Honda City

Originally posted by Jackie Leong@Mar 21 2005, 16:32
kevinc,

how does magnesium rims look like? oh yeah, i'm also wondering what do ppl mean by 2-piece rim, 3-piece or even 4 piece rim sort of thing..? :unsure:

aik, maybe i made a wrong statement.. will be two outlets to left and right side, each with single tips.. :P :lol: sorry to get you all confused :ph34r: :D
[snapback]827759[/snapback]​

mag rim = bigger rim :D sorry got u confused. 16"/17"

2-piece = made up from 2 seperate sections, joined at the circumference area
3-piece = made up from 3 seperate sections, normally joined with bolts&nuts
4-piece = nvr hear of it

kevinc,
what difference does it make with all these pieces thingy? :unsure:
till now i still don't get what's the purpose for such rims.. like can adjust the width according to tire width or something else?

Zidane_5,
Original Mugen Twin Loop is not cheap.. even the 2nd hand one is priced at RM1xxx (saw in one posting around the for sale threads)
Imagine that price for just the muffler alone, but of course you'll get the benefit from using (well, provided u do your exhaust system overall..)

However, i'm not sure if those cap ayam exhaust look-a-like you find in the market has such benefit la.. :P :lol:

still feel abit weird lah...still looking for spoiler to fit up my butt
[snapback]825247[/snapback]​
[/quote]

:) Just want to add a bit here, how much for a sprayed wing? i ask here (penang sc) they said it was 500bux and 'original' sum more :blink: U think a 16" rims without lowered okay or not? theres a coupla citys i've seen with 16" rims but cant actually tell if their lowered much.

3-piece rims are normally use in races, eg. tracks. when any one section of the rim is cracked or destroyed, bolt&nuts can be detached and only the broken piece need to be replaced, and not the whole rim. benefit - replaceable pieces.

so to compensate the weight of the bolts&nuts, these rims are built from very light and strong materials, eg.forged magnesium.

hi kevinc, thanx for the info and that alot for all the nice pics......woo great stuff,

just wondering wanting some ppl opinion, should i remove the "idsi" logo at the back of the car and leave the place there blank or just leave teh "idsi" there? jsut wondering...

Keano,
The spoiler you are talking about is purchased directly from Honda Malaysia right? I think in the Honda City Brochure, it lists the price of the spoiler and also installation. It's up to you as it's original, while you'll get cheaper from bodykit centres that provide customized ones (or look-a-like) made from fiber or other materials..

kevinc,
thanks for the heads up, so these "piece" rims.. feasible to be used on the streets or we're better off getting those normal ones? Also, let's say i get a 16"/17" lightweight rims (let's assume it's lighter than the stock 15" rims).. will i benefit from fuel consumption or at disadvantage due to the wider tires which will be used?

porkchop,
it's up to you :) but i don't see why you should remove it.. but then i've seen a number of City that had their i-dsi/vtec logo removed.. that got me guessing what sort of engine is it having.. :)

even with lightweight 16"/17" rims, the overall weight of rim+tyre might still be heavier than a 15"+tyre.
bigger rim = bigger rolling radius = less fuel economy
bigger rim = wider tyre = more road contact = less fuel economy

for city aerokit, you could try out Air-Master kit at New Levis Factory @ Bandar Sri Damansara KL. their website : www.newlevis.com

thnx for d info jackie, :)

i also fitted the riken silver tint - gave a 6 yr warranty on it too- cost me 750bux tho. but didnt fit the fog lights, arnt fog lights spose to be yellow?

dont matter remove or not, the logos pretty cool, but removing them is just a matter of personal prefrence, if we were all power hungry we wont be choosing the city right :P ...for the price might as well go for a 2001 vtec 1.7 or cheaper still the prelude (damn nice babe masheen) :D

how much discount do you have to sacrifice to get the fog light and mugen kit?

i'm confused why you have to install the fogs first cuz as i'm aware, the mugen bodykit is screwed on and can be removed later on (since u said having kit first will have a gap, then remove it, install the fogs then install the bodykit will be good lo?)

sigh, if i had the dough, i'll look for the DAMD Styling Fogs ;) I'm still scouting for cheap HID kits around with Hi/Lo..

As per exhausts, i'm hoping for kevinc's advice on how to go about with such setup! :ph34r:
[snapback]826051[/snapback]​

around 2.5k lo...coz before i went to buy the car...i do a lot of research, see what's other's ppl discount from other showroom, then when buying that time, i tell the SA....other showroom give more than 3k leh...all this...then he say ok lah i give u kit lah plus vkool elite then a fog light...he say tambah tambah also around that lah..kits around 1.2k...vkool around 1.2k..fog light around rm400...then deal loh

i think the thing that made ur car look weird is...bcos..............

RIMS and lowered..........hehehe
[snapback]826091[/snapback]​

at first wanted to change the rims lah, wanna trade in my sis's rim and put mine into hers, then myself get a new one... hehehe..but then run for a while first lah, no budget now...

still feel abit weird lah...still looking for spoiler to fit up my butt
[snapback]825247[/snapback]​

:) Just want to add a bit here, how much for a sprayed wing? i ask here (penang sc) they said it was 500bux and 'original' sum more :blink: U think a 16" rims without lowered okay or not? theres a coupla citys i've seen with 16" rims but cant actually tell if their lowered much.
[snapback]828847[/snapback]​
[/quote]

no point getting a original one in my opinion lah...later kena scratch or what, ur heart more pain...spoiler got alot replica one mah...buy replica one better...around rm 280 nia...dunno got with spray o not...maybe got...
but try walk around those kit shop first, and choose the best wing which suit ur car...if not later drilled the hole...and u plan to change again....no nice edy ur boot...that's why i still never install my wing until now...my wing still nicely put at my home...now plan to ask those bodykit shop to custom my own wing...but kena do abit research...hehe

hi kevinc, thanx for the info and that alot for all the nice pics......woo great stuff,

just wondering wanting some ppl opinion, should i remove the "idsi" logo at the back of the car and leave the place there blank or just leave teh "idsi" there? jsut wondering...
[snapback]828916[/snapback]​

it's up to u lo, but for me, i better remove the CITY word better...then put up Fit-Aria (japan model of city)..hahaa...city somewhat like the word no power one..

even with lightweight 16"/17" rims, the overall weight of rim+tyre might still be heavier than a 15"+tyre.
bigger rim = bigger rolling radius = less fuel economy
bigger rim = wider tyre = more road contact = less fuel economy

for city aerokit, you could try out Air-Master kit at New Levis Factory @ Bandar Sri Damansara KL. their website : www.newlevis.com

[snapback]829101[/snapback]​

also the acceleration will be slower lah...if not mistaken

ei, kevinc, got any muffler that just put for nice and a bit of sound when vtec open ar?..so can pretend garang garang abit when kena bully...intro abit... :P

ei btw, u guys havent show ur own bsby leh.show a bit lah...:P
how come the marlboro's city pic already hilang?...

anyway, just some experience to share...that day naughty naughty got pump in vpower in shell...seems like the FC is more better, somemore i get more power with it....last time with regular only got 150km++ half tank..now 210km++ half tank...damn good...somemore i tekan alot also....keng :D

hihi thanx for the info, wow seems like u all getting nice rims too?? Me also wanna get la, find that the standard one abit too small for the "lubang" (pot holes) always get" ka bang when accidentally run over tham......

anyways from most opinion, i think i will remove it lo, better la so ppl dun kacau me.......leave them in doubt hehehe......

sonictheory, its rm400 for the foglights? wahhhh, i tought its about m80 wan? aiyo there goes my hopes to put a fog light.......

edit: hmm anyone can gif suggestions? volt stabilise + grounding cables or APM(air power max) something to make the air more lean or something like that...hmm i got a few budget to get the above lo, but not sure which would benefit in terms of performance + price

and also will show slower indication on speedo

hks border kinda alrite. but dun expect too much of a roaring from the 'tame' L15A :lol:

sonic: do you know sunway best feel next to racing fit... they are selling the foglight rm250... go and view lah... :rolleyes:

so all changing rims already ....GOOD GOOD..........

change rims first then inst b/dkit..

yeah..sometimes i see some cars only change rim only..but it's already improve the look already...damn nice lah..maybe they lowered o wat lah..but also chun liao nonit bodykit.. but if tukar whole rim + tyre also need around 4k rite?

ei, marlboro, where's ur city pic..aih...miss it lah havent tengok kao kao...

no need 4k lah..
no need to get.. ori rims 1...
anyway is depends on ur budget lah...

u can get... nice rim but not ori and plus tire 2500 ++ (highest quote)

aiya my car pic.... nothing la... just a normal city with bodykit only...
everyway also can c 1 lah...

i don't think i'll be able to change rims yet la brudders.. :(
i mentioned before right, i gotta save money ma.. end of this year going to UK to visit my gf, when she goes over there to study.. pretty much long term plan sort of thing :(

so i'll be doing stuff extra slow to my car.. :P

Marlboro,
does Grandpire accept credit cards? and will adding those bodykits one at a time will cost extra? (eg, front lips, rear lips, side skirt, grill, spoiler, eye lid .. all separately)
sonictheory,
I think RM3k is sufficient for both 16" rims and tires (2nd hand ones in this forum, can be found below RM2k oso!) unless you want to get some really expensive rims (eg, volk racing :ph34r: ).. but i personally like the Mugen MF10-L la, it's so damn chio! B) B)

porkchop,
i saw from the hypertune mag that RMK Voltage Stabilizer + 4point Grounding Kit = RM338 .. something like that la.. quite a reasonable price if you ask me ;)

Originally posted by Marlboro@Mar 22 2005, 17:05
no need 4k lah..
no need to get.. ori rims 1...
anyway is depends on ur budget lah...

u can get... nice rim but not ori and plus tire 2500 ++ (highest quote)

aiya my car pic.... nothing la... just a normal city with bodykit only...
everyway also can c 1 lah...
[snapback]830899[/snapback]​

yeah right, until my cousin that doesn't frequent this forum.. also have seen your car oso after i told him some details about ur ride.. :P

ganas sia! :ph34r:

i dunno... anyway i'll get u grandpire owner William mobile to u later...

jackie: that's why i told ... city with b/dkit too ordinary ... can see every where bro...