R3-Satria (gti)

Performance Shops for GTi

I knw that i may be posting in the wrong place here but-

I have a fren who has a stock 2001 Satria GTi (normal GTi) who feels her car is sluggish and not performing quite up to par. Any suggestions on where to go for engine tuning / performance upgrades / rechipping / dyno and the sort?

Im thinking about N1, Millenium motorsports, Speedworks?

and pls, im not asking for where or who is better, just a list of tuning shops i can go for SGTi tunings (and maybe some personal suggestions for tuning from our sifus here) :)

thanks guys

(btw im asking the sifus here coz i assume that u guys go to good tuning shops to tune ur monsters right? :cool:)

wavo said:
lolz why is this forum so selfish
scare ppl buy r3 item
nvm then just keep quite

Posted already what.

4 places:

1. Mutiara Damansara
2. Cheras Service Centre
3. Juru Service Centre
4. Johor Service Centre

putra_dreamin said:

I knw that i may be posting in the wrong place here but-

I have a fren who has a stock 2001 Satria GTi (normal GTi) who feels her car is sluggish and not performing quite up to par. Any suggestions on where to go for engine tuning / performance upgrades / rechipping / dyno and the sort?

Im thinking about N1, Millenium motorsports, Speedworks?

and pls, im not asking for where or who is better, just a list of tuning shops i can go for SGTi tunings (and maybe some personal suggestions for tuning from our sifus here) :)

thanks guys

(btw im asking the sifus here coz i assume that u guys go to good tuning shops to tune ur monsters right? :cool:)

Actually anyone of them you listed are good places to go to. You can also drop by Links. Get you A/F tuned with dyno. Will help.

Crash said:
Actually anyone of them you listed are good places to go to. You can also drop by Links. Get you A/F tuned with dyno. Will help.

cool. thanks for the valuable info. but um.. where is links ah? hehe.. and anyone i should ask for if i go there? thanks again crash.

putra_dreamin said:
cool. thanks for the valuable info. but um.. where is links ah? hehe.. and anyone i should ask for if i go there? thanks again crash.

No links bro. Coz got no websites. Hahah. Just pay them a visit, and ask for R3 merchandise. That should do the trick, mate.

Kedai LINKS

Crash said:
No links bro. Coz got no websites. Hahah. Just pay them a visit, and ask for R3 merchandise. That should do the trick, mate.

eheh.. wad i meant was where is the Shop -LINKS.. not hyperlinks.. =D

btw bear in mind I am enquiring for a stock normal SGTi.

I heard behind the old Lim Kok Wing there got some good shops.:D anywan can vouch?

thanks guys.

putra_dreamin said:
eheh.. wad i meant was where is the Shop -LINKS.. not hyperlinks.. =D

btw bear in mind I am enquiring for a stock normal SGTi.

I heard behind the old Lim Kok Wing there got some good shops.:D anywan can vouch?

thanks guys.

Ah..near Lim Kok Wing? Try NA Garage. Reputable and professed experts with 4G93. Go try them out. Good guys too.

Links is where all the Sunway tuners are. If you know where Daiichi is, Links is somewhere behind.

Thanks guys for the suggestions/advice. Hope can tune my frens GTi to be able to keep up with ur R3s.. hehe

cheers..:D

off topic..

anyone know a good place to send for polishing.. sending for 1st service tmrw and thought id do something bout the hideous spots on the hood..

CF hoods

speedking said:
no one answer my question....may be im not a R3 owner...never mind then...

JPJ's rules include a clause that says

AKTA PENGANGKUTAN JALAN 1987 (AKTA 333) DAN PERATURAN LALULINTAS 1958

Mengubah badan kenderaan atau aksesori (Barang/PSV)

K.34 MV (C/U)

Seksyen 119(2)

is in violation of the above section or wadeva.

So simply saying, if u change ur hood or any parts of your car to non standard accessories/parts, it is illegal.

Thats y its up to the JPJ officer whether he is in a good mood or not, which will determine its illegal or not =p

but then this is just my 1sen view. any other views? :p

speedking said:
no one answer my question....may be im not a R3 owner...never mind then...

Haiyah why so small gas, if you notice carefully even R3 owners dont get answers lah!!

Wow. Quite a lot of conversation i missed. This is what half a day away from the PC does.

wavo, you can get them from the places mentioned by Crash. I'm not sure if R3 will personally fit them for you, but I guess it depends on what parts you're buying. Standard plug n play stuff should be easily done at the mentioned PE centres.

speedking, a lot depends on the mood and intelligence of the JPJ officer involved. Even legal tinting can get an inspection notice. So it really depends on your luck. For best results, keep a photocopy of the R3 receipt for the CF hood in your car. Any problems with JPJ just show it to them. If they saman you, send all documentation to R3.

putra_dreamin, I would recommend getting the car back to stock condition before performing any other mods. No point trying to make it more powerful if there is already an underlying problem. Before deciding on which tuner to go, know what you want to do. Leaving complete trust in the hands of an unknown foreman isn't wise. Be specific. Know your stuff. You may even get discounts more easily (since you seem smarter). Here are some things you can do first:

- send to Proton SC for MUT checking. This will reveal any problems with the electronics and also show the fuel/ignition map. They can also use this data to perform a tune-up back to factory spec.
- being about 5 years old, perhaps it may need some good ol' fashioned carbon cleaning
- clean the throttle body
- change air filter

Once the engine is in tip-top condition, then only will modifications be fun :)

O.o

prozac said:
Wow. Quite a lot of conversation i missed. This is what half a day away from the PC does.

wavo, you can get them from the places mentioned by Crash. I'm not sure if R3 will personally fit them for you, but I guess it depends on what parts you're buying. Standard plug n play stuff should be easily done at the mentioned PE centres.

speedking, a lot depends on the mood and intelligence of the JPJ officer involved. Even legal tinting can get an inspection notice. So it really depends on your luck. For best results, keep a photocopy of the R3 receipt for the CF hood in your car. Any problems with JPJ just show it to them. If they saman you, send all documentation to R3.

putra_dreamin, I would recommend getting the car back to stock condition before performing any other mods. No point trying to make it more powerful if there is already an underlying problem. Before deciding on which tuner to go, know what you want to do. Leaving complete trust in the hands of an unknown foreman isn't wise. Be specific. Know your stuff. You may even get discounts more easily (since you seem smarter). Here are some things you can do first:

- send to Proton SC for MUT checking. This will reveal any problems with the electronics and also show the fuel/ignition map. They can also use this data to perform a tune-up back to factory spec.
- being about 5 years old, perhaps it may need some good ol' fashioned carbon cleaning
- clean the throttle body
- change air filter

Once the engine is in tip-top condition, then only will modifications be fun :)

Cool, thanks for the info. Yeah actually im looking for a place that can diagnose the car on its current issues n then maybe get it going a little better than its original state. The owner's a lady. so no point making it a 10 sec car :p.

hurm, din knw that R3 CF hood is 'legal'. its basically the same hood as a normal wira/putra/satria right? so if a wira/putra/satria installs this hood, then can consider 'legal' oso?

I'd like to add that a dirty/faulty O2 sensor may reduce performance. Get that checked too.

lude said:
off topic..

anyone know a good place to send for polishing.. sending for 1st service tmrw and thought id do something bout the hideous spots on the hood..

I just got back from Autoglym in Sunway, try them. I just went for a wash though. Meticulous, and reasonable - RM12 only!

I finally got my rear 'slicks' changed for replacement AD07s at Hup Shun, Sunway. A much-needed replacement, with a track day and SSO round the corner.

Prozac, in his super SR3 was generous enough to let me test out his little monster.

All I have to say is, if you want performance - go Stage 2! It sure explains why prozac has been walking with a smirk for a couple of days already. Was wondering if it was a permanent feature.

The way it pulled away from my SR3 after the R3 TT the other night was evidence of the power behind the Stage 2 cams. Absolutely yummilicious!

Pulling from 1st at the lights, then quickly 2nd is something to savour. This baby is quick. Power starts pretty early, as low as 2500rpm, then pulls strongly from 5000rpm to 7500rpm! Flooring it in 3rd is really delicious. It's addictive how responsive the car is.

I highly recommend an upgrade for those interested in real performance gains. At RM1.6K per pair, I say it's a real value-for-money mod. If only the SR3 rolled out of production like this. That really would be something!

And you know what else? At idle, it burbles... like a semi-race cam! Nice!