VTEC Solenoid Valve fault code

Yiloong

Hi all Vtec Sifu. Need your help and some idea. Just now my engine check light turn on, after plug in the checker it show code 21-02 vtec solenoid valve fault. Anyone here know what is the problem of this fault code?? As I know EK4 B16A don't have this code.

I also don't what kind of check. My formen's one.
This check light not always turn on, it happen intermittently.

"21 VTEC spool solenoid valve "--->frm my dictionary,i only got dis code...whr d "-02" come from?n how come u say EK4 dun haf dis code?i thought all VTEC haf a VTEC spool solenoid?or else how ur VTEC works?.....if i'm not wrong,dis thinggy is d tubular shape gizmo right in front of ur distributor...n dude,u mean ur foreman can get d code but duno how 2 fix it?aikkss??

I saw this info from a website saying that this error code is only valid on year 92-95 b16A engine. it is quite confusing.
Due to this problem happen intermittenly n my vtec still can on, so my formen also don't know how to troubleshoot it. Anyone here have any idea to confirm Vtec solenoid valve good or fault??

Just measure the resistance for the valve .Normally u can get 10 ohm(state in the manual) . So Just unplug the connecter of vtec valve , then red cable from multimeter connect to the yellow connector at the vtec valve and another black cable from multimeter connect to body of the car . By doing this you should get 10 ohm . If value of the multimeter no constant or no reading means vtec valve spoil.

Bro ej6_chaw: when we measure the valve, need to start the engine or not???

no need to on the engine to test it . U can refer procedure in the honda manual also. Just find the link in previous forum to download the whole honda manual.

In case you don't have the multimeter the is another way but quit dangerous is u not familiar with electrical thing . the step list below

1. unplug the vtec valve connector
2. Connect a additional cable from the + terminal of the battery.
3. Another end of the cable just touch to the vtec valve connector. ( cannot touch too long )
4. If the vtec valve is good condition ,You should hear a 'tik tak ' sound coming from this coil.
During this testing the engine no need to on.

ej6_chaw said:
no need to on the engine to test it . U can refer procedure in the honda manual also. Just find the link in previous forum to download the whole honda manual.

In case you don't have the multimeter the is another way but quit dangerous is u not familiar with electrical thing . the step list below

1. unplug the vtec valve connector
2. Connect a additional cable from the + terminal of the battery.
3. Another end of the cable just touch to the vtec valve connector. ( cannot touch too long )
4. If the vtec valve is good condition ,You should hear a 'tik tak ' sound coming from this coil.
During this testing the engine no need to on.

yes... this is the better way to check if u dun have the multimeter...

- could be a loose pin on the ecu

- could be a burned chip

- could be low oil pressure

since its intermittenly, sometimes it comes from the ecu ratherly the mechanical problem itself.

J101,
agree w u...dats y i ditched ur VTEC n whn 2 d dark side eh?ahhaha

J101,
wooppssiiee..typo..i mean dats y U dithced ur VTEC n went 2 d dark side...i know u do blif in it..ahahha..btw,ur KK fren called u a monkey!hhahah

J101....... kk?? intro laaa broo... from last time again i want to know who u really are...

akuma,
no darkside, no fast my friend. must have been the monkey bars ? :p ha ha ha
so when wanna put quad throttle?

orc3368,
haha..wait i go back first then we go lintas with proper introduction :)

J101,
wat monkey bars?quad throttle?wait :-
1)petrol price come down
2)quad throttle price come down
3)JPJ tarak kacau
4)whn i got money
5)hahahahha