See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Car Clubs
Car Club Categories
The Malaysian Skyline Club
Skyline downsides
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="[PIMPIN]" data-source="post: 1063548887" data-attributes="member: 2994"><p>I could be mistaken but the GTIs I drove didn't have a clutch pedal? Unless you mean Satria GTI then OK lah my bad. I'm also an average driver but AFAIK, in a FWD car you would be understeering if you enter the corner too fast wouldn't you? In which case, letting off the throttle would pull the nose of the car back in line. </p><p></p><p>I don't know because I've never owned a FWD car but started off with RWD and no traction control as first car. And ever since the only 4WD car was the STI. Others like Cefiro, 350z all RWD. I don't know the terminologies etc of track racing as its never been my thing but I'm somewhat able to control what I do have. </p><p></p><p>I guess the track guys here could discuss the merits of various layouts and which is most advantageous on a technical track or even Ulu Yam sort of roads but I feel that a RWD car should be cornering at a faster speed compared to the to FWD. Look at the GTR, why did they make the the car corner in RWD and why do people go for RWD cars like Porsches, etc to race if they weren't faster. </p><p></p><p>It's simple right? If the wheels driving the car are the front, meaning they have to drive the car and deal with cornering as well. Have you heard of torque steer by any chance? As for noobs pushing Skylines and the consequences of it, well its the same with GTIs. When was the last bad Skyline accident in recent memory and when was the last bad GTI accident recently? </p><p></p><p>I'm not bashing the GTI, far from it, I think its a well put together car and I wouldn't mind owing one just that there are some owners out there who overestimate the capabilities of the car and its limitations. Like I mentioned before, I met a friend of a friend who wanted to race my GTR - straight line or standing start or rolling start doesn't matter. He genuinely believed that he could beat my car. Comparative to people like MrNismo, Khoyos,m gobiz2, etc my car wasn't fast at the time - barely 600atw but he was insistent that he could and would win.</p><p></p><p>But he was all talk anyway. If you ask people to race with such a lansi attitude then I will definitely race you and I've even had people ask for one car length advantage, use of slicks etc. All I consented to. These were Honda bengkel cars. The only provision is that I set the stakes. All that time none of them jadi and since now I'm stock I can't be bothered lah. </p><p></p><p>That's a problem I face as part of owning a Skyline. The fact that everyone wants to race you. I've had traffic police come to the shop I was doing alignment at in Perlis and asked if I wanted to race his friend's V8 STI for like RM4k. I respectfully declined. GTRs aren't the fastest cars around but I don't approach people asking to race and then want to bet etc. Just realize that there are cars more superior than what we all own as well as less superior. The GTR compared to the GTI is the more superior car even in stock form. No question.</p><p></p><p>Eh, no offence ah got carried away cause I have quite some pent-up frustrations related to GTR ownership LOL</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="[PIMPIN], post: 1063548887, member: 2994"] I could be mistaken but the GTIs I drove didn't have a clutch pedal? Unless you mean Satria GTI then OK lah my bad. I'm also an average driver but AFAIK, in a FWD car you would be understeering if you enter the corner too fast wouldn't you? In which case, letting off the throttle would pull the nose of the car back in line. I don't know because I've never owned a FWD car but started off with RWD and no traction control as first car. And ever since the only 4WD car was the STI. Others like Cefiro, 350z all RWD. I don't know the terminologies etc of track racing as its never been my thing but I'm somewhat able to control what I do have. I guess the track guys here could discuss the merits of various layouts and which is most advantageous on a technical track or even Ulu Yam sort of roads but I feel that a RWD car should be cornering at a faster speed compared to the to FWD. Look at the GTR, why did they make the the car corner in RWD and why do people go for RWD cars like Porsches, etc to race if they weren't faster. It's simple right? If the wheels driving the car are the front, meaning they have to drive the car and deal with cornering as well. Have you heard of torque steer by any chance? As for noobs pushing Skylines and the consequences of it, well its the same with GTIs. When was the last bad Skyline accident in recent memory and when was the last bad GTI accident recently? I'm not bashing the GTI, far from it, I think its a well put together car and I wouldn't mind owing one just that there are some owners out there who overestimate the capabilities of the car and its limitations. Like I mentioned before, I met a friend of a friend who wanted to race my GTR - straight line or standing start or rolling start doesn't matter. He genuinely believed that he could beat my car. Comparative to people like MrNismo, Khoyos,m gobiz2, etc my car wasn't fast at the time - barely 600atw but he was insistent that he could and would win. But he was all talk anyway. If you ask people to race with such a lansi attitude then I will definitely race you and I've even had people ask for one car length advantage, use of slicks etc. All I consented to. These were Honda bengkel cars. The only provision is that I set the stakes. All that time none of them jadi and since now I'm stock I can't be bothered lah. That's a problem I face as part of owning a Skyline. The fact that everyone wants to race you. I've had traffic police come to the shop I was doing alignment at in Perlis and asked if I wanted to race his friend's V8 STI for like RM4k. I respectfully declined. GTRs aren't the fastest cars around but I don't approach people asking to race and then want to bet etc. Just realize that there are cars more superior than what we all own as well as less superior. The GTR compared to the GTI is the more superior car even in stock form. No question. Eh, no offence ah got carried away cause I have quite some pent-up frustrations related to GTR ownership LOL [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG3 18x8 18x8.5...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original Endless M4 S2 4pot 2pot brake caliper set...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG2 17x8.5jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare WedsSport TC005 17x7jj offset +40 5H...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Vifa Speakers Audison Amp
Started by
samuel118
ICE -In Car Entertainment
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG3 18x8.5...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Carbing R35 GTR GTR35 Brake Master Cylinder Stopper
Started by
aycy
GR Corolla Hypertune Bolt On Intercooler
Started by
aycy
Carbing Radiator Reservoir Tank Honda Civic Type R FL5
Started by
aycy
R35 GTR GTR35 Rim Wheel TE37 Track Edition
Started by
aycy
Chassis and Wheels
I wanna know how much horsepower these parts make on my mod list...
I WAS WONDERING HOW MUCH HORSEPOWER ALL THESE PARTS MAKE
ON A 1999 MITSUBISHI EVOLUTION 6 MR..
1) CARBON FIBER HOOD
2) BLACK ENKEI RACING RIMS
3) TOYO TYERS
4) CARBON FIBER WING
5) AUTOBAHN TURBO MANIFOLD
6)...
China's Geely all-new logo
Congratulations go out to Yue Xian De, the recently announced winner of Geely's logo design contest. For creating the winning submission, Yue receives a Gold Medal, and two million Chinese Yuan (just shy of...
what turbo IHI RHC6
what turbo is this ball bearing or normal ?
whats is the maximum output of this turbo ?
Recent Posts
Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine
Started by
Mitevo7
Car Modification
2026 Vios HEV launched with Local Battery Assembly - UMW Toyota Motor
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
SPPF: The Future of Automotive Surface Protection - A Technical Overview
Started by