SKYLINE HISTORY 101 #2

Originally posted by .S K A G E E.@Mar 5 2005, 12:14
Good job guys!! I guess the #2 question is much more easier than the #1 as it still haven't been answered yet..anyway would anyone would like to eloborate further on the "Iron Mask" nickname given to the R30 series? Hint: Its a TV show...
It was a police TV drama in Japan. They used the car in the show... I don't know the name... anyone?

Wei, .S.K.A.G.E.E. all the questions you give arr, either I wasn't even born yet or I'm like still an infant... A little difficult for me ler... *laughs* :P

The 'Kenmeri' Name was for the C110 range of Skylines and is not GT-R specific, it is reference to the advertising campaign used for the C110 Skyline, it contained a happy young couple by the names of Ken & Mary cruising around in their new C110, the ads were so adored by the Japanese that it bought about the nickname you could even buy figurines with a wee C110. (I've attached an image). I believe the ads started before the C110 range but the C110 got the nickname from them.

The 'Hakosuka' was also a nickname used, given to the C10 range of Skylines the range that included the very first GT-R the PGC10 2000GT-R. Loosely translated is something along the lines of Boxed-shape Skyline.

The DR30 Group. 5 Super Silhouette Race car had the nickname 'Deppa' which was in reference to the metre long flames it would spit out of it's exhaust during racing.

Oh!! and the DR30 RS-X also had the nickname 'Iron Mask' for obvious reasons.

"Iron Mask" from the TV Drama In Japan ... Cheers!

rx-7's would spit oni few short flames weh... but skylines can pu huge amount of flames eh... ;) i saw this r33 gt-r around sunway area .. using Z-tune body stripe .. throew flame like hell .. i wonder who's that ..... is he in ZTH? ... i saw many times when i go off from work to my home in shah alam ... ;)

It's in my pc ler... no url...
That's why in the other thread I was asking if there is anyone who is willing to host my collection of clips...
Lot's of cool stuff....