RON95 on Evo

which petro station will easy to find ron97? im kinda blur abit, example, in caltex petrol station, the yellow color pump is ron95? red color pump is ron97? so back to last month b4 new ron intro, i always use yellow color pump to fill my evo:confused: meaning all tis time im using ron95 to run my evo? been 2weeks i din drive my car to petrol station refill any petrol already so im kinda confused here.

anyway, out topic...
my kelisa pump RON95 also feel the car slow response, pickup 'kurang'!

see... even kelisa do having the same effect of using RON95.... If mod cars, whos know... my mekanik tell me that this RON95 have low plumbum compare to RON97... that why RON95 is a piece of crap.... for my opinion, I think, this RON95 is may be the fuel that at grade E @ F... Let's all of us pray for th return back of RON97..... huhuhuhu

E1, E2, E3 born in early 90's which last time they used Ron92 Leaded Petrol.
maybe got less problem compare to latest evo's
just maybe laa :party:

you can slightly retard ignition timing to be save when planning to use RON95 for the long run.. that way knocking is reduced or won't exist at all with the sacrification of some torque and power. not much of a big deal...

example Honda FD2R was tuned in Japan using RON100... so sure terrible la if were to use RON95.. but if the timing is retarded.. sure can use RON95 wan... but engine power also "retarded" la.. thats all.

so for those guys with electronic management... save 2 fuel & ignition timing maps for RON97 and RON95 fuels.. so if jalan jalan time switch the RON95 map.. when got game.. switch to RON97 map... mana ada susah? money can settle almost everything.

anyway, out topic...
my kelisa pump RON95 also feel the car slow response, pickup 'kurang'!

hehehehe. But my case different. My 2007 Kelisa SE AT feel better power while cruising. Now much2 easily to reach 120kmh-140mh on hway, compared to Ron97.

---------- Post added at 07:37 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:34 AM ----------

you can slightly retard ignition timing to be save when planning to use RON95 for the long run.. that way knocking is reduced or won't exist at all with the sacrification of some torque and power. not much of a big deal...

example Honda FD2R was tuned in Japan using RON100... so sure terrible la if were to use RON95.. but if the timing is retarded.. sure can use RON95 wan... but engine power also "retarded" la.. thats all.

so for those guys with electronic management... save 2 fuel & ignition timing maps for RON97 and RON95 fuels.. so if jalan jalan time switch the RON95 map.. when got game.. switch to RON97 map... mana ada susah? money can settle almost everything.

Me ter-accidently refueling Ron95 on my K20AR last Monday. Actually it's was the pump-attendant fault.

It's true that K20AR on ron95 feel like driving a lorry after that!(even though the same feeling with Ron97 but this time worst) ..but it still can reach KL (from Kuantan) with RM40 of fuel!! hehehe

2 wks ago when I went for SIC track day, accidentally top up half tank with ron 95 :( knocking was quite frequent; however on normal driving it is still OK but seriously throughout it was a LESS POWER kind of feel (although it was mixed with another half tank of 97)...after that went back to full tank ron97 everything sweet as before

bro pablo,
evo can tune for ron95.........?
how much it cost?

EZ, what ECU u running on? I suppose any performance car can be tuned to run on RON 95. It's the same as when u tune on Dyno with RON 97 or 100 octane fuel (which u can buy from performance shops that carry them).

i don't know the pricing of tuning in KL though. If car is stock, then maybe running on RON95 may not be so much difference as compared to a modded car.

---------- Post added at 07:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:10 AM ----------

:rofl::adore: I like the last sentence ... do-able ... if your ECU has multiple Maps. Like mine on PowerFC, diam-diam sudah ... hehehehe

wow... hearing all the comments, I better not try Ron95 at all in my Airtrek Turbo.

Hey wait, but my fuel flap has a sticker that says Ron95+. So it still can be used but gotta avoid touching 1 bar too often, huh?

2 wks ago when I went for SIC track day, accidentally top up half tank with ron 95 :( knocking was quite frequent; however on normal driving it is still OK but seriously throughout it was a LESS POWER kind of feel (although it was mixed with another half tank of 97)...after that went back to full tank ron97 everything sweet as before
DD,
So you were running on Ron96 lah ...:rofl::rofl::rofl:

For stock cars no need worry to much, others can follow FTzone advise and pablo's theory class.

Aizul,
Car jerking .....mmmm dia tak suka la ron95 taste bad kot :hmmmm:

In JB some shell station only have ROn95 and Ron97. Some still have Ron95,Ron97 and v-power racing.(till stock last i guess)

Any idea where I can tune my Airtrek Turbo to use RON95? It is not my preference but I sometimes travel to rural area which I think RON97 wont be available. I haven't tried RON95 but it guess it won't be long until I will be 'forced' to. Thanks.

EZ, what ECU u running on? I suppose any performance car can be tuned to run on RON 95. It's the same as when u tune on Dyno with RON 97 or 100 octane fuel (which u can buy from performance shops that carry them).

i don't know the pricing of tuning in KL though. If car is stock, then maybe running on RON95 may not be so much difference as compared to a modded car.

---------- Post added at 07:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:10 AM ----------
my car running on stock ECU.....kekeke

:rofl::adore: I like the last sentence ... do-able ... if your ECU has multiple Maps. Like mine on PowerFC, diam-diam sudah ... hehehehe

Today, fuel my car with Ron 95

My car with Ron 97 already :turtle::turtle:, fuel up with Ron 95, my car respond :turtle::turtle::turtle::turtle:. isk...isk...:banghead::banghead: but what to do, I like to :driver: around the city. Ron 95 save my money a lot maa...:rofl:

is it so loud that we can hear the knocking sound? i thnk evo owners have their engine sound loud

Rockcity, u'll know when u have a "diesel knock" ... the sound is distinct and u'll be able to make out the diffference from your engine sound ..

---------- Post added at 06:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:06 PM ----------

EZ, i'm not sure if the local Mitsubishi outlets can tune your original ECU to run on RON95 but u can try asking. Otherwise do a re-flash of the original ECU so that u can tune it to run on RON95.

---------- Post added at 06:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:08 PM ----------

Any idea where I can tune my Airtrek Turbo to use RON95? It is not my preference but I sometimes travel to rural area which I think RON97 wont be available. I haven't tried RON95 but it guess it won't be long until I will be 'forced' to. Thanks.

U can PM sub7 in this thread itself.