help - installing front mount intercooler for RB25 R33GTS

CSx8213x

I had installed a after market front mount intercooler with custom intercooler piping in my 1997 R33 GTS RB25DET . My car engine keep auto off when i release the accel pedal and press on the cluth .

Anybody face the same problem with me on your RB25 engine after install a front mount intercooler ? How to solve this problem ?

Do you have an aftermarket blow valve ? It's probably the idling. You probably need one of those HKS Idle stabilizer (EIDS - I think).

ya ... i using APEXi blow off valve ... why need that HKS Idle stabilizer ?? Izzit all the RB25 user with front mount intercooler also install that things?

It's very common to stall with an aftermarket BV with or without a FMIC. does it happen all the time or does it only happen when you're driving spiritedly?

it happened during slow driving .... if i drive slow and keep changing the gear between 1st gear and 2nd gear .... then it will happen ..

emmm ... i see the boost guage ... if i press the accel until the boost guage show me around 0 no vacumn and no boost .... and i release the pedal and press the cluth the engine will stall...

there could be some small leak in your fittings. I suggest you check that out first.

i think its the BOV. Don't get atmo vented type bov coz the air it releases confuses the ecu when it goes into the air filter. Try to swap a plump back BOV and see if its okay. Check for vacuum leak as well. If its the bov, i suggest u loose it lah or get a aftermarket piggy or ecu to tune for the air bov releases.

i had the same prob.

change the blow off. get the greddy rs.

prob the blow off is adjusted too tight or loose. play around with it.

besides that, prob somewhere is leaking. check your brake pump and p/w pump as well.

emmm ... i already play around the BOV ..... too tight the engine stall more often .... now i found that if the BOV not open to let go the air inside the piping during i release the pedal ... the air will back flow from the air filter and it will coz the engine stall.....

so its the bov then?another cause would be faulty AFM.(do you have the problem of sometimes hard to start the car as well?) To check this you will have to cut open the AFM square box and check on the dry joints. Its a common skyline problem that the 5v pins are loose causing it to stall as well. just solder the joints back and your car will be okay.

okie .... i will check it out tomolo ... thanks for your information ....

Bud

I have a 1997 series 2 GTS also. Can you share some of the pics of the pipping? Kinda curious if you had to cut the body for this istallation.

On the stalling of the car, I have the same problem. Its the crappy Blitz BOV I am using. Willl highly recommend the SQV instead.

Thx

before install the intercooler piping i have no problem with the engine stalling....

opp61 ,
yes ... need to cut the car body ...

before install the intercooler piping i have no problem with the engine stalling....

opp61 ,
yes ... need to cut the car body ...

Bud

Can you share with me where did u cut the body?

I believe his FMIC is of the type whereby the piping foes over the radiator fan cover. A much longer piping length.

If left and right style
need cutting

if OEM style.. no need cutting

but OEM style.. not nice compared with left and right style

With the longer length, wouldn't it create a bit more lag since it takes slightly longer for the compression to build up after the turbine ?

emmm .... just a little bit lag .... but not much different .... last time up boost around 2.2k rpm ... now around 2.4k something like that ....