GYMKHANA vs TRACK Suspension

Johnny_9

Which one is harder?

If possible give examples HKS, TEIN, MUGEN?

Sorry Newbie questions

Which is the best EK9 suspension for the

a) street comfort - highway driving - no vomitting, pogo-stick, choppy, bouncy.....
b) street performance handling - zig zag, fast cornering, can tahan vomitting.....
c) track but also drive on the street
d) track - crash/harsh + jarring ride on pot holes

whats the spring rate & damping in each case?

Bro,

There's no such thing as comfort for adjustable suspension. U need to make up a choice of which 2 choose. Is either u go wif da EK9 stock suspension / go wif those fully adjustable suspension which is not meant 4 comfort.

Besides, each individual has their own say about what is comfortable and what's not. Coz each of us has our own perferences for adjustable suspension. If ya da type who always drives alone then it's should b okay but if ya those who will ferry someone like ur galfren or ur family then u would b askin' 4 trouble if u hav adjustables suspension in ur car. So Its all boils down to yourself. Which type of suspension u r lookin' 4.

Again, if comfort is what u r lookin' 4 then dont go 4 those adjustable suspension no matter they claim is comfortable. Cheers.

i agree w 2nd2none....not 2 discourage any claimed-noobies 2 post/ask questions..but whn it comes 2 suspension..its REALLY subjective...how do u "rate" comfort?....comfort 4 me might not b comfort 4 u n vice versa,true?.....but if u were 2 ask me 2 recommend,i'd choose TEIN...preferably HA...RA is more hardcore n SS is a lil softer thn HA....i'm running HA on my EF n i drive it frm Kuantan-KL very often..i oso do track driving n autocross w d same car...n still able 2 ferry frens(guys n gals,no complaints) out 2 makan/TT....its 16 point adjustable....
haf also used DC2R stock suspension n GAB adj + SARD springs on my previous EG9..not bad...did sum track n drag w it...but i still prefer TEIN....
so,its really up 2 u n how deep is ur pocket..n oh yeah....4 real comfort.i haf another solution...i drive my RD5(CRV lar)..ahahahhahahah

hattech-v said:
how bout tein flex? anyone here using it?

Wah... someone is showing off his new TEIN Flex.

Comfort level is very subjective. I feel my TEIN adjustable is comfort. Still can accept by most of the passenger in my ride. But still someone can complaint hard and bouncy. My wife has no complaint on it. Drive above 200km/h also very stable. Suspension is a very "mafan" thing, u have to invest once and only know ur own taste. Even u sit on other people car with that suspension doesn't mean u have tried it fully. U have to drive for a while only can learn how to appreciate it.

Comfort level is very subjective. I feel my TEIN adjustable is comfort. Still can accept by most of the passenger in my ride. But still someone can complaint hard and bouncy. My wife has no complaint on it. Drive above 200km/h also very stable. Suspension is a very "mafan" thing, u have to invest once and only know ur own taste. Even u sit on other people car with that suspension doesn't mean u have tried it fully. U have to drive for a while only can learn how to appreciate it.[/QUOTE]

bro,what type of Tien that you meant..?thxs

sasuke said:
Wah... someone is showing off his new TEIN Flex.

Comfort level is very subjective. I feel my TEIN adjustable is comfort. Still can accept by most of the passenger in my ride. But still someone can complaint hard and bouncy. My wife has no complaint on it. Drive above 200km/h also very stable. Suspension is a very "mafan" thing, u have to invest once and only know ur own taste. Even u sit on other people car with that suspension doesn't mean u have tried it fully. U have to drive for a while only can learn how to appreciate it.

haha asking oni laa.... i'm using koni only...
quite comfortable... for me.
wah... above 200kmph oso stable aa? lucky my car cannot go more than 200kmph..

mafan is what?
suspension oso can be appreaciated?

"ma fan" means troublesome - what he means is that u have to ride in the car (i.e u buy it yourself or ride in a fren's car).

If u see the Best Motoring Video Skyline R34 GTR Z-tune at Nurburing in Germany - u can see what "bouncy" is - (inside the cockpit view - just look at the driver). However I also saw a the M3 GTR V8 video on the same track - didn't look so "bouncy. I think the track is like Malaysia Roads

I think if the

a) spring is too hard and
b) compression damping is too stiff

u get a uncomfortable ride

hattech-v said:
haha asking oni laa.... i'm using koni only...
quite comfortable... for me.
wah... above 200kmph oso stable aa? lucky my car cannot go more than 200kmph..

mafan is what?
suspension oso can be appreaciated?

Ya rite... Hattech-v B16b cannot go more than 200kmph.:X-: Single cam also can reach that speed d.

U will appreciate harder suspension only after u push ur car to certain limit, drive at certain speed... Adjustable is more bouncy than stock but when u drive till a certain limit or when ur driving style changed, u might learn why u need harder suspension.

What I'm trying to say here is... if u don't know how to appreciate adj suspension better don't use. Just get a normal sport suspension like ek9 or gab for normal driving and don expect more performance from it.

BTW me and Hattech is using tein flex now.

one more thing.. spring rate might differ if its from different brand.. so dont take an assumption that spring rate from different brands serves to a same damping rate..
correct me if i'm wrong = )

hehehehhe I'm still belived Germany is the best in suspension. So, i stick with bilstein.