Need advice on double sided tape

Lepakboy

Hi Guru's,

I'm having some issues attaching my boost controller to my Supra's console. I'm currently attaching it just below the steering wheel dash with Ace Hardware double sided tape (they say its automotive grade but it doesn't seem to hold), but it keeps falling off. Is there another solution I can use to attach the boost controller without actually drilling in a bracket? Your advice is much appreciated.

Wipe the dash with alchohol and make sure it's completely void of any wax or whatever you use to clean the dash. Then only stick the 3M tape on the dry surface. You need to really wipe the alchohol into that part of the dash and be warned : It will discolour a bit

Cheers, I'll look out for the 3M variety. As for the alcohol, I presume its rubbing alcohol? Any particular brand you guys use or will the generic variety do? Just interested in knowing the % required.

any solvent would do...petrol also can to clean it up...

-if not just use sunlight dishwasher soap

lepak : Rubbing alchohol. No point wasting good Jack Daniels on the dashboard! :burnout:

brothers accs shop do sell 3m double sided, rm20.
but its good shit......

if you willing to spend more.. use acrylic based double side tape... its like clear chewing gum..