Reply to thread
See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Car Clubs
Car Club Categories
Mitsubishi Lancer Owners Club
MLOC (Lancer MX,MR,Mivec,Evo) report in.
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="Slivia" data-source="post: 1293123" data-attributes="member: 3472"><p></p><p><span style="color: #696969">This is a tricky question for what enigne oil to use, there have several good brand of engine oil in our market like HKS, Motul, Redline, AMSOIL & etc. So for which brand to used, is up to your own liking. Basically when come to choose a good engine oil will have few factor.</span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span> </p><p><span style="color: #696969">1. <span style="color: black"><strong>What viscosity you need</strong>?</span> Thicker or thiner? thicker = better protection but engine will be heavier; thinner = less protection, but engine feel more responsive. For turbo car like us using 10W<span style="color: blue">50</span>, 20W<span style="color: blue">50</span> or any ?W<span style="color: blue">50</span><span style="color: dimgray">, bcos our turbo charge engine temperature is higher compare to NA engine, thus we need thicker oil to protect our engine even running under harsh condition of hot temperature & provide stable performance even at high temperature. </span><span style="color: black"><strong>BUT </strong></span><span style="color: dimgray">it doesnt mean, as long as you choose a Thicker oil 20W50 or 20W60, your engine will have enuf protection, because every type of oil will have a different <strong><span style="color: black">Viscosity Index</span></strong>. 1 oil might have good viscosity during low temperaute, but not during high temperature. a good enigne oil will still maintain a good viscosity to protect your engine during high temperature.</span></span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span> </p><p><span style="color: #696969"><span style="color: black"><span style="color: dimgray">2.</span><strong> Choose a oil with good Viscosity Index (VI).</strong></span> Viscosity has an <span style="color: dimgray">inverse relationship with temperature Viscosity decreases with increasing</span> temperature (the oil thins out) and viscosity rises with decreasing temperature (the oil thickens). The lower the VI, the greater the change of visc of the oil with temperature. </span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: #696969">3. <span style="color: black"><strong>Please go for 100% synthetic.</strong></span> why? </span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span></p><p><span style="color: #696969">There are several key advantages to using Synthetic Oils: <ol> <li data-xf-list-type="ol">Synthetic oils have a higher viscosity index than mineral base oils. Synthetics have better resistance to thinning at high temperatures and thickening at low temperatures.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol">Since synthetics have little or no VIIs, synthetics last longer in service without radical changes in viscosity.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol">Synthetics have a much higher film strength than petroleum oils, so it take a lot longer for the oil to drain completely off your bearings and into your sump.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol">Heat is a major cause of lubricating oils failing while in service. Mineral oils begin to fail at 250°F. Synthetic oils can handle 400°F of continuous heat caused by friction and combustion.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol">Synthetics have better thermal stability and oxidation stability than most highly refined mineral base oils with inhibitor additives.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol">Synthetics have very low volatility compared to mineral base oils. Synthetics don't tend to burn off.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol">Synthetics possess unusual solvent power for dissolving gasoline and diesel fuel residues which enter the crankcase as contaminant byproducts from combustion.</li> </ol><p></span> </p><p><span style="color: #696969">4. <strong><span style="color: black">Value for money.</span></strong> Of cause it will not be a factor if your are loaded lah, then can go for those hoghest range. Spend your money wisely, if your car is ori, standard, street spec engine oil will provide enough protection to your engine, ofcause . If your car is modded, then u should choose racing spec engine oil to provide maximun protection to your car to prevent bearing burn out & other wear & tear problem.</span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: #696969">Motor oil is the life blood of a vehicle, not many ppl consider motor oil until there is a problem. why i know this? haha, bcos i'm 1 of this "ppl"..haha :)</span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span> </p><p> </p><p><span style="color: #696969">So now is the bussines time...kekeke :_: </span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span> </p><p><span style="color: #696969">I have this oil called Sunoco from Japan, http://www.sunoco.co.jp/english/product/racing/index.html </span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span> </p><p><span style="color: #696969">on hand now i have:</span></p><p><span style="color: #696969">For Racing : Xpower 12.5W40 & 17.5W50</span></p><p><span style="color: #696969">For Street : Ultra Synthetic 5W40 & 5W50</span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span> </p><p><span style="color: #696969">I'm giving special rate for MLOC member ONLY!!</span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span> </p><p><span style="color: #696969">For those who is interested can PM me or call me at 012-2698971 for your member price...:)</span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span> </p><p><span style="color: #696969">Anyway, hope what i share with you can help you in choosing your own Engine Oil. :shades_smile: </span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span></p><p><span style="color: #696969"></span> </p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Slivia, post: 1293123, member: 3472"] [COLOR=#696969][/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969]This is a tricky question for what enigne oil to use, there have several good brand of engine oil in our market like HKS, Motul, Redline, AMSOIL & etc. So for which brand to used, is up to your own liking. Basically when come to choose a good engine oil will have few factor. [/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969]1. [COLOR=black][B]What viscosity you need[/B]?[/COLOR] Thicker or thiner? thicker = better protection but engine will be heavier; thinner = less protection, but engine feel more responsive. For turbo car like us using 10W[COLOR=blue]50[/COLOR], 20W[COLOR=blue]50[/COLOR] or any ?W[COLOR=blue]50[/COLOR][COLOR=dimgray], bcos our turbo charge engine temperature is higher compare to NA engine, thus we need thicker oil to protect our engine even running under harsh condition of hot temperature & provide stable performance even at high temperature. [/COLOR][COLOR=black][B]BUT [/B][/COLOR][COLOR=dimgray]it doesnt mean, as long as you choose a Thicker oil 20W50 or 20W60, your engine will have enuf protection, because every type of oil will have a different [B][COLOR=black]Viscosity Index[/COLOR][/B]. 1 oil might have good viscosity during low temperaute, but not during high temperature. a good enigne oil will still maintain a good viscosity to protect your engine during high temperature.[/COLOR] [/COLOR][COLOR=#696969][/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969][COLOR=black][COLOR=dimgray]2.[/COLOR][B] Choose a oil with good Viscosity Index (VI).[/B][/COLOR] Viscosity has an [COLOR=dimgray]inverse relationship with temperature Viscosity decreases with increasing[/COLOR] temperature (the oil thins out) and viscosity rises with decreasing temperature (the oil thickens). The lower the VI, the greater the change of visc of the oil with temperature. [/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969][/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969]3. [COLOR=black][B]Please go for 100% synthetic.[/B][/COLOR] why? There are several key advantages to using Synthetic Oils: [LIST=1] [*]Synthetic oils have a higher viscosity index than mineral base oils. Synthetics have better resistance to thinning at high temperatures and thickening at low temperatures. [*]Since synthetics have little or no VIIs, synthetics last longer in service without radical changes in viscosity. [*]Synthetics have a much higher film strength than petroleum oils, so it take a lot longer for the oil to drain completely off your bearings and into your sump. [*]Heat is a major cause of lubricating oils failing while in service. Mineral oils begin to fail at 250°F. Synthetic oils can handle 400°F of continuous heat caused by friction and combustion. [*]Synthetics have better thermal stability and oxidation stability than most highly refined mineral base oils with inhibitor additives. [*]Synthetics have very low volatility compared to mineral base oils. Synthetics don't tend to burn off. [*]Synthetics possess unusual solvent power for dissolving gasoline and diesel fuel residues which enter the crankcase as contaminant byproducts from combustion.[/LIST][/COLOR][COLOR=#696969][/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969]4. [B][COLOR=black]Value for money.[/COLOR][/B] Of cause it will not be a factor if your are loaded lah, then can go for those hoghest range. Spend your money wisely, if your car is ori, standard, street spec engine oil will provide enough protection to your engine, ofcause . If your car is modded, then u should choose racing spec engine oil to provide maximun protection to your car to prevent bearing burn out & other wear & tear problem.[/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969][/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969]Motor oil is the life blood of a vehicle, not many ppl consider motor oil until there is a problem. why i know this? haha, bcos i'm 1 of this "ppl"..haha :) [/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969][/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969]So now is the bussines time...kekeke :_: [/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969]I have this oil called Sunoco from Japan, http://www.sunoco.co.jp/english/product/racing/index.html [/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969]on hand now i have: For Racing : Xpower 12.5W40 & 17.5W50 For Street : Ultra Synthetic 5W40 & 5W50 [/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969]I'm giving special rate for MLOC member ONLY!! [/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969]For those who is interested can PM me or call me at 012-2698971 for your member price...:) [/COLOR] [COLOR=#696969]Anyway, hope what i share with you can help you in choosing your own Engine Oil. :shades_smile: [/COLOR][COLOR=dimgray][/COLOR] [COLOR=dimgray][/COLOR] [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
Perodua Alza convert new facelift body parts
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW E60 Msport Body Kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 M3 mperformance front skirt lip
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda City 2014~19year Drive68 body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Perodua Alza gear up body kit / spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Proton Saga Mix body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Mitsubishi Lancer JS GTwing spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda Civic FD TypeR body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Proton Satria GTi body kit / Evo front bonnet hood
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 gts front bonnet hood with scoop
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Aston Martin Running a Hydrogen-Powered Rapide S in the Nurburgring 24-Hours!
https://www.zerotohundred.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/am-rapide_1.jpg
Aside from the cute little Cygnet, Aston Martin is well known for their luxurious Gran Tourers housing extra-large V12s, ferrying the...
how to DIY wira dashboard panel?? help
calling all sifus, my dashbod panel now is wooden type (the one covering around aircond panel, radio player and meter). pretty ugly to me coz nuting in my car hav dat wooden design. plan to use carbon fiber sticker...
DIY Replacing eterna's dashboard light controller
Simple... Just plug and play. Click here -> http://kruger.fotopic.net/c1137728.html
Recent Posts
Performance Tire Prices(Pls Contribute The Price & Location to buy)
Started by
JINEIL2EN
Car Modification
Tire Price list Zth
Started by
xbalance2002
Wheel And Tyre
Paging for Hyundai Coupe owner, CCGT @ 28th May 2005
Started by
BlackSamurai
The Hyundai Coupe Club
New GR Yaris Automatic & GR Supra Track Edition Now in Malaysia
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
2025 Volvo EX90 Wins World Luxury Car Award
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Log-in
for an ad-less experience
Home
Forums
Car Clubs
Car Club Categories
Mitsubishi Lancer Owners Club
MLOC (Lancer MX,MR,Mivec,Evo) report in.