R3-Satria (gti)

Originally posted by ZephyRed@Jan 19 2005, 09:01
saw one R3 at imbi yesterday... fr far can't really differentiate it wit other satrias... only when i took a good look at the trims and wheels... then only could recognise thatz an R3
Yeah, that's quite true, which is why I thought introducing it in black was a bit weird although it looks great in black. Competition white would have been rare. It does not help when the Special Edition 1.3 Satria is black as well.

You can recognise it by the badging and stripes on the side, and of course the yummy rims. And also the racer-boy driver! :lol:

Originally posted by Crash+Jan 19 2005, 10:40 -->
QUOTE (Crash @ Jan 19 2005, 10:40 )
--QuoteBegin-ZephyRed
@Jan 19 2005, 09:01
saw one R3 at imbi yesterday... fr far can't really differentiate it wit other satrias... only when i took a good look at the trims and wheels... then only could recognise thatz an R3

Yeah, that's quite true, which is why I thought introducing it in black was a bit weird although it looks great in black. Competition white would have been rare. It does not help when the Special Edition 1.3 Satria is black as well.

You can recognise it by the badging and stripes on the side, and of course the yummy rims. And also the racer-boy driver! :lol: [/b][/quote]
Crash,

You forgot about the carbon fibre rear spoiler with "R3" imprinted on the sides....

I think this will be a major give away!!

Originally posted by handsome_lala+Jan 19 2005, 15:22 -->
QUOTE (handsome_lala @ Jan 19 2005, 15:22 )
Originally posted by Crash@Jan 19 2005, 10:40
--QuoteBegin-ZephyRed
@Jan 19 2005, 09:01

You can recognise it by the badging and stripes on the side, and of course the yummy rims. And also the racer-boy driver! :lol:

Crash,

You forgot about the carbon fibre rear spoiler with "R3" imprinted on the sides....

I think this will be a major give away!! [/b][/quote]
Well, when the time comes yes, but currently no. Besides, from a distance you really can't read the imprints! :)

Originally posted by shaunchen@Jan 19 2005, 16:12
Hi all,

Did you saw the car at Imbi in the morning around 10am? If yes, the car was mine (fetching gf to Sg. Wang hehehe).

Btw, guys does your engine cover comes with the R3 logo imprinted? If yes, it's the same with mine, but the R3 logo part is abit messy. I hopethey do not imprint the logo on the side of the Rear spoiler coz it'll look messy, just smooth carbon fiber looks nicer (or you can stick a metallic r3 sticker on it)
they are gonna imprint the R3 logo on the sides of the CF spoiler :)

Guys, the unintentional postings in our BIG BRO SGti Club has already been deleted or edited.....

Thanks for being considerate

What? Really? Evading the matter at hand eh? Where's the apology? No probs la..no offence taken. Just think before we speak, that should save future misunderstandings.

Originally posted by buahdurian@Jan 19 2005, 08:56
Thanks Crash and Faisal for the info...

just would like to know which alarm system that you guys used for your SR3... been thinking of installing Captors but it is too expensive...

how about windows tinting... is there any good product in price range of rm500...

B)
Captor is a good option, but it should be complemented with another alarm system with shock sensors + anti-hijack at least. If you're on a budget, try Radiostar. Or even a low-end Viper. But come to think of it, the car is worth a lot, might as well spend a little bit more to protect it. Worthwhile in the long run. :)

Radiostar first then Captor, right? :lol:

Tough I like Vipers active sensors that alert theifs the car is protected by Viper and step away, although it may sound cheesy I think if the theif hear that he won't run away screaming probably pretend nothing happend and find an easier target.

Also I like the feature where you put a viper logo thinggy on the front windscreen, then if you're double parked, the owner of the car you're blocking just need to tap the glass above the logo thinggy tiggering the remote telling you to move the car, can setup so the engine starts by the time you reach, cool :lol:

BTW handsome, i hope you got my PM coz my PM inbox exploded yesterday couldn't send or receive any new ones until today :(

wah lau..finally, a tuned car from our local car manufacturer..pretty cool, yeah, it seems like the car got "presence"..pity it doesn't come with the carbon fibre front bonnet..it'll be around 5 kgs lighter ( idea : buy la 1 high quality carbon bonnet and fit to your R3s..lighter weight? )

i am once a sceptic to local cars ( u know lah..buttons falling off, window not sliding properly bla bla bla... ) but now, with this R3, i'm thinking twice already..

pity they didn't come out with diff - looking front bumper..should have made it look more menacing than this..

now i'm seriously thinking of buying this car ( as long as my old man approves la, since i want to borrow his bank statements.. how much ler this car left? Is the loan a hassale, and how long did it took to get it done? Is the counter on proton - edar correct? ) but 1 question lingers : how to do a simple but nice sound system? Maybe an active subwoofer ( like the new Blaupunkt one, tested by NST's Sunday car pullout, fitted to their Gen2 test car? ), a touchscreen HU ( plus DVD player one ) and an amp..how? This is just to entertain my passangers during KL - Johore trips..balik kmpg maa...

how's the front camber? more aggresive than GTI? fuel consumption how? how's the car's feel?

anyway how long did it took for u guys to get the car after confirmed booking?

read about stage 2 & 3, what are they, ori works from R3 mech at Proton or what? here's hoping that these tuning is warranted by proton and thus improves the quarter mile, top speed and total engine performance for the SR3..

I am a bit worried about some minor niggles that I read in some postings : dashboard rattles ( i really hate 'em! ) ill - fitting bodyparts etc..very worrying...

My 2 cents and apologies if this sounds offensive. The R3 is a lightweight car with the "unnecessary" items removed for a better power to weight ratio. Then you buy the car and spend more money to add things like touchscreen HU ( plus DVD player one ) amplifiers and ultimately weight back to the car?

Well, at least it'll perform like a standard GTi...but have all those extra frills which a GTi doesn't. A lighter car is always a good platform to start modding from :)

Have to agree with IIsaw there. For one, the lesser sound dampening in the SR3 would mean worse acoustics as compared to let's say, a SGTi. For better sound quality overall, you will need to at least re-install some sound deadening material for soundproofing. Number two con would be the extra weight when you plonk in a 12" sub for instance, not forgetting you amps and what naught.

But then you could argue that you could go with a Stage 2 engine upgrade :) That would solve your power-to-weight problem. The SR3 is lightweight, but the key advantage is also its chassis, which makes it a solid base platform. What you do with it after is up to you.

It all boils down to the individual. The car is yours. Bottomline is, you choose what you want your car to be. Personally I feel if I wanted a sporty, more luxury car with better acoustics and quieter in general, I would have bought a SGTi.

I wanted a no-frills, lightweight, zippy machine. It's a Lotus concept/philosophy, really. A no nonsense, lightweight car which flies. That's why I bought the SR3. I am a music lover, no doubt about that, but I feel the SR3 isn't the car for that. Besides, I'm too distracted by the addictive, bassy exhaust note when I put pedal to the metal to care what's playing on the crappy Clarion HU.

By the way, I need to lose 5kgs. No point having a heavy driver in a lightweight car :D hehehe...

bugger!

woi i'm going to Penang for CNY :P
hope to meet up with you!

i'll be driving my PiMP MoBiLE.. minus the 20" chromes :lol:

Originally posted by llsaw@Jan 20 2005, 15:35
Crash Bro,

5kg weight loss coming in March :D
*Ahem* Shhhh... Top secret stuff, IIsaw :rolleyes: