya.. don't scared me la..
lucky is white smoke ler... if blue smoke or black smoke worse.

if it is overheating, then my suspect is.
1. head gasket not good, need to replace, along with checking of valve seal ?
2. cooling system not good, maybe thermostat need change & use better coolant ?

sifu, am i pin-pointing to the right area ?