Rims offset or suspension?

WhiteSpoonCivic

Tree Hugger
HELP!

My eg hatchback used to be using koni adjustable suspension (h/s setting only) with 16" enkei 5 spoke rims when i first got the car.
Then i changed to rims to 15" lenso rims from my friend's 1.6 satria. after i changed the rims there is a loud creaking sound on the rear right suspension or mudguard (i dunno what).

i tot the absorbers were damaged or the setting was too low (as the suspension has got grooves to adjust the height) so i changed it to normal civic absorbers with the same sport springs which are yellow apex springs i think. this time the creaking sound came from the left rear!!

i finally changed to tein non adjustable suspensions with the same springs and the creaking sound is still there on the right rear of the car. this sound is really loud and scary and it makes the noise when i'm going thru corners at moderate speed and even when i have a passenger on the back going thru a bumpy highway.

I have a few insights from my friends and mechanic. Some says the offset of the rims, some say the mudguard, some say the absorbers. Some even said it was the springs.
Anyone has any ideas on how to solve this problem?

try check ur right rear lower arm
theres something wrong,maybe the condition or bushing
or take off rear part & check oso..

no i don't think anything broke.
i'm just wondering how come the sound travelled from the right to the left. but i think brangbrungbreng idea on checking the lower arms of the rear is not a bad one. no harm double checking it.
it's perfectly fine if the back seats are not occupied though.

i refer frm frens car...accident by ex-owner
arch not center with wheel
he check it n found lower arm is not straight anymore
change it and no more mysterious sound :wink:

thanks for the help man... any idea how much will it cost.. wut will be a good price?
i dun wanna get slaughtered.. by the way the right side dun have the sound anymore.. should i change it too?

to repair lower arm will cost around RM400-450
this price frm JB..not sure in KL

frm chop shop..oso not sure now..u can survey

but better check 1st to confirm man..

PEACE

thanks man.. i went to do a check on the arms and the bushes and it turned out that the bushes have hardened. I've sprayed some silicon grease into it for the time being. I heard there's something called PU bushes which is a whole lot better.. anyone has any info on how and what is the better side of these bushes compared to the stock ones?

check with kenneth HOKOMOTO
about the bushing..

just change it at important part only not all
main n bigger bush...
just compare the price n u will know
std around rm40 super pro bush is rm150 :biggrin:
but its worth it..if u love conering :tee:

ONE LOVE

thanks for the tip man.. by the way... what is the proper offset for the rims of my car.. better yet.. what is the offset????!!

i drive a '92 honda civic SR3.. the malaysian version of the EG hatchback

check u'r trailing arm bush.

offset suit for eg 42 to 45 will make u'r car inside (45) or outside(42, 40, 38) the mudguard

avantasia is rite
42 to 45 will can see wheel inside just nice
38 to 40 ur wheel too exposed (online with panel arc)

what i know is offset can check on the inside lip of rims...its etched there somewhere...

i also enquired bout offset in another thread b4 this...heard that putting in wrong offset rims can hurt car...dunno if true not?