Mivec Club

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused
Hi guys!

would like to ask u all a question. what piping size would u all recommend for a 1.8 mivec set-up for optimal performance? im currently on a 3 inch piping and wondering if its better to go 2.5" or 2.3" for better accelaration and top end.

my engine is very very hot after some city driving. cant even touch the bonnet as it is that hot. ive checked the radiator and theres rust in it and no coolent so i just flushed out the radiator and added new coolent. q: any other way to reduce engine temp? temp indicator is just arund the half mark.

appreciate your feedback! thanks!

hey, I'm driving a satria gti, 4g93p engine. how and where should I begin in changing to a Mivec head?? how does the whole process work? Anyone can help me??? Thanks!

Piping

MonsterTacho said:
Hi guys!

would like to ask u all a question. what piping size would u all recommend for a 1.8 mivec set-up for optimal performance? im currently on a 3 inch piping and wondering if its better to go 2.5" or 2.3" for better accelaration and top end.

my engine is very very hot after some city driving. cant even touch the bonnet as it is that hot. ive checked the radiator and theres rust in it and no coolent so i just flushed out the radiator and added new coolent. q: any other way to reduce engine temp? temp indicator is just arund the half mark.

My 1.6 mivec oso using 2.5" to 3" piping la...no problem i think....still so power...
I read an article bout exhaust piping from a overseas mag ( forgot it's name ) they said u can install piping as big as u can afford... and there is no such thing as back pressure wor... if u use a back pressure meter to measure..dunno if it's true...LOL

But honestly, i really dont understand. vtecs are using 2.2", 2.3" piping for 1.6L and 2.5" for 1.8L...and this is the max they go (i think so la). Never heard of 1.8L using 3" (overkill?). But so far, in my car , its quite power lo...

So i start to wonder. Will a 1.8L using a 2.2 or 2.3" inch piping get better performance(HP) than a 3" pipe in terms of overall ability.

Note: all pipings mentioned are straight flow.

hey man, to all the mivec kaki !wah long time didn't sign in this forums, so coming this friday tt ah ?!! add me in if your guys are comfirm ! and after TT we go to long kai section woh !!! hahaha kaki gatar !
speedking, come out and have a drink lah !
ah loon, i have no time to check my email start from monday untill friday.. so if your guys are going TT, can u please inform me ? thanks you !

MonsterTacho said:
Hi guys!

Bro ur piping is 2.5 from front till back not 3 lah 3inch is for turbo engine

ykyong said:
speedking, come out and have a drink lah !

yong, is not that i dont wanna come out...is just that my ECU confirm kong liao...car engine cant even start...
that night before ECu kong, i was in KL...engine mati few times while accelerating...damn takut...luckly engine still can restart and able to drive home...how lucky i am...
until the next morning...car totally cannot start..:(
now my mech bring my ECU to fix...

Loon, thks for searching an ECU for me, the price is very cheap...but i cant afford it...why? because i want to rechip it as well :p...and also i still want the 4-1 extractor...so not enuff money...

after my ECU come back, i call u out again for rechip...hahahahahaha :p
And guys if u all have TT coming friday...good luck for u all...

and one more thing, i tested loon's rechip ECU...
the result was damn syok :) ....really recommend la...fuiiyoooo...

Zeneger: shit, thanks for correcting me dude...hehehe

Speedking: so, mr loon's re-chip increase hp or not? hows da mivec kick?

MonsterTacho said:
Zeneger: shit, thanks for correcting me dude...hehehe

Speedking: so, mr loon's re-chip increase hp or not? hows da mivec kick?

mivec kick in that time, i can feel the car pull very fast...
even before mivec kick in also can feel the pull...
all the way to 8900rpm man...no joke

dynoed loon's chip......

before rechip i dynoed my car at speedworks......
131 wheel hp

after rechip can feel the pull.......

dynoed at N1 143 wheel hp.....
with some new stuff inside
eg. 18" downpipe = 1hp
ngk plug cable= 1hp

so u can see, loon's chip giv me around 10 wheel hp by just rechip.....

btw, my car is stock 1.6 mivec nia... :D

loon... my secrect recipe....leh? :D

kwai said:
dynoed loon's chip......

before rechip i dynoed my car at speedworks......
131 wheel hp

after rechip can feel the pull.......

dynoed at N1 143 wheel hp.....
with some new stuff inside
eg. 18" downpipe = 1hp
ngk plug cable= 1hp

so u can see, loon's chip giv me around 10 wheel hp by just rechip.....

btw, my car is stock 1.6 mivec nia... :D

loon... my secrect recipe....leh? :D

kwai...wat is 18" downpipe???? so big??? :o

speedking said:
kwai...wat is 18" downpipe???? so big??? :o

That the length of the 2-1 downpipe ....

Sorry guy ... this month i almost die off .... busy that busy this .... anyway i will still lock in to check lar .....

And thank SpeedKing and Kwai for promoting the chip .... anyway if anyone interested just give me a ring .....

And Taiko MonsterTacho .... i myself have prepare the chip for ur car .... this i have be promised Ken to done .... so dun worry about the power .... test and u will feel it ....

pls confirm the TT .... !!!! i need to confirm my schedule ... thank u ...

MonsterTacho said:
But honestly, i really dont understand. vtecs are using 2.2", 2.3" piping for 1.6L and 2.5" for 1.8L...and this is the max they go (i think so la). Never heard of 1.8L using 3" (overkill?). But so far, in my car , its quite power lo...

So i start to wonder. Will a 1.8L using a 2.2 or 2.3" inch piping get better performance(HP) than a 3" pipe in terms of overall ability.

Note: all pipings mentioned are straight flow.

Helloo .. taiko MonsterTacho ... i have a good recommendation ...
just change ur mivec extractor 4-2-1 to 4-1 .... that very power oh ...... believe me .... very powerful .....

GTi9158 said:
hey, I'm driving a satria gti, 4g93p engine. how and where should I begin in changing to a Mivec head?? how does the whole process work? Anyone can help me??? Thanks!

is nice to meet u GTI9158 .....
u have a good question here ..... first of all get a mivec wiring, mivec ecu, mivec intake manifold with map sensor and throttle body, mivec cylinder head, toyota 7M timing belt ... i think this will cost u more than 2.5k .....
if u want better response change the mivec piston too lar .... but need to retune the ignition timing for the car ...

if u want to convert it .. i can recommend some workshop around KL ...

mr henryfong aka ah loon kor (c...even u know your other name)

y u so powderful wan ah? u r the real tai kor man. im just an idiot who didnt even know my own piping size! ken had to correct me hahaha how embarassing man.

anyway, when can i meet up with you to test the potato chip :) can pm me your h/p no?

4-1 piping ive thought about it but need to discuss further with you veterans b4 doing anything further.

hi guys.. long time since i post in here.. wah.. welcome to the club bro monstertacho.. u got yrself a monster car from bro zenegar there.. take good care of it.. :)
seems u want to make it more powerful leh.. good luck.. try ah loon's chip. they said its good..

ah loon.. can story me abit about J5 chip?.. i dunno a thing about this..

gibod_78 said:
hi guys.. long time since i post in here.. wah.. welcome to the club bro monstertacho.. u got yrself a monster car from bro zenegar there.. take good care of it.. :)
seems u want to make it more powerful leh.. good luck.. try ah loon's chip. they said its good..

ah loon.. can story me abit about J5 chip?.. i dunno a thing about this..

Emh .... no comment about J5 lar .... n i very good friend with Charlie .. so i dun wan to chat all this thing in the forum .... if u really wan to know more about that .. just call me lar .....

012-6683627 @ ahLoon

MonsterTacho said:
mr henryfong aka ah loon kor (c...even u know your other name)

y u so powderful wan ah? u r the real tai kor man. im just an idiot who didnt even know my own piping size! ken had to correct me hahaha how embarassing man.

anyway, when can i meet up with you to test the potato chip :) can pm me your h/p no?

4-1 piping ive thought about it but need to discuss further with you veterans b4 doing anything further.

Anyway MonsterTacho .... i just a little small fellow here .... everyone in the forum know that ... haha ..... u can just give me a call anytime ... 2molo i free all afternoon time .... if u want to meet up .. come to subang SS15 gazeboo there ... i working around there ....