RB25 fuel consumption mind sharing ?

ZeNeGeR

Guys,

Would like to know more about RB25. How is FC like lets said is a stock engine with 5 sp manual 1 full tank = how many litre ? and can last how much KM ? If the driver is not stepping it hard, will it be heavy FC if always stuck in JAM ?? let said it always travel highway how good is the fc like ?? Really looking forward to know more about !!

Last question wat is the common problem RB25 have, isit easy to maintain ??

last time my car with full tank, around 300+km.

rb25's common problem is just the standard turbo,
if boost above 1bar the ceramic fin tends to break off from the turbo.
Other than that, I cant think of anything else..

gti88,
i heard ignition coil tend to get overheating as well. was tht a problem?

Good good....pls share more plsss!!! Yet my car is not out yet but at least im prepared for the problems... GTi88 if i change turbo no prblem ka?

From my experience :

on normal boost up stage 0.9bar, full throttle 4000rpm above 1liter 6.2km only leh.Normal driving 3000rpm below can done 1 liter 7.5km.Full tank R33 gts-t is 65liter.Highway cruising to north 500km cost me rm100.Most of the time maintain at 130-140km/h.Rawang to ipoh full speed 180km/h,haha.

Not so much messy wth rb25,take care of ur boost,maintain the engine oil n other common maintainance.Heating of plug coil, AFM n AAC valve is the most prob for RB.

wow... kaminari still selling your rb clutch? There's someone selling OS Giken twin plate with lighten flywheel le. Kaminari if i change a bigger turbo, is there anything else to change? My turbo i think its kkk k26.

Consumption is very subjective, there are many factors such as driving condition, air filter, gbox, size of rim, exhaust, etc. Also RB25 in which car?(fuel tank size differs) R33,A31, S13?

For a stock setup on an A31 a full tank can prolly take you around 350+ km moderate driving. Long distance slightly better. Dont forget also a dirty air filter and AFM can cause your consumption to go up.

Common problems as mentioned by kaminari... coil packs are interchangable wth RB20 but pin direction must be the same. You can take of the rocker cover to reduce the heat to the coils but then alot of dirt gets there so must be careful during plug change...must vacuum or just blow of all the dirt.

Cheers and Gong Xi Fa Cai to all!

actually RBs have been known to be quite reliable apart for a few stuffs that were mentioned.

Also note that, RB25s have the highest compression compared to RB20s and RB26s.
So you might want to put in a metal gasket if you plan to boost high with a big turbo.

RBs are the best .. hehe..

My fuel consumption is roughly Rm10 for 50-55km. Not bad considering the power. Stock std RB25det with Mines ecu and Very low boost of only 0.5bar. Im enjoying the Torque before I start to boost up..hehehe

a31gtst said:
Consumption is very subjective, there are many factors such as driving condition, air filter, gbox, size of rim, exhaust, etc. Also RB25 in which car?(fuel tank size differs) R33,A31, S13?

For a stock setup on an A31 a full tank can prolly take you around 350+ km moderate driving. Long distance slightly better. Dont forget also a dirty air filter and AFM can cause your consumption to go up.

Common problems as mentioned by kaminari... coil packs are interchangable wth RB20 but pin direction must be the same. You can take of the rocker cover to reduce the heat to the coils but then alot of dirt gets there so must be careful during plug change...must vacuum or just blow of all the dirt.

Cheers and Gong Xi Fa Cai to all!

guys wat about in BMW e36 ?? have any of ur friend did this before ?? i m planning to transplant so now doing some research here

Bro, there was a guy who brought his E36 to my hse and ask me to test it...It has a RB20det engine inside. There wasnt enuf power to pull the heavy body..n the RB sound diddnt suit the car. Donno about u, but I would prefer u put in a souped up beemer engine iso Jap engine.
Just my 2cents

DinNismo said:
Bro, there was a guy who brought his E36 to my hse and ask me to test it...It has a RB20det engine inside. There wasnt enuf power to pull the heavy body..n the RB sound diddnt suit the car. Donno about u, but I would prefer u put in a souped up beemer engine iso Jap engine.
Just my 2cents

is that possible to know ur friend e36 with rb20 inside.. i would like to know him personally !! Thats y i m thinking of Rb25 should have enof power for my car !!

my previous 1993 r33 rb25det did about 300-350km for full tank in city driving.
400+ if highway driving.
Full tank was about rm70-80.

stock, except for air filter and intercooler. auto.

very reliable, had it for about 3+ years. no breakdowns at all.

R33 has 65 litres capcity, city cruise done 350km in average, which i work out to be 17litres/100km...this RB eninge is damn thirst for fuel...