R3-Satria (gti)

Thanks to the warm welcome guys.

Why does everybody hate the Siemens ECU? What advantage does the Mitsu ECU hold. In stock form I guess it is all the same. But there are always piggy backs. :P

If I am not mistaken the R3 team has re-write the Siemens ECU to a different map as the old GTI. Anyone from R3 can confirm this?

waaaaaaaaaaaaaahh

bro Crash, nice nice!! :P
hehehehehe

can now concentrate on the driving! :P

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Apr 13 2005, 02:41
waaaaaaaaaaaaaahh

bro Crash, nice nice!! https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' />
hehehehehe

can now concentrate on the driving! https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' />
[snapback]892166[/snapback]​

Yeah cool....... :D

Anybody here using Pipercross? I think Crash does... any feedback / comments on the product?

I'm thinking of installing Pipercross Venom... does anybody have any info / opinion about the product? Does it come together with Pipercross Air Filter? Is it possible to just purchase the CAI? Price? :)

Originally posted by buahdurian@Apr 14 2005, 11:11
Anybody here using Pipercross? I think Crash does... any feedback / comments on the product?

I'm thinking of installing Pipercross Venom... does anybody have any info / opinion about the product? Does it come together with Pipercross Air Filter? Is it possible to just purchase the CAI? Price? https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />
[snapback]896300[/snapback]​

Just had my car dyno'd at Links with and without the Venom. Will post up the before/after charts when I get back from work :)

Originally posted by prozac+Apr 14 2005, 11:18 -->
QUOTE(prozac @ Apr 14 2005, 11:18 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />
[/b]

Just had my car dyno'd at Links with and without the Venom. Will post up the before/after charts when I get back from work https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />
[snapback]896324[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

Durian, the guys at links said "R3" fuel mapping is superb. The venom added 1bhp

any r3 dude here searching for racing harness belt.

i have one 3 point belt (blue) =rm280

i have four 4 point belt (blue) =rm320 for 1set

i have two 5 point belt (red and black) (clip type) =rm 520 for 1set

sorry black in colour dont have......finish already and only crash aka verne have it...lucky bugger..hehehe

Originally posted by buahdurian@Apr 14 2005, 11:11

I'm thinking of installing Pipercross Venom... does anybody have any info / opinion about the product? Does it come together with Pipercross Air Filter? Is it possible to just purchase the CAI? Price? https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />

I am not using the Venom. When I was driving my 1.8 Persona, I was advised by Adian of then Team Matrix, to install a drop-in PiperCross and CAI instead of the RM1.3K carbon-fibre Viper which I intended to purchase.

The Venom is a cheaper version of the Viper and does not come in the trick CF casing.

An air intake/filter upgrade does not always translate into substantial power improvement (as shown during the recent demo at Links), but throttle response is certainly different from stock. Performance gains will almost always depend on whether the stock intake is restrictive or not. The stock GTi/Wira 1.8/SR3 air intake system seems pretty good in stock form.

I gained a couple of hp with the PiperCross upgrade. Something I'm sure nobody's butt dyno can differentiate (I mean its only a couple of hp!). It's the improved throttle response and raspy intake noise that you can feel and experience, not so much gains in numbers.

The Links test was actually disappointing for me, as I expected better gains on paper than my cheaper drop-in + CAI solution. However, I felt that the kit was not installed in a proper manner during the install. The CAI should always be in an area with still/dense/cool air, and not how it was set-up then. Another thing to note was the absence of the bell-mouth initially. This makes quite a difference with cold/hot air pressure. I also find the CAI pipe too short for optimum performance.

Until we get better results from further tests, which Links offered with free dynos on a guinea pig car (that's yours Prozac!), I personally would not recommend the Venom simply because of the cost of the upgrade. Better off with a drop-in and a CAI. As good performance for half the price.

Hope this helps, dood.

BTW, I've been told that my 3-point harness is mounted too low. In event of a crash, I would break my collarbone. Yipes. Using the stock mounting points, I'm just wondering of an alternative point where I can install it, since I don't have a rollcage. (would be nice, but hey, it's a road car!).

Coming from an experienced racer, I am listening to his advice although I'd like an opinion from another expert :)

Looking at the charts, there isn't much rise in the torque or HP peak figures. But mind you, these are peak figures and only occur for about 100-200rpm; a very brief amount of time during real driving. What you should look out for is the overall rise in torque from 3000-5200rpm. So no doubt peak torque has only increased by 2NM, but we're talking about a 5NM overall increase across the rev range.

Not that you'll notice the extra kick, but overtaking should be fairly easier, and the somewhat lethargic response should be a lot better from 3000rpm onwards. But for RM800(inclusive of CAI), I can't really conclude if the Pipercross Venom is a good buy. However, some might point out that the Siemens/MAP system isn't conducive to mods such as this. Thus resulting in the "meagre" results.

In the end, most 4G93P owners would instead recommend a simple Pipercross drop-in due to its price/performance ratio. But if you really want your engine bay to look really cool AND have some performance gains, the Venom is a way cheaper alternative than the Viper.

[attachmentid=47994]

Originally posted by Crash@Apr 14 2005, 19:55
In event of a crash, I would break my collarbone.
[snapback]897836[/snapback]​

Pun not intended eh? :lol:

Originally posted by prozac+Apr 14 2005, 22:51 -->
QUOTE(prozac @ Apr 14 2005, 22:51 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />
[snapback]898344[/snapback]​
[/b]

MUAHAHHAHAH

dude anyone know a r3 wif plate no. wms 5X

cant remember... speeding away behind centrepoint bu..
hehehe

Originally posted by tombstone@Apr 14 2005, 23:50

hehehe
[snapback]898540[/snapback]​

I don't think anyone driving an SR3 can help it. I mean if you are gonna drive at 60km/h, would you drive an SR3? Heh.

aiya bro the road quite bad what behind there...

anyway me driving slowly wif gf..wanna go MC D tahpau somthing la..

suddenly whoosh...tot what car...cheh...r3 oni ..hahah

my gti shakin liao..hahaha.. no la jk ..actually i wanted to see closer lor so i gave chase, too bad once i very near liao, then havta pusing masuk mcD

no chance to see it side by side..what to do...abit gayat la..never see r3 so close b4 ma...altho we are cuz...hahah

;)

Originally posted by tombstone@Apr 15 2005, 02:15
aiya bro the road quite bad what behind there...

anyway me driving slowly wif gf..wanna go MC D tahpau somthing la..

suddenly whoosh...tot what car...cheh...r3 oni ..hahah

my gti shakin liao..hahaha.. no la jk ..actually i wanted to see closer lor so i gave chase, too bad once i very near liao, then havta pusing masuk mcD

no chance to see it side by side..what to do...abit gayat la..never see r3 so close b4 ma...altho we are cuz...hahah

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif alt='wink.gif' />
[snapback]898850[/snapback]​

Tombstone, if you wanna see an R3 upclose, come join our TT session lah!!

Originally posted by tombstone@Apr 14 2005, 23:50

hehehe
[snapback]898540[/snapback]​

saw that car few weeks ago oso in bu.. a girl was driving with some passengers.. looked like they were having a test drive session

Originally posted by shin_sen_group@Apr 15 2005, 15:03
i wonder anyone from jaybee has bought R3? cos so far me havent spot any R3 in jaybee...
[snapback]900389[/snapback]​

Yah LO.... Anyone from Jaybee ar??? Where to service in JB ar? Can service at any proton edar workshop that services GTI?