Modification that will viod insurance

-storm-

Modification that will void insurance

I was wondering what modification will void car insurance, such as exhaust mod, mayb air filter, muffler , bigger rims and etc.

Can anyone share thier experience with me?:_:

modding ur engine will void insurance...
not sure about exhaust and intakes though...
change bigger rims doesnt void insurance....

modding might not void warranty but if can got accident within warranty the might blaim on your mod and never cover....which i see this kinda of cases before...

Wrong. It will only void insurance is u fail to declare the new engine / transmission after conversion. That's how I got my insurance revoked during my last accident. Why? Because I forgotten to declare the new engine number to the insurance company. I only declare it at JPJ after passing the inspection with flying colours. Damn it! :(

acbc said:
Wrong. It will only void insurance is u fail to declare the new engine / transmission after conversion. That's how I got my insurance revoked during my last accident. Why? Because I forgotten to declare the new engine number to the insurance company. I only declare it at JPJ after passing the inspection with flying colours. Damn it! :(

But i not changing engine also! :emoticon_U:
Hehe....exhaust dont have number how to declare? and air filter also dont have number!

Agree with acbc. I also refer to my insurance agent which insurance wouldn't void unless you didn't inform them you had change your car engine number.

After you register at JPJ, you will get a letter that show your engine been change. So, what u need to do next step is, call and fax the support document to your insurance agent to ensure the enginee number is change also. Otherwise, your insurance will void when a accident.

You can always consult your insurance agent regarding this issue. :)

CheerS~~~

good topic as i got a real good question for everyone

is it FLOATING UP the bonet will viod the insurance coverage if any accident happen?

i just did mine not long ago....the machanic told me Insurance Company won't compensate u after u floated up the bonet if u involved in any accident wo....

so sifu and bro here.....how?

Generally,

Non of LEGAL modifications will void insurance coverage, inclusive of Engine swap, Bigger rims, straight racing piping, Upgraded brakes, tacho timers around the dash, sports steering, GT Wings.

You guys know wats i meant by LEGAL up there?, after any major modifications done to your car, you must reimburse back or inform the insurance agency about the status of your car. In my opinion, Converting EVO, GSR or turbo charged engine maybe a little bit expensive compared existing coverage of ure car as stock, this is because u have done alteration to factory standard car.

Any major modifications should be refered and informed to the insurance company for them to know, so if u involved in any bad incident or accident, they will be able to recover back your car. Because you have already informed them.

Insurance agency do allow modifications by refering to them.

Unfortunately, lets say u have crashed and totaled the EVO engine, they only able to recover your car as stock / factory standard back again.

The information i shared above is from my experience from one of my friend and its general.

great info... man

However, it is better consult with your insurance agent regarding your modification. To ensure everything is settle without hassle lahh...

if u transplanted engine, get it register at jpj.

if ur car is equipeed lot of aksesori, make sure u listed them up when u buy insurance. otherwise it wont be on cover list when ur car involve in accident.

sports steering canot be too small, 10inch is not allowed last time. not sure bout now. so better put back ur original steering if involve in accident.

and if ur car is modded, make sure u keep all the receipts/bills. coz insurance/adjusters need to see it once ur car involve in insurance claim.

all modded items / aksesori tat is not included in ur insurance list when u buy insurance. they only wil compesate u based on ur stock parts only.

my2cent

gohkokeng said:
is it FLOATING UP the bonet will viod the insurance coverage if any accident happen?

i just did mine not long ago....the machanic told me Insurance Company won't compensate u after u floated up the bonet if u involved in any accident wo....

this should be no problems....

ur mechanic know insurance claim procedure o not>? most probably he bluff u kawkaw one....:_:

The insurance could always void if your insurence agent not professional enuff... some of the insurence agent just like to earn money.. even do something could recover ur accident cost.. becozz of they wanna to earn more.. just tell u ur previous insurance not cover.. you have to buy a new 1.. this really "BULLSXXT" lohhhh...

Change car enginee number its not any big problem.. since JPJ also allow this.. important you go thru all JPJ procedure is needed... unless you had modify till ur car like Aeroplane lohhh... OR extremely n broke JPJ rules kao kao.. then nothing to said lohh... hahahah...

:shades_smile:

wei is it true that what i upgraded and changed like:

Carb intake pipe + Apexi air filter + 2 Rubbers + 1 ram extension
9.2mm Spark Cable + Bosch Super 4
Zenden 4-2-1 + Bullet + Monza Muffler
Pioneer MP3 Player

everything list down and photostat receipts to insurance agent ah?

dangerous wo......got my every details.....somemore tell him what i upgraded and changed lol......

gohkokeng said:
wei is it true that what i upgraded and changed like:

Carb intake pipe + Apexi air filter + 2 Rubbers + 1 ram extension
9.2mm Spark Cable + Bosch Super 4
Zenden 4-2-1 + Bullet + Monza Muffler
Pioneer MP3 Player

everything list down and photostat receipts to insurance agent ah?

dangerous wo......got my every details.....somemore tell him what i upgraded and changed lol......

tat only small items....normally ppl cover bodykit,sports rim...etc..which u hv to pay more for it.

for the things u upgraded, if damage when accident. they wil compensate u the standard parts price. however, it is between you n the workshop. whether they wanna put bc ur stuff or just gv u the standard parts. tat u gotta nego/discuss wit the panel workshop itself

my2cent

ok so now if i want all my upgrades, accessories, modifications & whatever to be covered with insurance,

1st i need to list down all the things with recipts? Then when renewal of insurance give those to the agent? will the price policy increase? hahaha

gohkokeng said:
ok so now if i want all my upgrades, accessories, modifications & whatever to be covered with insurance,

1st i need to list down all the things with recipts? Then when renewal of insurance give those to the agent? will the price policy increase? hahaha

example....if u transplanted to GSR turbo intercooler or some japan bodykit which jpj approved, u gotta inform insurance so when u accident. u can claim back

if u didnt inform, and lets say ur Wira is using Front EVO3 ORI bonnet,bumper,fender...etc....

if accident, they will now pay u for EVO bodykit...just wira bodykit...

minor mod like air filter, extractor, strut bar normaly dun need inform.tat is consider accesories... hv to pay more if u wan it to get covered.

front windscreen oso hv to buy insurance separately, otherwise u cant get it claim if ur windscreen pecah suddenly.

hope u get my meaning.

corect me if im wrong

my2cent:_:

gohkokeng said:

The ins premium ofcause will increase, just like u buy a note book insurance (personal item), if not just clm back the stock one (might not be original/2nd hand) due to car's age will affect the clm value of the part too.