Skyline downsides

I guess that's because I've stop modding the car for like 5 years. LOL. So the only thing that keeps going now are the tires and regular services.

Yeah after awhile there's nothing left to do unless you break something. BTW, since you mentioned tires I wanted to ask you what are you using? Mine are due for a change and was contemplating the 595RSRs since people say their wet weather performance is pretty good not to mention cheaper than the RT615s so figured I'd try something new.

[PIMPIN];1063545079 said:
Your second reason - are you actually saying that the Golf GTI will out handle a GTR? In both were stock standard then perhaps the GTI would have the better response but how many are stock? Not to attack the GTI, I know you own one and I've considered them in the past having and test drove both the Mk5 and Mk6 but in terms of handling, there is absolutely no way a GTI is more nimble than a GTR.

Plus, the GTI's handling in my opinion wasn't helped by the recent crash when a GTI understeered into an unsuspecting and innocent R35, totaling it completely. Oh and the fact that Feez drives one too which is pretty much the deal breaker :thefinger:

P.S: No offence to you or your GTI, all in fun.

BTW, your fifth reason makes no sense. Heaps of GTR parts locally.

depends on the driver really, the GTi would be heaps easier to control being FWD, DSG, less power, and a hatch, the Skyline will take a good driver to stretch its legs. take Alex Yoong and Michael Schumacher, and a tight technical track.. give either car to Alex and the other to Michael, I know where I'll put my money on both counts. (on Michael in case you have no clue :thefinger: )

Hahahahahahahah that doesn't make sense. Give either car to Alex and other to Michael means you're comparing drivers? I also want Michael wei.. cannot share? :biggrin:

[PIMPIN];1063547547 said:
Ah, which version? Always had a soft spot for the Evo 6. Actually, I've never even given much thought about turning circles. Although, if RWD car like S15 or something would be easier to u-turn especially for former drifters like Temujin :adore:

i have an evo 8. love the car very much :biggrin:

and u should also see Mr N drift his GTR... its madness at a different level :adore:

[PIMPIN];1063548134 said:
Yeah after awhile there's nothing left to do unless you break something. BTW, since you mentioned tires I wanted to ask you what are you using? Mine are due for a change and was contemplating the 595RSRs since people say their wet weather performance is pretty good not to mention cheaper than the RT615s so figured I'd try something new.

i used 595RSR before , not bad actually, almost as good at re050, but balancing a bit of a prick. vibrates occationally. grip good in wet n dry

Yoong, u alway side ways of course la tire expensive. u drive at whole different level,

A frienf used to own a GTR, never took it above 5k rpm, then complained car no power.
saying evo ,scooby alot faster .. well he ask me to test drove his car to see whats wrong.. oopsss... wrong person to ask to drive his car.. as we all know, gttr power band is above 5krpm. but stock gtr still tooo under powered for its handling ..

i used 595RSR before , not bad actually, almost as good at re050, but balancing a bit of a prick. vibrates occationally. grip good in wet n dry

Yoong, u alway side ways of course la tire expensive. u drive at whole different level,

A frienf used to own a GTR, never took it above 5k rpm, then complained car no power.
saying evo ,scooby alot faster .. well he ask me to test drove his car to see whats wrong.. oopsss... wrong person to ask to drive his car.. as we all know, gttr power band is above 5krpm. but stock gtr still tooo under powered for its handling ..

Yeah, that's the thing about the RBs - they need a bit of revs to start of with. But I understand why your friend says Evos and Scoobys are faster especially in stock form the STI for example has pretty good response.

Your friend never rev past 5k? So the remaining 4000rpm never used? :bawling:

when i got my first skyline i decided to go atmospheric bov just for the rice boy factor of it(it was 11-12 years ago, i was a teenage boy okay). I still remember i adore that pish pish pish sound for the first couple months, then it eventually went from sweet symphony to downright annoying fwhen i drive. First gear to secodn gear, PISHHHHH, 2nd gear to 3rd gear, PISSSSSH,3rd gaer to 4th, yes you're right, PSSSHHHH...not just that, the stock turbo+atmo bov was spooling on normal low rpm driving.

i got so sick of it, change to big snail.no more spooling sound on low rpm. love it. yah that was 11-12 years ago, now the more quiet a skyline is the more i like it(weekend different story)

---------- Post added at 03:01 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:56 PM ----------

hahaha....4.4 make my day.... :dancing2:

but since i'm riding uncle version of an old skyline.....i think replacing timebelt + water pump really costly

1) RM 220 timing belt
2) RM 100 water pump
3) RM 75 engine oil
4) RM 40 oil filter
5) RM 200 Workmanship

RM 635 Full Service.....HAHAHA really kawtim

which old skyline oh?1,2,3, all so cheap

---------- Post added at 03:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:01 PM ----------

Downside for skyline:
1. If drive fast, others ppl will said all skyliners are ego man, always want to show-off on the road.
2. If drive slow, ppl will start to laughing at the our car and said his car is faster than skyline. Have to know that our skyline(GTR) is good in raw power but not nimble/response like golf GTI......
3. "security" as V-spec mention.
4. Always need to survey the route 1st, eg: high speed-bump, deep man-hole will ruin our lips or side skirt....
5. Difficult to find any part at local.

The most i hate is downside number 2 and 4......

i agree with number 4! my car never been to shopping mall parking lot!

when i got my first skyline i decided to go atmospheric bov just for the rice boy factor of it(it was 11-12 years ago, i was a teenage boy okay). I still remember i adore that pish pish pish sound for the first couple months, then it eventually went from sweet symphony to downright annoying fwhen i drive. First gear to secodn gear, PISHHHHH, 2nd gear to 3rd gear, PISSSSSH,3rd gaer to 4th, yes you're right, PSSSHHHH...not just that, the stock turbo+atmo bov was spooling on normal low rpm driving.

Hahah same here. I was 18 and to me the BOV was the coolest sound in the world. That time can only afford basic GFB one, on sale during auto salon promotions. Then came the bloody SQV sound when everyone with a turbo car also want to use SQV. Even those without turbo pakai the electronic sounding one!

[PIMPIN];1063548211 said:
Hahahahahahahah that doesn't make sense. Give either car to Alex and other to Michael means you're comparing drivers? I also want Michael wei.. cannot share? :biggrin:

sorta comparing both cars and drivers...basically for normal driver like myself, I'm sure I'll be doing faster lap times on a technical track with the GTi than the Skyline. (DSG, no need to change gears, keep high RPM, dump clutch).. driving GTi sorta like playing video game..just steer and accelerate. Losing grip? let go accelerator or step on brakes.. Skyline.. I'm sure you guys know the consequences of a noob trying to push the limits on the monster.

with Michael he'll do faster laps on the Skyline than the GTi. Alex..probably DNF or DNS :thefinger::thefinger:

sorta comparing both cars and drivers...basically for normal driver like myself, I'm sure I'll be doing faster lap times on a technical track with the GTi than the Skyline. (DSG, no need to change gears, keep high RPM, dump clutch).. driving GTi sorta like playing video game..just steer and accelerate. Losing grip? let go accelerator or step on brakes.. Skyline.. I'm sure you guys know the consequences of a noob trying to push the limits on the monster.

with Michael he'll do faster laps on the Skyline than the GTi. Alex..probably DNF or DNS :thefinger::thefinger:

I could be mistaken but the GTIs I drove didn't have a clutch pedal? Unless you mean Satria GTI then OK lah my bad. I'm also an average driver but AFAIK, in a FWD car you would be understeering if you enter the corner too fast wouldn't you? In which case, letting off the throttle would pull the nose of the car back in line.

I don't know because I've never owned a FWD car but started off with RWD and no traction control as first car. And ever since the only 4WD car was the STI. Others like Cefiro, 350z all RWD. I don't know the terminologies etc of track racing as its never been my thing but I'm somewhat able to control what I do have.

I guess the track guys here could discuss the merits of various layouts and which is most advantageous on a technical track or even Ulu Yam sort of roads but I feel that a RWD car should be cornering at a faster speed compared to the to FWD. Look at the GTR, why did they make the the car corner in RWD and why do people go for RWD cars like Porsches, etc to race if they weren't faster.

It's simple right? If the wheels driving the car are the front, meaning they have to drive the car and deal with cornering as well. Have you heard of torque steer by any chance? As for noobs pushing Skylines and the consequences of it, well its the same with GTIs. When was the last bad Skyline accident in recent memory and when was the last bad GTI accident recently?

I'm not bashing the GTI, far from it, I think its a well put together car and I wouldn't mind owing one just that there are some owners out there who overestimate the capabilities of the car and its limitations. Like I mentioned before, I met a friend of a friend who wanted to race my GTR - straight line or standing start or rolling start doesn't matter. He genuinely believed that he could beat my car. Comparative to people like MrNismo, Khoyos,m gobiz2, etc my car wasn't fast at the time - barely 600atw but he was insistent that he could and would win.

But he was all talk anyway. If you ask people to race with such a lansi attitude then I will definitely race you and I've even had people ask for one car length advantage, use of slicks etc. All I consented to. These were Honda bengkel cars. The only provision is that I set the stakes. All that time none of them jadi and since now I'm stock I can't be bothered lah.

That's a problem I face as part of owning a Skyline. The fact that everyone wants to race you. I've had traffic police come to the shop I was doing alignment at in Perlis and asked if I wanted to race his friend's V8 STI for like RM4k. I respectfully declined. GTRs aren't the fastest cars around but I don't approach people asking to race and then want to bet etc. Just realize that there are cars more superior than what we all own as well as less superior. The GTR compared to the GTI is the more superior car even in stock form. No question.

Eh, no offence ah got carried away cause I have quite some pent-up frustrations related to GTR ownership LOL

[PIMPIN];1063548805 said:
Hahah same here. I was 18 and to me the BOV was the coolest sound in the world. That time can only afford basic GFB one, on sale during auto salon promotions. Then came the bloody SQV sound when everyone with a turbo car also want to use SQV. Even those without turbo pakai the electronic sounding one!

damn, those young and dangerous days! im so glad i'm still accident free :biggrin::biggrin:

i was referring to the Skyline having to keep high rpm, dump clutch on track. GTi is in no way a bad car, its just made for a different purpose than the Skyline, and more suitable for the masses being FWD.

I was more on the point that the Skyline needs a really good driver to excel, to control, to bring out all that it has to offer. Whereas the GTi, well, isn't really that hard to drive (steer and accelerate). An example, on the Skyline your gear shift has to be precise or you lose seconds..on the GTi the DSG does it for you.

As for frustrations driving a Skyline, I don't own one, but I can see where you're coming from. As for the races on the street.. even if you win you still lose. My advice would be to ignore those fools.

Skyline being superior to the GTi.. it really depends on which angle you are looking at.... GTi beats Skyline on the point of practicality.. such as in the traffic jam in "D". But as an all out gasoline breathing monster, the throne belongs to the Skyline.

Even the Bugatti Veyron bows down to the mighty GTR. thats what you call RESTECPA!
YouTube - ‪Nissan GT-R smokes Bugatti Veyron‬‏

so skyline 1 -gti 0, gtr 1- veyron 0 . track driving is totally different regardless of which car you drive. driving RWD or AWD in the case of th GTR which is more RWD bias has more advantage compared FWD. When you understeer in a skyline you can always give it a bit of power to oversteer to counter th understeer as you attack a corner. If i recall there was an incident where the FD2R actually spun due to understeer while trying to keep up with a gtt during of the suku clan trips

[PIMPIN];1063548134 said:

Am running Conti CSC3s.

[PIMPIN];1063548652 said:
Yeah, that's the thing about the RBs - they need a bit of revs to start of with. But I understand why your friend says Evos and Scoobys are faster especially in stock form the STI for example has pretty good response.

Your friend never rev past 5k? So the remaining 4000rpm never used? :bawling:

that is always the case in a inline six engine, four bangers have upper hand when it comes to response in stock form.. but a well tune RB will have enough torque to outgun any four banger regardless of the distance

so skyline 1 -gti 0, gtr 1- veyron 0 . track driving is totally different regardless of which car you drive. driving RWD or AWD in the case of th GTR which is more RWD bias has more advantage compared FWD. When you understeer in a skyline you can always give a bit of power to oversteer to counter th understeer as you attack a corner. If i recall there was an incident where the FD2R actually spun due to understeer while trying to keep up with a gtt during of the suku clan trips

hahahahahhaha.. i remember that one.. very funny!!! FWD with super hard type R FWD spun at corner. stock GTT with stock suspension sapu corner like nobodies business..FWD good.. for ladies.. FWD is superior in many ways, space, weight saving , practicality.. but for a sports car? cant wait for F1 to be FWD..hehehe

i was referring to the Skyline having to keep high rpm, dump clutch on track. GTi is in no way a bad car, its just made for a different purpose than the Skyline, and more suitable for the masses being FWD.

I was more on the point that the Skyline needs a really good driver to excel, to control, to bring out all that it has to offer. Whereas the GTi, well, isn't really that hard to drive (steer and accelerate). An example, on the Skyline your gear shift has to be precise or you lose seconds..on the GTi the DSG does it for you.

As for frustrations driving a Skyline, I don't own one, but I can see where you're coming from. As for the races on the street.. even if you win you still lose. My advice would be to ignore those fools.

Skyline being superior to the GTi.. it really depends on which angle you are looking at.... GTi beats Skyline on the point of practicality.. such as in the traffic jam in "D". But as an all out gasoline breathing monster, the throne belongs to the Skyline.

Even the Bugatti Veyron bows down to the mighty GTR. thats what you call RESTECPA!
YouTube - ‪Nissan GT-R smokes Bugatti Veyron‬‏

Yes, we're finally on the same page. However, the GTR doesn't require you to dump the clutch and keeping the revs up is simply a matter of keeping it in the powerband, something you'd do in any car. But you're right about the driver being a factor in getting the most out of the GTR. You obviously couldn't handle a GTR if its your first car but a GTI as a first car is still manageable.

Most GTR owners probably do not push their cars to the absolute limit. Especially if the GTR has double or triple the stock power. The only person I know can squeeze the maximum potential out of his GTR is MrNismo for sure. For the rest of us, the stock setup or basic mods with maybe 30-50% more HP is more than we can handle - confirm won't go 100% all out.

As for racing people on the streets, I generally don't. I just happen to drive slightly faster than the traffic around me. But sometimes people are too lansi, I cannot take it. Cause I'mho generally approachable lah even if you meet me at McD or whatever but if suddenly out of the blue ajak test like to me that's not in the spirit of the hobby.

BTW, in KL jam MyVi more practical than your GTI, can buy 3-4 somemore for same price. How? :biggrin:

so skyline 1 -gti 0, gtr 1- veyron 0 . track driving is totally different regardless of which car you drive. driving RWD or AWD in the case of th GTR which is more RWD bias has more advantage compared FWD. When you understeer in a skyline you can always give a bit of power to oversteer to counter th understeer as you attack a corner. If i recall there was an incident where the FD2R actually spun due to understeer while trying to keep up with a gtt during of the suku clan trips

Ok lah, you managed to explain it better :adore:

[PIMPIN];1063548887 said:
Comparative to people like MrNismo, Khoyos,m gobiz2, etc my car wasn't fast at the time - barely 600atw but he was insistent that he could and would win.

Hmm, not sure why I am mentioned here in the same place as legends like MrNismo and Khoyos. My car is a 20-year-old rusted metal. 600atw is also my dream and fantasy - not sure whether I can attain it some day. :bawling: Furthermore and most importantly, my driving skill is P level ie must put P sticker... about 0.5% the skill of MrNismo, Khoyos and you Pimpin. :adore::adore:

I don't have skills bro to be honest. I was dropped as a baby, so a bit senget. Genetically also, my grandfather a bit gila when it comes to cars. Plus, big size means heavy foot how not to go fast. But MrNismo itu.. sifu lah

ur car rusted metal? right... even the original rubber washers are there.. mine is the rusted metal dude.. cant deny Mr.N,khoyos and RR are legends of speed..