R3-Satria (gti)

prozac said:
Guys, here something interesting I found:

http://www.satriagticlub.com.my/toastdirectory/toast.asp?sub=show&action=posts&fid=11&tid=8208

Reading further down the thread, "You can also pick up some driving pointers from Tengku Djan, winner for this year's Millenium Endurance Race."

Wow! Faisal, is this the one you're talking about during the TT? Where can I sign up? :dancing2:

If we're invited, I'm definitely in man! I need a track day fix!

Lolx,noticed u guys at the SC thread by gerrard, IF we SC our car, wat things we need to change? can we still keep our stage 2 upgrades? and ecu as well?

BTW,wat mods have u guys made to SR3? mind to share share?

THe CMC is organised by PRoton Edar. . R3 owners are ltd to the first 10. There will be 75 cars in all. WPC, PV6 , those GTi fellas. so if you guys wanna go let me know.

faisal said:
THe CMC is organised by PRoton Edar. . R3 owners are ltd to the first 10. There will be 75 cars in all. WPC, PV6 , those GTi fellas. so if you guys wanna go let me know.

1) prozac
2)
3)
4)
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Sepang Track Experience

8.00 Registration

8.20 Briefing

8.30 Track Familiarsation

9.30 2nd Briefing

10.00 - 12 noon Track Familiarisation & Taxi Ride

12 - 2 pm Lunch Tech Q & A

2 - 5 pm Car & Driving Dynamics ( Theory & Practical)

faisal said:
12 - 2 pm Lunch Tech Q & A
2 - 5 pm Car & Driving Dynamics ( Theory & Practical)

Hope nobody throws up after lunch :biggrin:

Anyway, The R3gister has been updated with the new details.

GeneX said:
Lolx,noticed u guys at the SC thread by gerrard, IF we SC our car, wat things we need to change? can we still keep our stage 2 upgrades? and ecu as well?

BTW,wat mods have u guys made to SR3? mind to share share?

hey GeneX,

Yeah, its an interesting thread and upgrade option for the SR3. The SC kit is pretty much bolt on, without having to touch any internals of the stock engine. That's one of the biggest advantages of the SC kit, as opposed to going a complete transplant option.

ECU and cams can remain stock, but a piggyback or standalone EMS is always a better/safer option.

One thing to note that you will need to change your exhaust system. At least a 2.5" piping.

There are pros and cons of supercharging your ride. Weigh them and make an educated decision.

I currently have almost a full Stage 2 upgrade - cams, pulleys, rear engine mount, bushing, bumpsteer kit.

prozac has Stage 2 cams + pulleys. wan, another owner also has some Stage 2 parts installed. Apparently highest output so far too, with 138whp.

sanjoi, awaiting a stg 2 cam upgrade. Already has bushes installed. There are some SGTis running around with R3 mods too.

Crash said:
hey GeneX,

Yeah, its an interesting thread and upgrade option for the SR3. The SC kit is pretty much bolt on, without having to touch any internals of the stock engine. That's one of the biggest advantages of the SC kit, as opposed to going a complete transplant option.

ECU and cams can remain stock, but a piggyback or standalone EMS is always a better/safer option.

One thing to note that you will need to change your exhaust system. At least a 2.5" piping.

There are pros and cons of supercharging your ride. Weigh them and make an educated decision.

I currently have almost a full Stage 2 upgrade - cams, pulleys, rear engine mount, bushing, bumpsteer kit.

prozac has Stage 2 cams + pulleys. wan, another owner also has some Stage 2 parts installed. Apparently highest output so far too, with 138whp.

sanjoi, awaiting a stg 2 cam upgrade. Already has bushes installed. There are some SGTis running around with R3 mods too.

Huh? rear engine mount? wat's tat?

Hehe..anyway,not gonna bolt-on until i get my stage 2 upgrades. Juz wanna ask, for the cams upgrade,do we have to upgrade our pulleys as well? or its already included at the package of 2k+/- if i'm not mistaken.

GeneX said:
Hehe..anyway,not gonna bolt-on until i get my stage 2 upgrades. Juz wanna ask, for the cams upgrade,do we have to upgrade our pulleys as well? or its already included at the package of 2k+/- if i'm not mistaken.

It is recommended that you get the pulleys too. This would allow for fine tuning of the cam phase to get the optimum output. I would recommend the RM2210 package which consists of:

1) Stage-2 camshafts
2) Intake Campulley
3) Unlimited dyno-tuning until the optimum output is obtained
4) Final dyno chart of your Stage-2 Satria R3 (like a certificate lah!)

It would be a good idea to start planning your mods now. Think of your whole project and divide it into stages if budget is an issue. Try to balance powertrain with handling upgrades.

IMO, installing mild stage-2 cams and then bolting on an SC isn't very efficient spending. For a start, once you plonk in the SC, the effects of the stage-2 cams would probably be muted. However, for most normal drivers, the Stage-2 engine is sufficient. The SC is for those who want MORE ooomph, yet a civil daily driven car. Also pls bear in mind that the SC is still not available for Siemens VDO equipped 4G93P's. If you want to SC right NOW, you'll have to convert to the full GTi MMC wiring with the 0248 ECU. A conversion to MMC may also require a cam pulley and ignition timing retune. But the effects over Siemens VDO are very noticable.

Another upgrade path, besides the SC and Stage-2 would be a 1.8 MIVEC rojak. Plonk on a MIVEC head and tune it with a VAFC and you're good to go...in an ideal world. It's really a case of easier said than done and unless you can find a very experienced tuner to work on your rojak project, forget it.

At the end of the modding day, it's a matter of how much budget you have and what you want from your car. Also how many days you can live without the car; coz it'll spend quite some time in the workshop.

Cheers and hope to meet you at the next TT!

Pif Pif!! Muz come nz TT d,hahah!! so long d oso haven meet u guys ^^

Hmm..i think is better to stick wit the NA :P

The 1st upgrade i may get is the cams + pulleys upgrade,cuz the acceleration of R3 quite slow =.="

Guys,wonder y my car after changin the new engine bearing can only at 100km/h @ 3k rpm (5th gear) compared to previous 105 km/h ++ @ 3k rpm. Does it mean i need to send my car back to motorsport for re-tuning? Cuz they juz replaced my car engine bearing today.

GeneX said:

The 1st upgrade i may get is the cams + pulleys upgrade,cuz the acceleration of R3 quite slow =.="

Guys,wonder y my car after changin the new engine bearing can only at 100km/h @ 3k rpm (5th gear) compared to previous 105 km/h ++ @ 3k rpm. Does it mean i need to send my car back to motorsport for re-tuning? Cuz they juz replaced my car engine bearing today.

Y don't u go for a dyno test? Most of did that and it'll help to properly identify your whp.

GeneX said:

Acceleration would have to do with proper gearshifting at proper RPM to optimise torque and power. Of course, Stage 2 would be a substantial difference :) It can be misleading though, simply because it's so linear, so u hardly feel the 'kick'. Smooth like a baby's bottom. The power of NA.

Anyways, it has nothing to do with tuning. It has to do with gearing. The F5M22 gearbox is such that at 110km/h in fifth, the RPM is 3100rpm. It's the same for all SGTis, Wira 1.8 and SR3. Hope you understand this.

Crash said:
Acceleration would have to do with proper gearshifting at proper RPM to optimise torque and power. Of course, Stage 2 would be a substantial difference :) It can be misleading though, simply because it's so linear, so u hardly feel the 'kick'. Smooth like a baby's bottom. The power of NA.

Anyways, it has nothing to do with tuning. It has to do with gearing. The F5M22 gearbox is such that at 110km/h in fifth, the RPM is 3100rpm. It's the same for all SGTis, Wira 1.8 and SR3. Hope you understand this.

Thank for answering my question dude ^^

No wonder i can't feel the "kick" like my fren's GSR satria =.="

redwacko said:
Hmmm...track day...hmmm...track day.....*shud i go?!?!* hmmmm....:rolleyes:

Go. go. go! NO thinking twice. What's the point of having a SR3 and not 'driving' it?

jakuzeeman,

what your LEV #?

006) Prozac
007) Crash
009) Sousuke
013) Handsome Lala
018) Shaunchen
025) amosyong
067) Redwacko
074) Incube
083) Buahdurian
097) r0ok