VW Beetle Custom & Performance

the bug originally comes with oil cooler. if it is additional il coler u r talking about, i have used it.

but why do you want to use it? what is your engine's spec ?

becareful about the racing pulley. your engine will run hotter depending on the size.

can anyone advise if there are other cars on the road thats using cast crank eg. proton or other Jap makes?

This cast crank is menghantui saya la.

Thanks...

i nak add oil cooler...some mechanic said that mitsubishi pajero oil cooler boleh guna..
when i used that firna racing..the pulley is very heavy...my flywheel clutch is 8.5 inch..which is used for van..
the temperature is macam biasa..
he saiz is bigger than std

vwmania,

1. if you are just putting an oil cooler just for the sake of putting it, i would advise against doing it. if your engine is just stock standard, it is just a waste of time.

2. what spec is your engine now? if stock, is it in good condition?

3. if you really want to use cooler, i would advise against using the Pajero cooler because they come with screw on garden hose style fittings. you can use any cooler as long as you us AN BOLT ON FITTINGS. this is important.

4. the boxer engine generates very high oil pressure during morning starts and also the oil lines are very near the exhaust and hence steel braided or at least screw on fittings is a MUST. normal fittings u risk blowing the oil lines and they need more attention and need to be replaced more frequently as well.

5. the flywheel u have is good enough. it is 215mm flywheel.i find it to be good as the clutch is also slightly lighter.

6. i would suggest remove the heavy pulley and use a stock pooley.

thanks for the opinion aircooled....

1. after i read ur sugesstion..i think im wasting time to make additional oil cooler..
2. i buy my enjine at kedai potong which comes AF code...ill check that engine is for van.. it comes with 8 dowel pin flywheel...but the std 34pict carb..(donno if this engine come from japan or us)
3. when i buy ill take back n doing a minor services...ill take out the head only n the size of piston is 90.5mm but the piston is not flat...it have curve like std van piston...after that i cleaning the carbon at head...the head comes with same saiz of valve...the rocker just like std but at the adjust of tappet they have half ball bearing
4. it comes with heavy duty oil pump with cop melling usa...but i dont remove it.just clean it.
5. yeah my fren said that engine is using counterweght but its not...its is std crankshaft but they made to 8 pin to inserting flywheel..
6. so far so good that enjine...every month oil change...im using duckhams sae 40..
it very smooth sound ....like japs engine...never heard the boxer anymore...
so now i have no idea to kasi lagi power...

n im using webber progresive.....minyak is kaw kaw..if i speeding more than 140 kmh at the higway...for the record i have try the maximum speed is 160kmh..that my speedometer with 16 inch rim..my fren using gen2 folow me told that i have reach 150 to 155 kmh/hour..very goncang...

vwmania.
1. AF code engines. Becareful with this engine as it might just be a local engine. AF engine is very common on Type 2 in Malaysia. If u can get 90.5 pistons there , most likelyit has been worked on and not standard anymore.
2. you want more power? First I recommend
1. put oil sump. This is important.
2. use twin dual barrel carbs. 40mm carb is good enough.
3. try to get 1.4:1 rockers.
4. a good exhaust system. 1.5 to 2 inch is good, nothing bigger.

no probs, vwmania, can you ask your friend with 48Dellortos if he is interested in buying my CB 84mm crankshaft? if he has got such size, i am sure he needs the CC to match the carbs.

i just wana push it off as i am no more in VWs already....i already sold off most of the stuff.

i am pushing off for RM1800 which i think is a very reasoable price for what i paid for it. as a comparison, kafer paid RM1600 for a cast 69mm crank.

only p[rob is....not many are up for this size engine.

ok i will try to tell him....now...just maintain my daily car...do noe next project....maybe i will find type 2 or bug pre 68

69 bug u want ah bro..want to let go mine..sayang to sell it to some one who didnt appreciate it..

hello everyone...
my brother wanna sell his twin carb webber 34 ict...still in the car...
this carb is very economi....
asking for rm 800 nego....if interested can pm me

let me share some of the new beetle's picture with rs bodykit..
Lulu-1j.jpg

Lulu0.jpg

luluxx.jpg

Lulu2.jpg

hey...anybody has a carburator for my 1.3 bug? need it quick la...if not i cannot 'bergaya di hari raya' la :(