Oil catch tank question

bb1-man

Hallo sifus,

last weekend i went to one of the reputable workshops in sunway to install an oil catch tank.

after installation, the workshop guy recommended that the exit end of the host be 'breathed' out to open air instead of reconnected to the intake.

my question, is this true? i thought the whole point of OCT is to filter oil residue so that the air can be flowed back to intake.

2nd question, WHERE is the nozzle for reconnection to intake on E4? i can't find it at all! im using stock standard hoses.

helpp

Hallo sifus,

last weekend i went to one of the reputable workshops in sunway to install an oil catch tank.

after installation, the workshop guy recommended that the exit end of the host be 'breathed' out to open air instead of reconnected to the intake.

my question, is this true? i thought the whole point of OCT is to filter oil residue so that the air can be flowed back to intake.

2nd question, WHERE is the nozzle for reconnection to intake on E4? i can't find it at all! im using stock standard hoses.

helpp

Hi bro bb1-man,

As far as i know, my OCT outlet also left it into open air as for the intake hole was close up with a stopper provided by the Cusco OCT. This what i know for E9.

As for the nozzle for reconnection into the intake, i think should be also at the intake hose ... correct ar? any other E4 sifu can help clarify?

Just my 2 Cent!:_:

Bro, I think easier if you post a pic of your current oil catch setup...
Cheers...

valve cover got a hole to vent those oil vapor out to intake hose.

the nozzle on the intake hose,sure got.unless u using aftermarket hose.but most after market hose got the nozzle

i prefer to vent it to open air,cleaner for the engine

valve cover got 2 holes.one to the intake manifold,one to the intake hose

normally oct got 2 holes,i custom made one with 3 holes.so 2 going in and one hose vent to air

heres mine:X-:

engg.jpg

thanks for the replies guys. So we've concluded that most of our setups are with outlet venting to air.

Problem is, im trying to find the damn intake nozzle to make sure whether its closed or not.

Will post pics as soon as i can!