Honda Diet Program (Lighten Your Car)

i think i wan to change the sunrup glass to a plastic la maybe can lighten a bit hermmmm

remove ekon ....kompressor...blower all remove lah...use 6" multipurpose tacho (can be used as cooling fan)....get it from avantech...ekekekekkeek

With all respects, please note that driver weight is another important issue to be considered when talking about lighten your car.... kekekeke

EG rear lamp, outer side 440g, can save near 1kg if you remove all on a drag machine..
EG stock glass headlights 2kg each,
EG plastic headlights less than 1kg each, weighing later oso, still haven't gotten to remove the lights off my car.
Type R clutch cover and clutch pad and bolts 5.6kg
Type R flywheel 7kg.
EG double din console 1.5kg...
EG original centre console less than 1kg, weighting later.
EG soundproofing material, boot area. (doing this one tomorrow on mine.. so I'll update later.
EG soundproofing material, floorpan area (this one will take longer.. mine already removed, so have to wait someone else's one.)
EK9 spare 5 lug tire and wheel.. this is heavy.. REALLY heavy... more than 10kg. est. probably about 12-13kg each. the scale only weighs to 10kg. (>_ EG fender liners 1.3 kg for both.
Euro forged aluminium lugnuts, 600g per set of 25. Rays.. I dunno.. but sure lighter than stock bolts at near 1.7kg.
Those forged pistons are also lighter.. I'll try and get one to weigh and compare to stock ones.

Toda flywheel, hattech already gave, so not repeating.

And more.. later..

Weighting some of these things, I can come to a simple conclusion.. most weight saving will come from removing the caulking and soundproofing (and also probably like the sepang drag 'rentung' cars, removal of certain metal sheets).. hopefully this theory will prove true when I remove the boot soundproofing material and weigh them tomorow.

Assuming we remove some of the parts, we'd probably get 10-30kgs off while retaining on-the-road legality. Still a meager amount.. but I think we can probably shave off near 50kgs if we remove everything including the plastic bits inside. The caulking is not much by itself, but notice how our MDM civics have caulkings done
horribly and applied thick and 'cincai'.. We just don't notice because it's all hidden under the plastic bits and our dash. I guess we might even get away with 90-100kgs, if we remove that entirely, or reapply it with more care.

Don't forget the Power steering assembly, the A/C, and the water for the wipers, the case alone isn't much, but with the fluids, that's some weight there too.

Damn.. I just gave away my ori EG seats I think those were pretty light... only have EG6 seats with me right now.. so I'll weigh that instead.. tommorow, when I remove everything for some cleaning.

SO!!!! for heavy drivers.. that's something to think about.. hahahahaaha!

hahahaa.. true.. why don't remove the wheels while you're at it.. that's dead weight oso.. hahaha... :P

Wah.. less 1kg off the stock one.

DC2 4-1 vs. Mugen 4-1 extractor weight oso nice comparison.. I tried by hand, and the mugen unit is lighter.. exactly how much lighter, don't know.. don't have a scale at that moment to weigh.

So far scraped off about 60% of ONE PIECE of tar off the rear bonnet area.. slow because I'm no longer on holiday and I'm doing bit by bit.

Got pics, but can't upload because my bluetooth is a bit wonky.. gonna try fix it tommorow.

The weight so far accumulated is about 510g which is quite a bit, considering if you were to see the picture of the plastic bag, it just seems like a bit of stuff... very little amount makes up that 500g of weight. (I'll try post it ASAP)

which means probably for everything is only about 10-15 kgs for removal off all the soundproofing and perhaps you can gain more weight savings by removing the plastic bits as well on an EG, depending on the plastic bits.

Since my one is an SR4, the covering is the original furry carpet.. no plastic bits..
the carpets are about 1.8 kgs for all including the misc clips, so not much savings there.

Be warned though.. just removing a piece off the rear end increases the noise factor a lot... the rear spare tire areal sound like I'm knocking on the body of a rentung car.. an open tin of milo kind of sound. I'm waiting till I get around to removing all.. then NVH can throw out the window.. of course, it's only temporary until I get around to spraying that area and applying new el cheapo 'brown bread' type of sound proofing.

The floor area I did last time didn't increase the noise factor very much.., but I didn't remove it properly either but the rear end is another story. I'm gonna do it slow and steady this time..

Well.. so far the diet program doesn't result in significant savings, but what did you expect? Those marginal savings will add up once you tally all the numbers together. Of course.. SR4.. I don't expect it to weigh less than a hatch, but lightening is a free mod after all.. just need time and LOTS of patience.

If I'm up to it, I do feel like removing the caulking and reapplying them properly.. as expected of an MDM civic.. the handiwork of the caulking is HORRIBLE!! (>.
They're applied shoddily and thickly... considering the fact that they're just there to prevent water seepage. (>.
Damn.. just woke up and still feel sleepy.. back to sleep then...